Stolen Campertrailer database

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 08:41
ThreadID: 54776 Views:3412 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
G'Day All,

Just a note to let you know that a database has been set-up to report and search for campertrailers which have been reported stolen.

Last thing anyone wants to happen is you hand over your hard earned for a top line camper trailer, only to find it belongs to someone else!

The page and details are located here

Stolen campertrailer database

and click on "Stolen Campertrailers Page"

Rolande

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 09:32

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 09:32
Gee things are pretty crook in the world if we have to have a register for Stolen C/Ts...
Must be very dis-heartening to have the pride & joy in the driveway one evening- and it's gone in the morning.
I wonder if there's an organised 'reselling' mob out there??
Down here there was a mob stealing Bobcat machines- and sending container loads to NZ and Sth America !!!
AnswerID: 288584

Follow Up By: DIO - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 10:09

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 10:09
Every vehicle (car, truck, trailer, caravan, motor-home etc) that is reported stole to Police is in fact recorded on a register or data base. For example a couple are listed below:

REVS

DOCEP (WA)

Every State has such a system including a register of wrecked vehicles and un-recovered stolen vehicles.

The 'business' of stealing vehicles - often 'to order' (cars, trucks, tractors, vans, motor bikes) re-building or modifying to prevent identification is a multi million dollar activity in this country and has been going on for decades.

R - E - M - E -M - B - E - R if there are no buyers, (that means 'Joe Average' in the street, pub, club etc) then in a short time there will be no opportunity for crime groups to sell their stolen goods.
FollowupID: 553945

Follow Up By: Mal58 - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 12:42

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 12:42
We were the unfortunate victims when our relatively new padlocked and chained tent camper trailer was stolen from our driveway during the day in early 2000.

It was pretty upsetting and almost ruined a long planned 3 month holiday with the wife and kids in QLD.

We never got the camper back. Thank-fully it and it's contents were insured.

With regard to being re-birthed etc. For a tent camper trailer (ours looked like the one in the expoloroz picture that comes up on this page), I would imagine that it would be quite easy to do.

The camper "VIN" plate was simply riveted onto the tailgate and the VIN number was just engraved on the plate.

Apart from the rego plate, the VIN plate and the manufacturers transfers (plastic stickers) that was all that identified the camper trailer. Pretty easy to remove.

Imagine my surprise when down at the local caravan supply place (some time later) I found that you could by new blank camper / caravan VIN plates.

To be fair I think that the Average Joe would be hard pressed to know if a camper like the one we had stolen had new plates etc.

Things might have changed, but one area that possibly needs better regulation is the technical requirements for identity markers on campers. ie Stamping of VIN numbers on different structural elements on trailers etc.

Mal

FollowupID: 553965

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:00

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:00
Most C/Trailers and C/Vans now have a number welded on the draw bar. Still possible to grind off but would be more noticeable
FollowupID: 554014

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:20

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:20
Just a Warning!

Some insurers won't regard padlock or cable & chain as approved secure storage, & may not approve the claim.
They stipulate that it be kept be in a locked yard or shed, otherwise it must be fitted with any retail, purpose built trailer locking device.
FollowupID: 554018

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 09:55

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 09:55
Sounds like a great idea and might assist in the recovery of these items.

I suggest that the details i.e. the Police Report Number relating to the stolen property as issued by the relative Police Dept. should also be included. This should ensure that only factual reports are publicised and if/when anyone gets info on the where-abouts of such property they can advise Police who when armed with a report number etc can act more swiftly and decisively.
Otherwise they probably won't have details of the victim's name, address etc available to them, particularly if it is from Interstate and therefore absence of such could create unnecessary delays in obtaining same. It would also discourage and hopefully prevent those parties involved in a domestic or civil dispute from maliciously claiming that their property 'was stolen'.

Let's hope though that someone doesn't buy a camper trailer after having checked 'the database' found it not recorded and later on discover that it was in fact stolen. There is no disclaimer or declaration as to the validity, accuracy or relevance of the information displayed on the web page. Could be a real worry with all sorts of claims and counter-claims. Expensive too !
AnswerID: 288588

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 14:07

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 14:07
*Sounds like a great idea and might assist in the recovery of these items.*

Yeah your right DIO i dont own one personally but bloody thieves,cut most digits off and leave him a nose picker,surely everyone at least deserves to be able to do that !

Oh apart from Pedeophiles and thats another story !

FollowupID: 553972

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 18:57

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 18:57
Would be more effective if a picture of the stolen C/Trailer or C/Van was published with the details
AnswerID: 288656

Follow Up By: Angler - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 22:28

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 22:28
There is also a stolen caravan list at

http://www.goseeaustralia.com.au/stolen.asp

Pooley
www.bycompass.com
FollowupID: 554075