285/75-16" tyres on 80 series

Submitted: Friday, Jun 27, 2003 at 17:51
ThreadID: 5702 Views:1728 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
Have just put some new rubber on my 97-TD 80 series without lifts. Noticed that the rear tyres are about 80-85mm from the plastic flare arch. The coil springs are still original and have one of those Toyota switch selectable shocks. Truck's 76Ks on the clock.
Do you guys reckon I can get away without a lift kit, for a while at least ? Otherwise, drives beautifully on the road.

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Jun 27, 2003 at 19:38

Friday, Jun 27, 2003 at 19:38
Should be fine. You will find in the bush the tyres will rub the inner guards at the back and front flares.
Second hand OME springs are the go-general consensus is suspension is the best value for money upgrade to an 80.
wheredayathinkwer mike?
AnswerID: 23679

Reply By: desert - Friday, Jun 27, 2003 at 20:45

Friday, Jun 27, 2003 at 20:45
Yes, agree with others. You'll might find the standard springs will give up the ghost trying to articulate the heavier tyres. A mild upgrade of springs will do it wonders and decent shockers, even better. Just never ends, does it?
AnswerID: 23684

Reply By: Kev - (Cairns,QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2003 at 12:31

Saturday, Jun 28, 2003 at 12:31
It is usually recomended to give the standard springs the flick on the 80 series as they are more suited to on-road driving. Most go for the 2" lift to help with the weight of b/bars ect.
AnswerID: 23712

Follow Up By: Wil - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 10:31

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 10:31
G'day All
Thanks for all your reply & will explore the options and cost associated.
I was out over the weekend on the back road and heard the back wheel touch the guard briefly while negotiating a tight bent.
Guess the raise is needed sooner then 1st though.

FollowupID: 15974

Follow Up By: Kev - (Cairns,QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 11:24

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 11:24
Pitty you don't live in Cairns as i have my old 2" lifted springs 4 sale as i fitted new 6" springs.
FollowupID: 15978

Follow Up By: Wil - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 17:51

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 17:51
Kev
Out of interest, what would you sell the old 2" lifted spring for and what did the 6" springs give you? Am I correct to assume that a 6" means 6" lift?
FollowupID: 16009

Follow Up By: Kev - (Cairns,QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 19:12

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 19:12
Id let the springs and shocks go for a couple hundred i recon.

Yeah i never botherd to measure the difference but going fron 2" to 6" obviously was only a 4" lift to me and also upgrading to 35" tyres at the same time kind of throws it all out of wack if you know what i mean.

Put it this way my roof just scrapes the roller door rubber when i park in my garage ! :-)

For a pic paste the following link :

http://www.offroader.com.au/overlander/CREB%20track.jpg

Kev.
FollowupID: 16012

Follow Up By: Wil - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 08:02

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 08:02
Kev
I have found a price for a s2000 lift & shocks which wasn't too bad. Any comment from you? Or other readers? I remembered reading somewhere that the Shocks were not as good as Koni..?
With the 2" lift. Do I need anything else like offset bushes etc, to correct driveshalf angle or the likes?
Had a look at your pic..AWESOME monster truck mate!!! It's got everything I wanted.
FollowupID: 16031

Follow Up By: Kev - (Cairns,QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 12:21

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 12:21
I don't think any shocks are as good as Koni.....so im told.

If you want adjustable shocks you could go for the Ranchos, if not i kind of like the Old Man Emu's (ARB) but im sure they will all do the job.

Im not sure if you have to change the casters for the 2" lift but if so that would be all you will need to do i recon.
FollowupID: 16045

Reply By: Allyn (Pilbara) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2003 at 19:43

Saturday, Jun 28, 2003 at 19:43
2" lift was one of the best mods I made and you won't regret it once you do it yourself. Until then you should be okay I think so many places, so little time !!!
AnswerID: 23739