Aftermarket turbo's for 1hz

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:36
ThreadID: 47852 Views:4989 Replies:10 FollowUps:4
Just would to hear from people who have installed a aftermarket turbo's on 1hz engines. Would like to know the following information;

What turbo kit was fitted ( safari etc ).

What boost level ( low, medium or high).

How long and how many kilometers has it done since install ?

And any problem with the 1hz or gearbox cause by the turbo install ?

Wade

Reply By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:45

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:45
Fitted a DTS system to my 91 80 Series GXL Diesel in 2003 and have done about 80 000 km so far without any trouble - it was the best thing I ever did. My boost is set at medium and absolutey no problems at all with the gear box or any other part of the motor.

If you are going to do it make sure it is done by a qualified mechanic who knows what he is doing.

Karl
AnswerID: 253227

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:06

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:06
Yep, me too. Best thing I have added to the car. The motor runs much better with a 2.5" exhaust as well. Do them at the same time and you will be shocked at the difference and ask "why didn't I do this sooner" which is what I said. Just do it!
FollowupID: 514356

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 20:53

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 20:53
I fitted a Denco kit to mine at 270 000 km.
Sold it to a mate who has now fitted a Denco intercooler.
Now travelled over 330 000 km and going fine.
Boost set at 8lb
EGT no higher than 550 degrees taken after the turbine.
Keep your boost to 8lbs and the most important thing is to keep the EGT's down and you will have no trouble.
120scruiser
AnswerID: 253240

Follow Up By: GerryP - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:35

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:35
Hi 120scruiser,
I am interested in your comment about "no higher than 550 degrees". I have been told to try and limit to 520, but that is awfully difficult, especially when towing. I know the 1HZ is particularly susceptable to high EGT and should not be boosted over 8 psi. I get a bit paranoid sometimes when the temp starts rising over 500 as I don't want to cause any damage. Just wondering where you got the 550 figure from and how confident you are that it is OK.
Gerry
FollowupID: 514365

Follow Up By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 08:09

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 08:09
From Denco.
I had mine set to 550 at full throttle under load for 2 minutes and then when the intercooler was fitted by my mate, it now doesn't go much over 500.
Also it will make a difference where the EGT probe is fitted. If up stream of the turbo you will get alot higher EGT's. Mine was fitted straight after the turbine.
120scruiser
FollowupID: 514397

Reply By: harris - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:25

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:25
Foxtel......Fitted AXT Turbo (do google search get details) vehlcle fitted 1992 troopie, with 210,000 km on clock.......now got 260,000 (done 50,000km) no clutch/gear problems......keep turbo boost below 9 psi, as long as your motor is sound and not using any coolant (indicating possible crack head...etc) you will have no trouble......my temperature gauge still reads exactly as it did prior to turboing.
I put "2.5 inch mandel bend exhaust system through out......totally changed vehicle 1 gear better off and I tow......don't have to change down on hills...anymore. If you get a mechanic (installer) to put it on.......make sure have are reliable, don't run motor to lean on fuel (economy).....keep boost down and you will have no problems. People said I was "mad" putting a turbo on with so many KMs on the clock......but if your motor is sound......you'll have no problems.....
Regards....Harro (1HZ motor)
AnswerID: 253248

Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:28

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:28
foxtel,

What turbo kit was fitted ( safari etc ).
A: AXT turbo (garret)

What boost level ( low, medium or high).
A: 8psi (low I guess)

How long and how many kilometers has it done since install ?
A: 20,000km

And any problem with the 1hz or gearbox cause by the turbo install ?
A: No problems experienced.

Note: Goes well but! I tow a caravan and find it still dies on hills. I will be adding a 3 inch exhaust system to it to help it breath a bit better. Also, the fuel consumption increased marginally since adding the turbo (1 litre/100km difference)
AnswerID: 253250

Reply By: Member- Tony C - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:31

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:31
I a Denco fitted to mine at 140000k and have now done 178000k.Has made an enormous difference to overall performance and almost no increase in fuel consumption unless you put the foot down over a long distance.
No problems with gearbox so far although oil seal between gearbox and transfer went which i dont atribute to extra power from turbo.
Overall very happy i had it fitted and would do it again to a 1hz.
Tony
AnswerID: 253252

Reply By: Big Woody - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:23

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:23
Hi Wade,

I have a 1990 80 series GXL wagon with 1HZ engine.

1. Mike Vine Turbo fitted the same day it rolled off the showroom floor in 1990

2. Boost level is what I would consider conservative at 9PSI

3. Engine has just clocked over 310,000km and has never been touched. Doesn't use a drop of oil between changes and stills sounds as quiet and as tight as it did when new. Always used fully synthetic oil and change both oil and filter at 5000km.

Still goes like a rocket ad it gets worked hard with heavy towing at times (2.5 tonne yacht)

Best thing you will ever do mate.

Brett
AnswerID: 253267

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:45

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:45
Wade,

Custom AXT Turbo.

Medium(approx 10PSI).

15,000km.

No probs at all.

As mentioned keep an eye on exhaust temps, mine doesn't get over 605 degrees PRE-turbo.

Ross.
AnswerID: 253270

Reply By: cruzaluva - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 03:48

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 03:48
G'Day Wade,

Turboglide Kit

10 PSI Boost

Installed @ 218000Kms and done 10000kms since with no problems. I checked compression, valve clearances and installed new injectors prior to turbo install. Engine temp does not move even under heavy load. Definitely install an EGT gauge, PRE-Turbo if you can, much more accurate. 720 C max sustained EGT for prolonged engine life. There are EGT gauges available with visual/audible alarms for temp exceedance that are cheaper than the Thermoguard unit (no insult intended).

Like a different car now, you won't regret it.

Mitch

AnswerID: 253287

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 15:28

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 15:28
Hi Mitch,

"There are EGT gauges available with visual/audible alarms for temp exceedance that are cheaper than the Thermoguard unit (no insult intended)." None taken. But could you email me with the make & source, please? Always interested in seeing what my opposition is and perhaps I can source cheaper/better components than I'm currently using and can offer better features and/or lower prices. ian_at_thermoguard.com.au Thanks.
FollowupID: 514791

Reply By: icecold - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:15

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:15
I have installed a safari kit in my 1999 79 series ute. My ute came with a boost compinsator as standard on my 1HZ 4.2 motor.
I dont have an intercooler as yet, but i am running boost maximum at 13 pounds.
Story is, when i instaled the turbo with my 2 1/2 inch exhaust it ran a maximum 9 pounds standard. a week later i went to (Beaudesert Exhaust), and He made me up a 3 inch Mandrel bend exhaust. ( which only took him 17 seconds to make it , UNBELEIVABLE TO WATCH, WITH HIS $300,000 BENDER.) and man, on my way back home to Stanthorpe the Ute went like a rocket. i have instaled the Pira-Gage and before the new exhaust was running at 320 deg on the straights, now running at a cooler 220-250 deg. massive change in temp.So i have added more fuel bit by bit and still no smoke. hardly a puff. i wonder if the boost compensator is controling alot of the fuel it alows? if anyone can help? I will get it tuned soon and have the valves done.
I havent managed to get the exhaust higher then 420 deg up the cunninghams gap with full load.
Regards Chris
AnswerID: 253898

Reply By: icecold - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:18

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:18
My pyro-Gage and probe in kit form cost me $262.55 inc gst

Its An ( LTS12TCD )

Probe is a 6mm with fitting to screw into Dump pipe!
AnswerID: 253900