all us aussies must be so rich but where did they put my share??
Submitted: Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:15
PradOz
So Kevin07 can afford to give PNG $23M but he cannot find a way to lower petrol prices, lpg prices, diesel prices,
home loan interest rates, house the homeless, lower private health fund costs, get real mobile phone coverage Oz wide, etc etc etc.
what am i doing so wrong that i am in debt up to my proverbials - and not living the high life - but we can afford to give millions of bucks away to countries that are never going to help me. don't get me wrong, i got nothing against anyone there, but how about helping us poor buggers here first then handing out the cash.
maybe when we all lose our houses, the PNG prime minister will come here and give us a $23M grant. just hope he gets elected because he has got a plan for his country too
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:24
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:24
Don't Panic. If you listen to Kevin 07 & his mob all will be revealed as he states the problem was inherited from the Man of Steel, Little
John.
Problem is for us voters (victims) Kevin 07 has not yet revealed the cut off date as to when he can stop playing the blame game against his predecessor. Cheers
Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:27
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:27
I wouldn't worry if I was you, Cate Blanchett will tell him how to run the country...... it would be funny, if it wasn't so sad!
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:54
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:54
Howard spent 8 years blaming Keating, the next 3 years doing nothing but lose the election.
All along the way he was raising interest rates and overheating the economy while claiming to be a great manager.
Rudd is doing FAR less blaming than little Johnny did.
Little Johnny is so up himself he is still ranting on, to any idiot who will listen, that HE is the only one with the answer. Many other zealots throughout history have held the same self-opinion.
Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:25
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:25
Don't forget, he abolished the Carer's Bonus to do it!
ha ha ha ha, rofl ... to all those that voted them in!
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:47
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:47
It's a bit like the state Govt here in NSW, cant find any one who voted Morry in.. The son of migrant parents, how very proud they were 18 months ago.. I wonder what they think of their Losers son now.. What a waste of space he is.. Everyone is saying he will leave the job next year, Yeah!! Cant wait to see who his replacement is.. Michael
| Patrol 4.2TDi 2003
Somewhere you want to explore ? There is no time like the present.Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:51
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:51
Michael,
Reba's a certainty :))))))
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:51
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:51
I said to my wife months before the election if Rudd gets in he will abolish the carer bonus, sure enough he has the pr''''.
I use get $600 a year, but the people who I feel real sorry for is the people on the carers pension, they do this horrendous job looking after their poor mothers daughters etc full time and now get a kick in the guts because they can not defend for themselves. There the ones who use to get the $1600.
Cheers Bruce
PS lets see he can say sorry to these people and let it going.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 18:06
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 18:06
Bruce,
It looks like the little creep is after the senior's bonus as
well. Looks like a lot of battlers will be nervous until the budget is released.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:26
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:26
It's easy to fund the $23M for PNG. Just rip off the Carers and their bonus. What a gutless act, but then again, he is just a gutless bureaucrat.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:40
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:40
What a load of crap you guys... That money will be tied to purchase stuff from Australia. Many industries will benifit and keep people in jobs. Aid is just a big money go-round, it's always tied to keep local industry happy. Sounds better then a subsidy !
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:50
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:50
Thats exactly right, money stays here, about 90 % to be exact.. Michael
| Patrol 4.2TDi 2003
Somewhere you want to explore ? There is no time like the present.Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:14
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:14
That's exactly right, money stays here, about 90% to be exact. Sounds like its all good. What is your source of info in reference to "abourt 90% to be exact." Cheers
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 11:00
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 11:00
It's futile to try and have an intelligent debate with Howard lovers.
By loving Howard, they reveal a lack of ability to reason. :)
And they will begin personal attacks with histrionics when cornered.
Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 17:24
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 17:24
Gerhardp1,
Thank heavens that we have your unbiased, rational and balanced approach then.
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 19:17
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 19:17
I rest my case.
Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 20:40
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 20:40
On what?
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:42
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 19:42
Im no way a kev fan but the biggest insult i ever saw was jonnie howlers $1,000,000,000,000 (i think thats how many zeros 1 bill has) to the inonesions!!!
he deserved to get voted out on that alone
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:09
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:09
Since when has anyone offered $1 trillion to the Indonesians ?????? It certainly was'nt Australia.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 08:07
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 08:07
was a Billion but i dunno how many zeros that has - spose i could
check my ATM balance that might give some clues
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 08:25
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 08:25
Davoe,
Hahahahahaha I thought all you gazillionaires in the West knew all about multiple zeros before the decimal point :)))
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:58
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:58
Davoe, methinks you DID look at your ATM balance, that's how you got the extra zeros :)
Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:09
Reply By: jeepthing - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:25
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:25
I'm glad I don't have home loan, but being retired the share market it making it hard for those relying on super to live.
The govt can do something to help those people who do have home loans by simply allowing them to use the interest paid as a tax deduction that's what happens in the USA so I am told. Retirees who are 60+ pay no tax on their super so I'm sure Kevin 07 can give relief to the poor buggers struggling with their home loans
Follow Up By: Member - MR 1927 (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:06
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:06
I have news for you sir, I am 80 and I pay tax on my super. Where did you get the idea I don't?
Follow Up By: jeepthing - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 07:58
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 07:58
MR1927 (NSW),
The Income Tax Rates Amentment (Superannuation) Act 2007 19 of 2007 introduced Simplified Super Rules that commenced on 01 July 2007. As a result there are even more tax free incentives now available on superannuation. There are now tax free lump sum and pension benefits if you are over 60.
The Reasonable Benefit Limit has been removed.
There is now no tax on the pre 1983 service component of your super benefit, however this may not apply to you now due to your age.
There is plenty of this info on the web just google "tax on Superannuation".
So if you are still paying tax on any lump sums or allocated pension you shouldn't be, suggest you have a talk to your financial adviser if you are.
Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:25
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:25
The NSW Govt has so much money to spare that they committed $2000 Million to build a Desalination plant - even though our dams are now 60 percent full ! The people who wrote the contract were too sptupid to put in an escape clause to terminate the contract if rain fell.
This money could build TEN totally new hospitals. But this doesn't even include the money that will need to be spent to build the Windpower stations that they promised to supply the huge amount of power a Desal plant needs. Of course if NSW is going to build Windpower plants, they really need to be used to supply power that will allow NSW to shut down two of the world's most-polluting coal powerstations.
Reply By: Member - Stuart W (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:26
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:26
23 mill$. is bugger all compared to 1 billion$ for the Seasprite choppers that will never fly. PNG is a neighbour. Don't you help your neighbours. The worse it is for them the more of them will want to come here. Stuart
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:32
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:32
Dead right Stuart. Part of the reason for international aid is it's a hell of a lot cheaper to spend money for peoples health and education in their home state then it is when they are in your home state.
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 21:12
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 21:12
Was going to post this myself Stuart but you beat me too it..Gives me the bleep s no-one is made accountable..It was never going to work with the Heli's to old for starters..,
They stuffed up and now they recoup through the carers,What a bad bad mistake mista Kev07...
Remember when they gave Indonesia all that money then did a cartoon of Peter Costello banging Johnny Howard from behind !
Grateful buggers heah !
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:20
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:20
I know Defence Contracts are different from normal business contracts, but why would you pay such huge amounts of money, before the supplier demonstrates that the helicopter can be flown safely ?????
Will heads roll for wasting so much taxpayers money ??? No.
Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 23:01
Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 23:01
Mike,
Being a military contract, it doesn't necessarily have to work first time out, just that the idea seems a good one. To get it to work, will be a variation in the contract that costs roughly three times the original contract value. By the time it has reached the testing phase, it will have been surpassed by advances in "technology" which renders the original concept obsolete. To cure this requires a "new" contract to upgrade the systems at a cost of roughly three times the cost of the variation in the original contract...
And so on and so forth...
Reply By: Rock Ape - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:29
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:29
What is this post doing here, it should be in the friday funny post.
Or the
young libs,
young nats or
young labour newsletter.
Stuff politics, stick to 4wd/caravans and BUNDY RUM.
The Ape
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:36
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:36
Naah. to strong for me. xxxx mid strength in huge quantities for this old bloke. Bundy might make me get an erection & i'am to old to know what to do with it!!
Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:45
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:45
Barry,
22 cubes of
ice in your rum stops the erection problem.
If you still have a problem use
Winton bore water as a mixer, that will keep things limp and under control.
Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:58
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:58
Barry, what's with the XXXX maaaaaate???? not a closet maroon are ya LOL :-)))
Reply By: jomah - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:30
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:30
thats right, Johnny Howard gave one Billion to Indonesia but I dont hear you bagging him. Besides, why are you bagging anyone. Its not like you bunch of whinging tossers could do any better. Shouldnt you all just be getting rotten drunk and farting yourselves to sleep like any other friday night.
Follow Up By: Member - Stuart W (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:32
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:32
that's just name calling
Follow Up By: pling - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:28
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:28
Howard gave the the money to a country that had been devastated - PNG is "allegedly" one of the most corrupt countries? kevin 07 stated there needs to be more checking on where the money goes.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:35
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:35
Golly, is it school holidays already ?????
Reply By: Stu-k - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:36
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:36
Ya gota luv Mr Krud
http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,23335093-601,00.html
But I did read he is a fashion icon....maybe thats why someone voted for the fag
Follow Up By: Member - Stuart W (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:43
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:43
Name calling
Follow Up By: Stu-k - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:53
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 20:53
Tell tail
Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 23:25
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 23:25
Hey Stu-k, thanks for the link I had no idea about this issue, it makes me sick to think that some of the people doing a very hard job on the lowest of wages are going to get screwed over this way. Has the world gone topsy turby? I thought the libs were supposed to screw over the small guys and labour give out free lollies to everyone, it looks like its all reversed.
If you are reading this kevin 07 (and I know you are) your a fggt for taking this money away, give it back and do another sorry speech.
Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 21:10
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 21:10
So, we as a very wealthy country, can't help out some of our fellow human beings abroad?
I suggest you visit PNG and see how some of these poor people live before you make ignorant posts.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 21:42
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 21:42
Don't be silly Jim, you know it's better to bag things than do anything... LOL
:-)
Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 21:55
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 21:55
Richard,
This dill is up to his eyes in debt because he spends more than he makes, simple really.
$23M, equates to about half a can of soft drink (or a choc bar or 3 smokes or the froth off a pot at the pub or....) once a year for each well kept Aussie.
Jim
Follow Up By: John S (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:17
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:17
Sorry Jim, but I believe in helping my fellow Aussies first.
And to make the comment 'This dill is up to his eyes in debt because he spends more than he makes, simple really.'
Mate, how do you know what has happened in his life. Could have been ex-wife took him to the cleaners, laid off work, the last recession ?? These things got me into debt.
Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:44
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:44
John,
Even exisiting off the Dole in
Australia, one is far better off than than our fellows in our region.
Also John, I beleve we are are all humans on this earth. That we were lucky enough to be be born in
Australia is our good fortune, perhaps we need to share some of our wealth?
Follow Up By: Kevern - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 07:55
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 07:55
To say even living on the dole you are far better off than than fellows in other regions doesn't really take everything into consideration. After only 24 years of working and getting myself into a stable financial position, only debt being my mortgage which is small compared to most, I have been medically retired so my wage has been cut by 3/4 ( I am still earning more than someone on the dole) and my wife has had to resign also to assist me so we have lost her income. I can no longer afford to live in my home of the last 10 years and will have to move out and live with my parents which is a horrible thought at 39. lucky for us we have no children to worry about. Now this is a story that is played out in many other families throughout this great country and there are many people that are worse of than I but how does that knowledge get my home back, or my life for that matter. At this stage the only thing that I have left is my wife ( no I do not have my health) but even this is not a certainty and I won't blame her if she does up and leave. The cost of living in this country is geared to the average income so to say someone like myself who is now living way below the poverty line is better off than someone from a poorer country is ridiculous because I live here and here I am now poor and without a future.So don't sit there and say to anyone without knowing their story that they are better off here. And just so you know I have never been unemployed and have spent the 7 years in the Army and 11 as an Ambulance officer so I think I have done a bit for my country and my community and in my time of need there is nothing and know one to assist me and my family,and neither government has or will change this.
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 08:51
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 08:51
Hi Kevern, Sounds like life has dealt you a rough hand, and heres me moaning about my lot.
This country was built and continues to prosper by the hard yakka of the 'battler'.
He asks no quarter and is given none.
Hang in there my good friend, you still have a devoted missus, your family and your dignity.
Cheers.......Lionel.
Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 09:53
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 09:53
Kevern,
Very sorry to hear of your dilemna.
However, people in other countries within our region, who find themselves in a similar situation, simply starve to death.
Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:17
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:17
ROTFLMAO.
PradoOz your so bleep 1ng smart what are your answer to the problem.
It's ok to bag some one so tell us how to fix it, then tell us why we didn't have the opportunity to vote for you.
Steve.
Reply By: DCTriton - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:42
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 22:42
C'mon guy's, he's taken $23M out of the Australian economy, thus giving Australians less money to spend, thus lowering inflation, thus lowering interest rates, thus making our homes more affordable...
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 23:13
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 23:13
Well I dont know too much about aid money and where it goes, nor much about national and international finances.
What I do know, after being self employed for so many years:
My Super fund has been nibbled at so much its not worth putting any more in.
Im of that age group where I've never received any grants or hand outs from the Govt.
Any cheques that come in at the end of the month are mostly gobbled up with GST..Provisional tax..mobile accounts...fuel bills.
The list is endless.
I work like a dog and pay my taxes. If I'm 3 days late with my BAS
the bastards want blood.
Now if only I could pump out a sprogg every year, get a disability pension, move into public housing, utilise each and every concession available to me I think I would be on easy street.
But, alas, I do it the hard way and get penalised for it.
Thats my moan for the day.....Cheers everybody.
Lionel.
Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 08:26
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 08:26
Lionel,
Go ahead and get a disability pension so then you can actually see what absolute crap you have just written.
Yes I am offended by what you have written,it wasn't my choice that I was deployed Overseas on Active Service only to be injured and then Medically Discharged.
I loved my career in the Army but if I only have the disability pension to survive on in the future then so be it.
I can't survive on the salary I'm getting alone cause my wife is unable to work as well at the moment cause she has a disability as well. She has Multiple Sclerosis and is required to return to Syndey at least 6 times this year for medical tests and appointments. All paid for by us.
So try and do it our way (a bloody lot harder than you)
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 09:24
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 09:24
Sorry Kev, my comment was not aimed at someone such as you. I live and work in an environment where rorting the system is rife.
I am not, by way of Contract, allowed to be specific and have to be careful in what I say, But:
I rebuild and renovate tax payer funded housing which are wrecked or destroyed on a regular basis.
The majority of tennants in these
places can run, fight, drink and climb through someone elses window without much effort yet their goal in life is to convince the doctor that they should be on a disability pension rather than the lesser unemployment one.
The baby bonus is being abused. Some jobs I'm on we have the parents in one room drunk and drugged whilst in the next room 6-7 babys and toddlers lay bruised, soiled and hungry.
My comments were aimed at these people and a little tongue in cheek at the same time.
Again, Please accept my appology, the intention was not to offend you or anyone else that legitimately depends on pension of any kind. Thats what its there for.
Cheers......Lionel.
Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 09:34
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 09:34
I have built/renovated more houses in remote
Australia than I care to remember while in the Army (they called it training, I called it reconcilliation). So I know exactly what you are saying, I am just sick of the overall generalisations made about almost every social group within
Australia.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: PradOz - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 23:55
Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 23:55
well i certainly opened a can of worms here hey. sorry for the offence.
based on some opinions here we should be looking after all those poor so and so countries cause they do it tougher than us. well lets give to everyone else and bu663r us hey. maybe we should help out the poor americans that are losing their homes too coz they are our defence alliance partner hey!
hmmm. re the plasma - got to admit my broken down old 68cm awa tv that doesnt turn on anymore since xmas and cant afford a new one does that count as a plasma. i do have one in a brochure though.
i didnt post this because i had all the answers - i posted it because i didnt and wanted to see opinion on the subject. so maybe get off your high moral ground and stop pointing the finger. i realise i am in the hand of the kevin07 gods and have to put up with whatever he dishes out, and certainly not pointing the finger at anyone. just saying there are plenty here doing it tough that we need to help first. get out and have a look. how many of you have seen all the posts re the price of fuel etc that is now putting a stop on the regular holidays or 4wd trips you all do. i seen plenty of posts on that. maybe they should consider themselves lucky that they live in the lucky country and holiday in their driveway in their vans.
as i said - i was posting to see peoples opinions, and we all certainly got one - thats why we live in a democratic society isnt it
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 08:12
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 08:12
Life expectancy in Mali is 49.51 years (Oz is 80.62 years).
Infant mortality in Mali is 105.65 deaths for every 1000 live births (Oz is 4.57).
GDP per capita in Mali is $1200 (Oz is $37,500).
Population below the poverty line in Mali is 64% (Oz is “not available”.
Electricity consumption in Mali is 412.9 million KWh (Oz is 236.7 billion KWH).
External debt in Mali is $2.8 billion (Oz is $757.9 billion).
Airports with paved runways in Mali is 8 (Oz is 317).
I'm sorry you can't afford a new plasma television but, looking at the above, I don't think we're doing too badly in
Australia... do you?
CIA World Factbook - so you can see just how privileged you really are
PS. PradOz, I wonder if you have ever visited a Third World country?
Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 01:29
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 01:29
Pradoz, have you heard anything about international relations?
It's something where countries actually give each other a hand when they need help. Who helped Oz out when the Japs were on our doorsteps 60 years ago?
$23 million, well that's
Australia's fortnightly bill for the invasion of Iraq.
Please do us all a favour and think about other things than just your overpriced mortgage before making dumb, poorly thought out posts.
Barnesy
Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:07
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:07
It's strange that the bloke who despises pollies the most on here i.e. me, has so little to say except, you'll see some backpedaling by the Govt on a few issues here.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 14:14
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 14:14
Similar to the backpedalling some of the self righteous hypocrites in this thread will now perform OR crawl away back under their rocks.
Reply By: PradOz - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:40
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:40
THANKS KEVERN
I could not have written it better myself.
I pity you, not because you are doing it tough, but because I am in exactly the SAME circumstances. I could never put it down in writing coz I dont want to face the music. I am 44 and in same circumstances to a tee except I am just holding on to my low mortgage to try save the house I built with my own hands 10 years ago. If I lose it, my wife, my kids, and everything else because of someone elses negligence I don not know what I will do. And no one start on about solicitors because the system is stacked against you.
I have nothing against PNG or anyone else in the world. I actually probably show more pity/help on them (not sure if that is the right word here) than a lot of you that are mouthing off.
I JUST USED THEM AS AN EXAMPLE TO SAY WHY DONT WE LOOK AFTER OUR OWN (AS WHAT IT SEEMS) AS WELL AS WE DO OTHERS. Sorry for the shouting and I am sorry some of you missed the point. Oh by the way, did you all serve your country like a few of US have and have now paid the penalty for it? BYE
Follow Up By: nats - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 18:22
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 18:22
Your life sounds appallingly depressing and stressful. You are at risk of losing all that makes life seem worthwhile and meaningful. But you lack compassion for those worse off than you. This puzzles me - surely your own suffering has allowed you to feel what wretches feel?
nats.
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:55
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:55
$23 million is nothing compared the the handouts Howard gave to Indonesia - that was far more than $1 billion.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:59
Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:59
You're whinging over a petty $23M....that's about $1 from each person. It's not much different to buying a (new) mate a beer.....about the same real cost in the end.
Without getting into a political debate, there was supposedly a huge surplus which doesn't seem to be allocated as yet....maybe the real issues in
Australia might be funded with some of that. (time will tell)