Driving over corrugations.

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:03
ThreadID: 52601 Views:6223 Replies:12 FollowUps:17
I know this has been discussed many times!, but lateley i have had to travel to a site where the access road is a shocker ,in regards to corrugations,! only a few kms, but with a 130 wheelbase defender ute, coils all round(double on the rear), I tried a different speed each day, at 60-80ks flew over the top but not a lot of control, and wasn't sure things weren't flying off,(i know bloody landrovers!!), but really just ambling along at about 30ks and less, felt a whole lot better, felt every rut but i think the vehicle would suffer less stress over a greater distance, My thoughts only.

Reply By: Andrew(WA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:21

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:21
What Tyre pressures are you running?

Let them down..much nicer ride. Pressure depends on whether you have LT's or passenger rated tyres, loaded or unloaded.
AnswerID: 276945

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:50

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:50
Iknow what your saying, but the rough section is not all that great a distance, so changing pressues is a bit of a chit , especially when its a rush rush work related run, And those 7.50x 16 dunlops look so horrible when you take the pressue away!...lol.

FollowupID: 540807

Follow Up By: Andrew(WA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:09

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:09
Just go down to 33 - 35psi...it'll be a huge difference, and no big deal until you get to the next service station for air on the highway! even better, get a compressor and top them up yourself when you feel like it.

45psi on corrugations will eventually cause damage to your vehicle and bits will fall off!
FollowupID: 540810

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:27

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:27
Taking it very easy with lower tyre pressures is my choice - I noted last year in the Kimberley that on leaving one of those tourist gorges one morning (with cold tyres), the ride was dramatically softer than coming in the previous evening, with hot (higher pressured) tyres..... was a good lesson for me..... carry a compressor and play with pressures as often as practical.
AnswerID: 276946

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:40

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:40
Probably have about a ton on in weight , just running standard old dunlop 7.50x 16 tyres at about45psi, trouble is its not a long enough distance to bugger about with a compressor, as i have to travel most of the distance on the black top., and its all work related!!..lol, get there get home, holiday would be a different senario.

cheers Axle.
FollowupID: 540805

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:54

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:54
Yep - 45 psi would be the killer, especially if that is the cold reading.
FollowupID: 540808

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:59

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:59
Hi Axle

Drag a couple of bits of old rail iron over it occasionally. We had an old stock grid which the children used to drag behind the tractor on our shire access road. Knocked the tops off the corrugations better than the shire did with their graders.

Otherwise take it slow and save your vehicle. If it is the last bit you have to travel each day, let the tyres down a bit and leave down until after you've been across on the way back - that way you'd only pumping up once a day.

AnswerID: 276950

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:14

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:14
Hi Motherhen, the bad section is about halfway, but totally agree to take it slow and save the vehicle.
FollowupID: 540813

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:27

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:27
Axle

I've travelled over corrugated roads for most of my life and haven't found the answer yet. There never the same, some are shallow and others are deep.

As far as the latter is concerned, get use to finding a side track, which is common up north.

Small corrugations can be more comfortable with a bit of speed, but if the buggars are deep and wide apart, you need to slow down big time. Otherwise your asking for trouble.

I don't bother with all this tyre pressure stuff on roads. Just find my way around the conditions and look after the car.

Don't know how much experience you've had, but also be aware of deep Bull Dust holes. Their hard to pick, and not much fun when you hit the little cliff at the other end.

Kim
AnswerID: 276953

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:38

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:38
Kim, I'd echo your advice. Thought I knew corros 'till I went to the Cape. The army had cut the tracks up in the wet season, big time.
Then I found some corros made out of rock on the Kidson....sheesh !
I have yet to meet those on the AB or Gun...heaven help me :)))
FollowupID: 540821

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:49

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:49
Kim.. Footloose, are you two saying tyre pressues are not such a big issue!,, watch out for the flying missiles now,hahaha.

FollowupID: 540822

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:29

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:29
Axle, in my case that's not what I meant. Certainly gravel, tar and scrub should have different tyre pressures and speeds, at least for my vehicle set up.
However I couldn't see me putting them up and down all day!
A bit of common sense goes a long way.
FollowupID: 540835

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:36

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:36
I totally Agree, just go along with the conditions.

FollowupID: 540839

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:41

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:41
Gidday Axle, Only just talking to a telstra bloke yesterday.
He used to service lines etc in country WA and corrugations were always a problem.

I dont know if he was pulling my leg or not, but he said that driving on the opposite side of the road did make a difference.
Now I know the safety police may take issue with this, but unless your blind and dont possess an ounce of common sense it may be worth a try.

I wont be anywhere near any corrugations for some time yet, if you do try this tip can you let us know if there was a difference.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 276957

Follow Up By: bob&loz - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:39

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:39
He was not pulling your leg. It is especially helpful when going up hill or around left hand bends
FollowupID: 540840

Follow Up By: Member - Norm H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:55

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:55
G/day Lionel, I have a disco 3 tdv6 full air suspension handles corrugations well, driving on wrong side of the road does give a better ride in my opinion.

Cheers norm.
FollowupID: 540843

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:32

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:32
Thats TRUE,
corrogations sort of go saw tooth, not even humps,
other side of road has the saw tooth going the other way thus making the ride a little better, must be done when safe OBVIOUSLY
Shane
FollowupID: 541008

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:53

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:53
Hey Axle!

Just wear a bra and put up with the corru's....hahahahahahaha

AnswerID: 276960

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:00

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:00
AHHHHHHHHHH!, Payback, actually the missus reckons its the only time i look at her !, Bouncing over corru's ,:)))))))))).

FollowupID: 540827

Reply By: Member - Big Al. Gold Coast - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:13

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:13
If it's a lot of trouble to keep pumping up tyres after just a short section of road I have found that 80km / hour and 4WD High works for me. If the tyres are jumping all over the place you will have no axle windup (dunlop 7.50 x16) with a GVM of just over 3t I run 56psi front and 60 psi rear on the hard top and lower 10 psi (after warm up) for most offroad work.
AnswerID: 276977

Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 01:21

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 01:21
Gotta agree with Al here.
In my day to day travels for work I often have to travel a short stretch of corrugated road here and there. I find that as long as I can travel at a good speed 60-80 km/h, if I put it in 4WD high I retain control by having the front help pull me along and as I would usually have the tyres at highway pressure 40-42 psi the tyres bouncing all over the place put no wind up strain on the transmission.

Brian T
FollowupID: 540886

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 21:44

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 21:44
56 and 60 psi ??????? You should tell people what tyres you are running ????

I'm running 245/75 Mickys ( ATZ ) and 36 seems fine ( Terracan )
AnswerID: 276993

Follow Up By: stevesub - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 12:13

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 12:13
750-16 LT tyres - Toyota recommend around 40 psi front and 55 to 60 psi rears for the 78 series Troopy.

These are different construction tyres from your normal radials that 99% of people use these days and I just go by what the manufacturer recommends on their door plate.

Our Rangie runs 28 front, 38 rear on radials.

You will be amazed at where a Troopy can go without wheel spin and on the recommended high pressures, even in soft sand.It is the Rangie that we have to air down all the time, very rarely the Troopy.

Stevesub
FollowupID: 540911

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 07:35

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 07:35
Axle

Drop tyre pressures to 22-25 psi, depending on your weight, and get going a bit faster so your vehicle is travelling up on top of the corrugations. With our Navara ( loaded up I found a speed of 65-70 k/hr ) it was a shocking ride till I got up to speed.
You may find that you can get along, up to 70-75 km/hr, especially with coils, as the mates found with their full coil 80 series Cruiser.

Cheers MAte
AnswerID: 277010

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 07:38

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 07:38
Another thought is, that I found, engaging hi range 4 wheel drive, gives better control of the vehicle.
FollowupID: 540889

Reply By: hotfishez - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 09:44

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 09:44
I drive anywhere between 400 and 700 km /week on corrugated and fairly rough terrain in the Pilbara every week. 79 Series tray with anywhere between 500kg to a TON. I run tyres (265/75r16) at 40psi and travel at around 90kph in 4WD. If thers are deep vehicle track ruts I go back to 2WD as it will not tow around as much. Corrugations are a wave shape and if possible drive on the opposite side of the road, it is a softer ride. At 90 you skip over the top of the corries, vehiclie vibration is at a minimum and is a safe speed to handle (please note this is my personal opinion). I have been driving to these "specs" for 8 years in the Kimberly and the last 3 years in the Pilbara. As I said this is my own opinion and I am comfortable traveling at 90kph. I am aware gov mining regulations are set at 80kph but I will cross that bridge if it ever finds me.
AnswerID: 277028

Reply By: Smudger - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 10:49

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 10:49
Axle,
45psi - Landrover? Wow!!
If you check your book, you'll find recommended pressures are heaps lower. I've done a few kms over every type of terrain, in several Landies, and had best results sticking to the book. Better traction, better handling, better tyre wear and best comfort.
I'm not a fan of reducing pressure on rough tracks, Landies' recommended pressures are soft enough to allow for a decent balloon anyway. Make sure your wheels are balanced and steering's aligned.
As to corrrrrrru-bloody-gggggations!!! They're never comfortable. All you can do is find the most comfortable, safe speed ..suck it in and smile.
Your Landie won't fall apart, it'll just whinge a lot. But it's Pom, whatdyer expect. (LOL)
AnswerID: 277037

Reply By: Justin - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 13:07

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 13:07
Like others have mentioned I found locking the (centre) diff made a big difference to the control of the car at speed over corrugations, even on a full time 4wd like a Disco...

The car was a 1995 Tdi disco, so locking the diff was a simple on the fly operation. Mind you the corrugations did end up snapping the left hand rear hard brake line on the Tanami, (fixed when arrived in Alice) and then the right hand side on the Menindee (spell?) Loop to Uluru. Mind you by the time the right hand side snapped I was a bush mechanic expert it was a 5 minute fix (to isolate the brake, and bleed the lines) and continue driving with three brakes, drove the rest of the way home to Sydney like this.

Would be interested to know if leaf springs ride worse or better than coils over corrugations. I imagine longer wheel base cars (like a troopy) would also be a little more stable at speed on rough roads...
AnswerID: 277045

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 22:15

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 22:15
Justin, leaf springs are HELL on corrugations.

Best way with leaf suspension is :

Drop tyre pressures to 2 psi.....
Set cruise control to 3 kph.....
Fit a kidney belt to all passengers.....
Take your teeth out....
Dont under any cicumstances open that can of coke....

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 541034