new landcruiser

Submitted: Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 12:58
ThreadID: 56277 Views:3109 Replies:15 FollowUps:21
is the new landcruiser v8 79 series any good up the bush i have been told that the low range is to low and the high range is to high. i am 15 and as soon as i turn 18 i am buyin 1 but i dont no what they are like

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 14:05

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 14:05
Your parents must be loaded! They are expensive to buy new. What about a cheaper 4wd to have as a first 'bush basher'?
AnswerID: 296623

Reply By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 14:19

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 14:19
i have enough money cause my uncle died and made a trust fund for me..
AnswerID: 296629

Follow Up By: ozwasp - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 16:24

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 16:24
You might have enough money when you're 18, but you won't have any when you're 19.... It'll all be GONE!!!
FollowupID: 562702

Follow Up By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 19:07

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 19:07
i am goion to do something with the money instead of wasting it. i will most likly buy a block of land
FollowupID: 562730

Reply By: John R (SA) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 14:34

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 14:34
A couple of mates have them as work utes, and love them. Reckon they got like the clappers. No dramas towing decent loads.
Neither of them have said anything about the low range being an issue though.

If you can afford one, and that's what you want mate, then go your hardest. I'm sure you'll have a blast!
AnswerID: 296632

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 14:36

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 14:36
"I have been told that the low range is to low and the high range is to high"

What you have been "Told" is crap.
This is probably one of the most popular, reliable and best off road vehicles built.

Would love to know what the insurance premium would be for a 18 yo wanting to insure one??

AnswerID: 296634

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 15:54

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 15:54
What a nice, considerate uncle. Dying so you could spend HIS money on something that will drop 30% in value on its first day.

Why don't you activate some of those 15 year old brain cells and buy a block of land or a rental property when you get his money.

Go and get some books on how to invest in the residential property market. A couple of big words there but you should be able to get your head around it.

No apologies for being condascending either. It's better advice than he seems to have had from his mates.

AnswerID: 296641

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 16:04

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 16:04
Good point GB, well said.

FollowupID: 562694

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 16:12

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 16:12
yep..i ditto that on getting property with the inheritance .....
do it NOW!...
by the time you want to retire ( or even earlier) you'll be able to do it in comfort.....and probably be in the position to also get the latest toyota.....nissans wont be around by then
FollowupID: 562697

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 17:02

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 17:02
Ahh all the experts coming out now. We dont have a clue as to how much he has inherited for starters. Secondly I personally would not buy property right at this point in time but would wait 6-12 months to see how the market pans out, particularly in many areas.
FollowupID: 562707

Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 17:46

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 17:46
Interesting assumption that he's only been left enough money to buy a cruiser.

Could you advise me on financial planning too please??!!
FollowupID: 562718

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 19:32

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 19:32
No need to be picky guys.
GB may have suggested buying a house but a Managed Fund or if he turned his mind to it and started to "Learn" the market he could also buy shares on a direct basis.
Investing the money in something other than a new 4wd when he was 18 for the rest of his life was the point being made.

FollowupID: 562735

Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 19:42

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 19:42
True John, but chrisso asked for opinions on the new cruiser ute.
Not for investment advice.
FollowupID: 562739

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 18:57

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 18:57
I hope you enjoy the school holidays.......

AnswerID: 296668

Follow Up By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:39

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:39
yeah mate thanks i did. go back to school monday
FollowupID: 562759

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:53

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:53
Good to see another Victorian planning to head north in their 4wd for Winter :-)

Seriously speaking, save/invest your money for now, check back in 3 years and see how the type of vehicle you want is going. Buying secondhand (2-3 years old) is a fair saving and wise in some cases.

Try out several vehicles before buying the one you want....it can be an expensive mistake if chosen unwisely. It might help to have a licence before doing this though :-)

FollowupID: 562763

Reply By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 19:06

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 19:06
i was actually thinking on buying land like u said. i will prob buy an older 4x4 but yeah have to wait and see. i dont wanna waste my money... thankz alot guys. i was only asking on help so yer thnkz
AnswerID: 296670

Reply By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 19:56

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 19:56
if u were 18 and had the money what would u do?????
AnswerID: 296679

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:04

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:04
Spend it on a cruiser of course. I couldn't afford one until I was 36.

FollowupID: 562742

Follow Up By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:10

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:10
but now when i think about it i dont really no. i would love a cruiser with 4 inch stacks and no mufflers but that is prob wasting my money. i am confused
FollowupID: 562745

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:18

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:18
I'd pay my parents back for all the money they wasted on spelling, sentence construction, grammar and english lessons.

FollowupID: 562749

Follow Up By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:21

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:21
look gb u can go jump. i am 15 and just writing quickly. its the same when people my age text on phones
FollowupID: 562753

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:27

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:27
chrisso, mate,

when u r 18 u r going to need to fill out the dole forms.

how can u if u carnt spell proper.

learn sumfink now.

FollowupID: 562756

Reply By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:36

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:36
YES DAD!!!! look why are you such an arse. i bet its because i want a land cruiser and i'm not listening to you. i am not going on the dole. i can spell. i am going to get an apprenticeship as a boiler maker
AnswerID: 296692

Follow Up By: howesy - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:45

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:45
You tell em big boy.
It's your money to do with what you want and if that turns out to be a mistake then thats something only you have to live with. Go for it if thats what you want.

Was checking them out today the 79 series cab chassis turbo V8 starts from around 54000 plus tray and extras and on roads so somewhere between 60000 and 70000 depending on how you want to set it up.
The only thing I really dont like about it is that its got more electronics than a Dick Smith super store from computers to knock sensosrs on every cylinder and electronic injection. No more bush mechanics with this one unless your an electronics engineer with NASA.
Apart from that awesome to drive we have the troopy on the property (goes hard)
FollowupID: 562760

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:46

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:46
That's excellent son.

I'm proud of you.

During your apprenticeship I'm sure you will learn the Aussie art of taking the piss. One of the important things to learn is that it is only fun if one person doesn't spit it and gives back as much as he gets.

You're getting there. I can see some potential.

Chrisso, sift out the good advice; it's in my posts somewhere. Make your uncle proud of you.

See you in the bush in your new Cruiser but only after you have built up a property portfolio that will allow you to retire at 40 and make good use of your toys.

FollowupID: 562761

Follow Up By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 21:06

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 21:06
you have the landcruiser i want so if any 1 could tell me what they are like you could
FollowupID: 562767

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 21:13

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 21:13
chrisso why not have a talk to your parents about the money or even the person who is managing the funds under trust now.

Either which way based on your comments about being 18 before the money becomes available you have plenty of time to think about the best way to deal with it.

FollowupID: 562770

Follow Up By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 21:15

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 21:15
ok will do cheers mate...
FollowupID: 562771

Reply By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:51

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:51
thank you GB and yer i am sorry. i don't no you it just sounded like you were saying i am a dumb person who cant spell and yes. you have actually given me something to think about not to just spend my money on the first thing that comes to mind.. cheers mate
AnswerID: 296698

Reply By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:59

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 20:59
i would like to talk to you guys more deos any 1 have a msn or something like that
AnswerID: 296699

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 21:24

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 21:24
"i would like to talk to you guys more deos any 1 have a msn or something like that"

Nup its all done here......spend $50 and become a member and then you can send private member messages....

Plus screw the cruiser I'll let you buy my Patrol for 1/2 the cost, lets say $30k and its yours :):):):)

And please take the time to type full words......this sms typing gives me a bloody headache and I am only 31!!!!!!

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 562773

Reply By: chrisso - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 21:36

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 21:36
ok i will think about it. lol means laughing out loud
AnswerID: 296712

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 22:40

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 22:40
chrisso in all the excitement those wise ones who have given you such a wide & varied comment seem to have all forgotton what your original question was :-))
Yes the V8 79 series is very good up the bush being a tried & proven workhorse with a very torquey engine. For what they are, they're fairly pricey needing quite a few more dollars to make them a comfortable tourer or true offroad machine.
I think you are probably getting a little far ahead of yourself picking a vehicle for 3 years time as quite likely the Landcruiser traybacks will have upgraded to a completely new body style by then. Depending on what you want to use this vehicle for you may actually find other types of vehicles more suitable. For example if you want a winch challenge type truck for serious offroad driving then a Patrol may be a better starting point where as the the Cruiser would be better for heavy towing.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 296721

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 22:57

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 22:57
Chrisso, good on ya for wanting to get out there and go bush. I wasn't able to afford a decent 4wd until I was 26.

In a way I'm glad my first few cars when I was younger were buckets of crap. I thrashed them all, wrote one of them off in a car smash and totally wrecked the drivetrain of another doing burnouts.

If my first car was a $70 000 4wd it would have been an expensive lesson.

I would suggest spending the next few years getting advice on how best to INVEST your inheritance. Also start looking around now for a good, reliable and cheap to repair second hand 4wd.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 296729

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 22:58

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 22:58
Chrisso.... my boy....

Time for some proper sage advice from an old fart instead of good natured mucking around.

Your uncle is/was a very kind and thoughtful man to make some provision for your future. You will have a "step-up" that 99 out of 100 of your mates will not have. It's so easy to squander that advantage by being distracted by the bling.

Make your uncle proud by building on his kindness because he will most certainly be looking down to see how you go.

As far as a 4wd goes, my suggestion would be to look around and buy a good 60 series cruiser with the 2H diesel engine. This allows you the freedom to go through mud, swamps, hills, rocks, whatever you want because it's old and easy to fix. You can find countless accessories and the engine is great for you to learn about mechanical things. No electronics on that baby.

Speaking of mechanical things, contact appropriate companies where you live and see if you can upgrade your apprenticeship from boiler maker to heavy duty mechanic. With these qualifications you will slot into the mining industry as easy as can be. My son is an HD Diesel mechanic in the mining industry in WA on $150K per annum if you don't mind.

If we've given you some food for thought then I'm glad you jumped onto this Forum.

cheers and good luck.

AnswerID: 296730