Electric blanket current draw

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:30
ThreadID: 48919 Views:27501 Replies:9 FollowUps:6

have been reading posts on c/t heating and was looking at an inverter and electric blankets.....just wondering what size inverter would be needed to run a double and 2 single elctric blankets (for the kids)... have a 1200watt with 2400 watt peak now. will this be big enough and what size and how many AGM batteries should i need. will be driving every 1-2 days...

thanks ahead of time

mick

Reply By: Member - Mick T (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:33

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:33
sorry for the 2nd post...one too many..lol
AnswerID: 258332

Reply By: AndrewX - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 20:53

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 20:53
I just don't believe it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 258367

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 20:56

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 20:56
It gets cold in Oz Possum - I won't leave home without an electric blanket.

FollowupID: 519648

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 21:41

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 21:41
Have yoou considered purchasing quality (I mean good quality) sleeping bags? If you are so determinedto go down the path of electric blankets, why not consider using 12 volt (DC) blankets. They are readily available (try e-bay) and not all that expensive. A lot cheaper than trying to get it all together with inverters and heaps of batteries. Just a thought.
AnswerID: 258383

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 21:52

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 21:52
Electric blankets tend to draw around 60 watts each which is very little and a 600 watt inverter should be ok.

However I think I posted on this subject before and would not reccomend putting the head of anyone you cared about in close proximity to such a field for any length of time.

Hence I'd either just run them to heat up first , better still use 12vdc , and best of all just use a hot water bottles.

Robin MIller

AnswerID: 258387

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 13:56

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 13:56
Robin, G'Day

60w at 12v = 5amps, or 2 engels flat chat.

600w inverter, whats the draw on that?

Watts = volts x amps

600 = 240 x I

I = 2.5a

If this is correct, then you get a 2.5amp advantage from the inverter, from where? energy doesnt come from nowhere?

or if you use 12v on the inverter wattage it would draw 50amps!

So whats the go on the inverter?

I actually got one, its only 150w but was free with Engel, never used it.

Rgds

Ron
FollowupID: 519751

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 14:46

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 14:46
Hi Ron

Nothing wrong with your figures but your reading a bit much into my reply.
I was just saying that a fairly popular size inverter (600w) is adequate for the job, of running the 3 or 4 60 watt blankets mentioned.

FollowupID: 519760

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 17:47

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 17:47
Robin,

maybe this came across wrong,

I was asking whats the advantage of the inverter and if its a 2.5amp less draw how does it achieve this?

I'm not real clued up on inverters except that I imagine they would have a large current draw?

What would the 600w inverter draw from your battery with the 60w load, would it be 0.25amp (240 / 60) or 50amp (600/12)

Guess what I'm saying is do you work out the load on the battery from the inverter, or the load on the inverter from the blanket?

When there are the two ohms law equations, how do you use them together to work out the battery load?

Just curious, and your explanations are always interesting.

Rgds

Ron
FollowupID: 519787

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 18:08

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 18:08
Hi Ron

Gotcha now - the inverters are roughly 90% efficent at maximum and a bit less at small loads cause they need maybe 1/2 amp standing current so a 60w load (blanket) would draw about 70w out of the 12v battery or almost 70/12 = 6 amps approx.

FollowupID: 519790

Reply By: disco1942 - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 22:32

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 22:32
Each person will require 60-80 Watts on high power, 30-40 W and 15-20 W on low. If you are using 60W blankets and it takes an hour to warm the beds, then you will require 240 W/H per night. This equates to 20 A/H per night @ 12V. If your inverter is 80% efficient you will require 25 A/H per night.

If you power only 2 blankets at a time and your batteries have a rating of 250 A/H then you will not have to increase this 25 A/H per night consumption (because of Peukart's Law - the faster you discharge a battery the less you get out of it.) SEE

You will probably be better off purchasing a cheap generator to run your blankets.

AnswerID: 258391

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 01:45

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 01:45
McEnroe would yell.......YOU CAN'T BE SERIOUS

AnswerID: 258405

Follow Up By: Smudger - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 11:20

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 11:20
See, even an old dog like you can be edumacated. Down south Dougy, it gets what we call "cold". That's something that makes brass monkeys loose important little bits. About 6 weeks ago we had 3 nights in the Flinders ranges and the morning temps were -8, -9 and -8. An electric blanket would've been a welcome peice of kit.
FollowupID: 519738

Reply By: Smudger - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 11:22

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 11:22
Have you considered a 12 volt blanket, Do a Google, going price seems to be about $50.
AnswerID: 258431

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 18:45

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 18:45
As mentioned above,

1. Very Very good quality sleeping bags

2. Hot water bottle

3. Woollen hats, socks and trackie pants

4. Snuggle up to your partner

I would never use anything gas or electrical in the c/t to heat it up. I'm sure u could survive a few cold nights with the above.
We did.

cheers, Lance
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 258475

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 19:07

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 19:07
People will mock you but who cares, we use electric blankets in our camper trailer down here in Tassie.Dont care what people say, we sleep warm(snow and frost outside).We use a 650w gennie and it will run 4 electric blankets on low for 10hrs(yeah I know you are not ment to sleep with them on).When its either stay home because its to cold to go camping or take electric blankets and get out there go for it.
AnswerID: 258478