mattress for camper trailer

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 17:40
ThreadID: 46579 Views:8816 Replies:11 FollowUps:12
I just after some first hand advise, for a comfortable mattress for a camper trailer.

It seamed OK when we purchased it 5 years ago but on our last trip didn't seam to be that good.
Its a hard floor Cub off road camper trailer, so I don't think we could increase the overall height of the mattress.Current mattress is foam is that all we can use or is there any other option.

Cheers Scoof. :-)

Reply By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 18:05

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 18:05
KangaCamperTrailers have a queen size innerspring 6inches thick that is very comfortable. They don't make them themselves but get them made in Melbourne. You might think them a bit pricey at $600 but hey what's a good sleep worth. Might be worth a call anyway.
AnswerID: 246354

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 18:12

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 18:12
A layer of the eggshell foam from Clark rubber over the existing mattress will work wonders and cost liitle, also hardly raises overall height.

We did it and were absolutely amazed at the result.
AnswerID: 246358

Follow Up By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 19:16

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 19:16
Thanks GT,
That idea sounds just the GO.
Can you remember approx cost.

Thanks to all your reply's.

Cheers Scoof. :-) ..
FollowupID: 507237

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:12

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:12
We also have the eggshell over the top of the foamie,then a lambswool underlay over that. Have not had a bad sleep yet.Thumbs up!! Cost of the eggshell was $100. It depends on what grade you use, ours is a light shade of pink.
FollowupID: 507257

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:22

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:22
We have a sheet of yellow egg-shell foam that is queen size that hasn't been used much. Was going to advertise it on Trader but haven't got around to it yet. Could get it across to South Aussie early next month if you are interested Jeff. MM me or email if you are interested. The email is with the rig pic
FollowupID: 507293

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:58

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:58
John, we can see Scoof's place from the back veranda so if he wants to give it a go, we are all in the right location unless he wants to go to Waraweena and pick it up.
Jeff, I think John plans to camp at our place on his way home if it is of any use to you.
We recently had a 5" inner spring matress made for the shippshape. I can get you details if you wish. I think it was Elite bedding on Port Road. Cost about $400.00
FollowupID: 507306

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 23:32

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 23:32
Actually Des, will be camping Adeleide on the way up on the night of the 4th for delivery if anyone was interested.
FollowupID: 507310

Reply By: Yabbo - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 18:22

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 18:22
I found a company in Brisbane - appropriately at www.madetomeasuremattresses.com.au/ and they make an inner spring matress specially for camper trailers. It is not as thik as a standard inner spring mattress (4" rather than 6" I think) so you wont have trouble fitting in the trailer. We heading off for 3 months in a few weeks time and we plan to order one and pick it up on the way through Brisbane on outr way north.
Yabbo
AnswerID: 246363

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 08:25

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 08:25
I'll second the www.madetomeasuremattresses.com.au we had one made to fit the Shippshape and it is great, their customer service was the best I've ever had from any business.
They advised us on mattress selection, the price quoted included delivery to the door and they constantly kept in touch before and after delivery. In fact they rang late in the day the mattress was delivered to make sure we were happy with it and that all was ok, we were trying it out at the time!
FollowupID: 507329

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:48

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:48
I'll third that. I puchased one afew weeks ago. Got very good service which included door to door service
FollowupID: 507339

Reply By: normc - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 18:57

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 18:57
I was going to post on the same topic. Instead I'll jump on this one.

We have an inner spring mattress in our CT (hard floor Odyssey). Mattress is about 6 inches thick. To keep the height down, they use shorter springs and only pad on one side. This means you can only use the mattress one way up.

My issue is that I sometimes suffer with back pain. Although I reckon it is a good mattess, on our recent 11 week trip, I had a few restless nights with back pain.

I was wondering if I would be better with a firm foam mattress. Of course, it is possible (likely?) that the body is the issue, not the mattress.

Anyone with a bung back tried different mattresses in the camper?
AnswerID: 246371

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 19:35

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 19:35
Had 4in foam , had 6in med density foam , had 6in innerspring , now we use the mattress from our bed at home which some would say is overkill but then again if you havnt tried it your in no position to knock it , our mattress is the Wenetex , bloody expensive but then how much $value is a good nites sleep ?? no affilliation to Wenatex yada yada just a good product witha 25yr g/tee and the only mattress of its type that you can totaly unzip the cover and wash,
FollowupID: 507246

Follow Up By: normc - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 19:52

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 19:52
Our home mattress is a super duper Latex model. Think it cost about the same as the Hilux (well almost). A great mattress, but it is King Size and about 12 inches thick. A touch big for the CT.

I wonder if you can get a 6 inch thick Latex? Probably a bit expensive ($ are much more important since I stopped work), but I might have a look see.

I'll also have a look at the Wenetex Axel, but it sounds expensive too.
FollowupID: 507252

Follow Up By: mattie - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:01

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:01
u can get thinner latex mattress but the weight would be a big factor for an off road camper.

MATTIE
FollowupID: 507254

Reply By: Member - craig W (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:03

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:03
Goodday mate,
There are plenty of mattress makers out there we get a six inch
inner sping made for our camper and van with the corners cut about $150 thats
Queen size hope this helps
Craig
AnswerID: 246389

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:03

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:03
We got a 4 or 5 inch inner spring mattress with our tru blu camper, It is really good, haven't slept on any good foam ones, omly dodgy ones. I find the camper nearly as comfortable as home....
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 246390

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:22

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:22
We have the self inflating matress. Just undo the straps, undo the 4 caps on the end and wella sucks the air in and is ready to go in 5 mins put caps back on. Absolute pain in the arse to roll back up again and takes up room length wise. Its queen size so is as wide as a queen bed even when rolled up and diameter rolled up would be roughly the same as our roman sleeping bags but is very comfortable. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 246408

Reply By: lenni - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:30

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:30
Clark Rubber sell a high density foam matress with a corrugated like top that is attatched to the high density foam. The are very comfortable and around $300 for a caravan queen size( I thnk this is equivelant to a normal double). We have found the high density foam to be more comfortable than many of the innerspring matresses that you can buy for campers or caravans.
Regards lenni
AnswerID: 246411

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:37

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:37
Thanks Lenni

I'm going to Adelaide next week might give Clark Rubber a go.

Cheers Scoof. :-)
FollowupID: 507300

Reply By: wbsl - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:31

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 20:31

We bought a mattress from made to measure mattresses in Queensland. I live in tassie and very good to deal with fast delivery and excellent service. Can't remember the price but not cheap nor expensive

www.madetomeasuremattresses.com.au/

Regards Wayne
AnswerID: 246412

Reply By: SimonW - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:01

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:01
Hi Scoof,
If in Melb try these guys great to deal with www.bedsdirect.com.au/camper.htm we recently purchased their inner spring PC 120mm unit $295 + $20 delivery nice quality unit.

regards Simon.
AnswerID: 246427

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:13

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:13
Simon W,

That is a good price I would off thought it would of been heaps dearer.The more reply's the better the info.Cheers

Thanks again to everyone,

Scoof. :-)
FollowupID: 507275

Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 16:18

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 16:18
Mate go to your local bed shop and they can order you a tailor made one, we just did for our van and its such a difference, we spent $300 and got a real good un, but you can spend what you like.

he let us lie on them all, as he just orders it as if its a full size and they make it small.

hope this helps

AnswerID: 247071