6.5 lt Chev diesel turbo

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 21:33
ThreadID: 54899 Views:8012 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
G'day travellers,
I am considering a Chev 6.5 lt Turbo Diesel conversion to replace the thirsty 4.5lt petrol in my 100 series.

Can any of you geniuse's please give me some feedback negative or positive and also what sort of fuel consumption and any other relevant information you can give, especially costs.

I am in Canberra and would also like to know where you may have had a successful conversion completed nearest to the ACT.

Thanks in advance fellas.

Brendan...

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 22:21

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 22:21
Brendan, be aware it is expensive. Trading your vehicle may be a cheaper alternative.

AnswerID: 289221

Reply By: Waza & Wend - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 22:30

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 22:30
Hi Brendan,

I have just done exactly what you are considering. We have a '98 100s that had a 4.5 lt petrol engine. I was using about 23 lts per 100 k's. With only 2000ks on the new 6.5 chev engine, I am getting 16's. It is an expensive exercise as previously mentioned, but if you plan in keeping the car, worth it.

Contact the guys at Brunswick Diesels here in WA, they did ours. I would imagine that they should be able to help you out with a contact in ACT.

Waza

AnswerID: 289226

Follow Up By: Time - Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 08:41

Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 08:41
Contact Ritchie at Hume Offroad (02) 6260 2005 (in Hume) he is the local agent for Brunswick. You will get sensible advice, and a shock at the price.
FollowupID: 554555

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 22:32

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 22:32
Brendan
This a subject that will attract good and bad stories , I would love to fit one but can't afford it on a pension,
I met a tourist in Mt Isa about 3 years back with a Troopy and a large van , he was happy with both performance and economy,
I have had blokes say the economy is not good, well I guess if you drive it hard ie 120kph + of course the economy will be poor, that goes for any car, if you cruised on 90/100 it should be good .

BRUNSWICK DIESELS

.Image Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 289227

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 22:32

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 22:32
If it was me, I would put in 24 valve Turbo diesel Toyota, not the 1HD-T, the one after, but before 1HDT-FE (which is electronic).
Will be heaps cheaper, go just as well, use less fuel, and be able to get parts (if required).
There was a post just recently, where a member relayed EXPERIENCE at owing both engines and cliamed he was better of with the Toyo power plant, yeah sure, it certainly didn't have the sound effects, or low down torque, but overall was the better of the 2.
Shane
AnswerID: 289228

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 22:35

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 22:35
See thread ID 54136
FollowupID: 554530

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 10:12

Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 10:12
Hi Shane
What models did this turbo motor you recon is good, come out in?
Why do you recommend this one over the the others?

GN
FollowupID: 554563

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 26, 2008 at 00:11

Tuesday, Feb 26, 2008 at 00:11
They where in the later half of the 80 series, for a little better on fuel and power.
The early batch of 1HD-T had big end bearing problems and 2 valves per cylinder, make no mistake they still went well, but got updated around '95.
I cannot remember what it was called,similar to 1HDT except the big end problem was rectified, and it has 24 valves, mechanical fuel pump and injectors
The next one came with the 100 series is has more power and torque, but also is electronically controlled, thus needing a great deal more expertise if getting to run right, (ECU's, MAF's,electronic injection, wire accelerator pedal),OK if your handy with a multimeter.
Shane
FollowupID: 554709

Reply By: Rock Ape - Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 07:11

Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 07:11
I had the same dilemma, replace my troopy or throw the old 2h out. I chose the latter and fitted a 6.5 non turbo.

Engine is noisier, torque in the scrub is brilliant, fuel consumption is less than the 2h. I average between 11.7 empty and 15 lts per hundred fully loaded (these figures are highway, dirt and off road not town figures) and no it is not a race car, but in saying that I have no problems overtaking.

If you keep the revs between 2200 and 2300 this is the economical range for the engine.

The only problem I had was cooling which I cured by fitting a genuine 79 series alloy radiator, Brunswick also have a core that works well I have been told.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 289250

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 11:03

Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 11:03
I agree....
Mine (a 2000 Patrol 4.2TD) was converted by the 1st owner when the vehicle was brand new. In addition to fitting the n/a 6.5 diesel to a new Patrol, he also had the gas axe taken to the boddy and converted it to a dual cab and then had LPG fitted 4 months later. I consider I got a good buy (I am 3rd owner). My only grief is the weight (3.5 tonne).

I haven't done myself any favours on the fuel economy side of things.....IE: the weight + running 35" Mickey Thompson MTZ + a 4" lift (all of which tend to play havoc with economy), but I still manage to get better overall economy that my previous Patrol (which coincidently was also a 2000 model 4.2TD Patrol). I use about 16 l/100 of diesel + a relatively modest amount of LPG.

This vehicle is used only for longer trips; it's not a town car.

It is no power-house....I still need to use the gear lever a few times to get up steep hills. However, the low-down torque is the part that I REALLY appreciate. My boy-racer days are long-since past and I drive more sedately these days.

I've thought (briefly) about adding a turbo charger or supercharger, but have decided the possible decrease in reliability is not worth hassle just for the slight benefits I might gain.

It'll do me for a while, but it is very expensive and may not suit everybody. I could not have justified the expense of converting my own 4.2TD over to this motor, but I am happy with the vehicle I now have.
FollowupID: 554572

Reply By: traveller2 - Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 08:25

Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 08:25
The NA engine is more than sufficient for the conversion.
The turbo has only 10 or so HP more but a huge (nearly double)increase in torque which might be way too much for the drivetrain.
Also the turbo engine is usually electronically controlled which is another source of reliability and problems as well as increased engine bay heat.
AnswerID: 289256

Reply By: Member - Douglas M (SA) - Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 11:06

Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 11:06
Hi Brendood,
This mob do conversions using imported motors (new and test motors from G.M.). They are probably comparatively more expensive than others but offered assistance to get my vehicle roadworthy in S.A. if I had done my own conversion and are a lot closer than Queensland or W.A..

Wignell's Tractors Pty Ltd
Address: 4050 Strathbogie Road, Euroa 3666
Phone: (03) 5795 2691

I visited them in 2007, They are a well established country business and seemed to be honest and reliable.
I am in the same position as you still deciding v8 or straight 6.
Doug
AnswerID: 289276

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 21:27

Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 21:27
I owned both a 6.5 Cruiser and 4.5 100 series at the same time, so I've done direct side by side comparisons.

That extra 6 or so extra litres per 100km's takes a loooooooooong time to recoup. You are looking at $17K MINIMUM.

The 4.5 has excellent torque. Mine still idles up hills with no worries. I am yet to find a task the 1FZ-FE is not more than adequate for apart from a fuel economy test. It's reliable, powerful, torquey from idle, smooth, quiet, relaxed, bits are readily available, easy to work on etc......

Keep your Cruiser standard, buy a boat or a motorbike and a secondhand camper trailer with the $20 grand (which is what the conversion will end up costing you) and you'll have much, much more fun.
AnswerID: 289378