bullbar weight

Submitted: Friday, Jul 04, 2003 at 17:26
ThreadID: 5814 Views:2580 Replies:5 FollowUps:12
Hey All,
Recently bought a new 3.0lt turbo patrol and was wondering if the suspension needs to be upgraded if a steel bullbar and winch is fitted?

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Friday, Jul 04, 2003 at 18:07

Friday, Jul 04, 2003 at 18:07
gday mark.
imho nissan gu seem to have soft susspention to start with.
if you are fitting steel bar and winch i take it you intend on doing a little off road.
if thats the case i wouldnt hesitate in upgrading the suspention .
check the archives theres plenty on suspention.
and good choice of fourby.looking foward to september(landcruiser park/fraser island)
AnswerID: 24216

Follow Up By: mark - Friday, Jul 04, 2003 at 18:33

Friday, Jul 04, 2003 at 18:33
Diamond,
Thanks for the tip and yes i do go offroad a fair bit. The bullbar and winch is for The Cape next year.
The patrol is great but 1st low range is painful going up hills as it surges something chronic.
FollowupID: 16292

Follow Up By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 09:13

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 09:13
Mark,

I stop the surge by pushing my foot out tothe right against the sidewall where i have glued some black rubber stuff (like the grip of a racquet) works fine.

So many places to go!
So much work to do :0(
FollowupID: 16323

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 04, 2003 at 19:29

Friday, Jul 04, 2003 at 19:29
Mark.....

Yes you will... Are you going to fit dual batteries, and spotties and other things, shower?

Wait till your car is fully setup before spending $$ on your suspension, will save you doing it 3-4 times.

Good luck ..... YWNI.
AnswerID: 24224

Follow Up By: mark - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 10:13

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 10:13
Truckster......

Thanks mate, Ihave already set up a shower heat exchanger system and yes in all likely hood will have to install duel battery system for the winch, if ever actually need to use it.

Does lifting the suspension 2'' raise warranty issues?
FollowupID: 16327

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 21:23

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 21:23
Suspension lift, is only a problem if something in the suspension or drive line is affected by the lift, and fails.

They cant say Oh your motor blew up, no warranty as suspension is different. But if the swaybars, or the like failed, they could.

Its really a dodgey area of law.
FollowupID: 16349

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 01:39

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 01:39
Mark I have the same model '02. Bought it s/hand with 2" lift plus b/bar & heaps of extras but no winch. I agonised over weather a winch on the front was really usefull considering all the extra weight etc that was carried continuously. Wear & tear on the suspension + tyres and fuel.
Almost bought a Brawn 4x4 portable winch system (check : www.Brawn4x4.com.au) which allows winching from front, back, side etc & you can leave it at home when not travelling.
After getting opinions on forum, decided to get quality tyre chains + Big Haul hand winch. Both can be left in the garage when not in use & chains give great versatility in many situations that winches don't suit.
Cheaper & lighter. After all how many times are you really going to tour the Cape, once, twice ? I've got a mate that has had a winch on the front end for 5 yrs & never used it.
The 2" lift & upgraded suspension are worth every $ spent.
That's Cocka's opinion
AnswerID: 24243

Follow Up By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 09:22

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 09:22
Yer Cocka, I know the agonising. To me a winch is like insurance, you pay for it, you know how to use it and then hope you dont have to, or al least when you do you're helping someone else. I got one casue the last two times I have been stuck I would have been able to get myself out rather than call the SES in the first instance (needed a 4x4 tractor) in the Otways and my brother in law in the second. Had I had a winch I wiyuld have been dirty but OUT instead of just dirty.

Both times were no cost but donated $400 to the SES anyways cause they came got us on Easter Sunday.

Its all in the way u look at it and pay for it, and gee it looks good that winch on the front! Peace of mind vs Hope someone else comes to helpSo many places to go!
FollowupID: 16325

Follow Up By: mark - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 10:16

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 10:16
Cocka.....

I have thought about the fact that it maybe something that i carry around and never use however the fact that i maybe might have to use it is a comfort. I suppose it all comes down to the available green stuff.
FollowupID: 16328

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 18:42

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 18:42
Im with Bonz,

after 1 day spending several hours in 35+ degree heat on the end of a turfor, you will shag the queen for a electric winch.
FollowupID: 16340

Follow Up By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 20:54

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 20:54
Sure will Truckster,in fact you'd have to pull me off her with a winchSo many places to go!
FollowupID: 16344

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 21:24

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 21:24
Oh that brings visions I DIDNT need tonight!!!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 16350

Reply By: Phil P - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 10:44

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 10:44
Hi Mark,

What shower system did you decide on ?

Does your Patrol have ABS ?

Phil P
AnswerID: 24259

Follow Up By: mark - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 22:24

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 22:24
Hey Phil,

After going to the brisbane camping and caravan expo i decieded not to buy any of the recognised brands because of their size and the limited space in the patrols engine bay. I found an ad in the trading post for a local guy making heat exchangers in the local brisbane area. He was most helpful getting a system that works well in the patrol. Lots of issues there if you are interested. Have tried quite a few interesting things in the process of getting it to work and learnt a bit about the patrols heating and cooling idiosyncracies.

No ABS

mark
FollowupID: 16353

Reply By: duncs - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 22:17

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 22:17
Hey Mark,

I have GU and will be fitting winch as I intend to travel and do a bit of exploring alone.

On my trip to CY I was winched out of a bog by my travelling companion. We only got through that bog by him winching himself and then snatching me through. We could have gone around the bog, about 500km. I also snatched two other vehicles out my self.

My car at the time had good tyres and front and rear diff locks. My new car, the GU is getting lockers and winch just as soon as the bucks arrive.

Duncs.
AnswerID: 24292

Follow Up By: mark - Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 22:26

Saturday, Jul 05, 2003 at 22:26
Hey Duncs.....

What time of year were you there?

And what part of CY did you get stuck.

FollowupID: 16354

Follow Up By: duncs - Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 17:48

Sunday, Jul 20, 2003 at 17:48
Hey Mark

Sorry so long in getting back to you, been away.

We were there in May after a very wet wet. Got suck near Palmerville in a little creek that apparently has a spring under it for a while after the wet. I was towing a trailer but it made little difference, my mate was travelling light

The point is and I quote from a book I read many years ago. "you only buy a 4x4 so you can go to worse place to get bogged"

Diff locks don't add weight, so if you can afford them why not? A winch is often your only option I have proven that.

FollowupID: 17224