Not waving. Drowning!

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:29
ThreadID: 46412 Views:2096 Replies:4 FollowUps:11
I need the good oil from someone who knows how to Ozi Explore properly.

I can do these things:
Load a map, load tracks and waypoints that I've downloaded from ExplorOz and have them showing on the map.

This is what I can't do:
Save the tracks and waypoints to the map, so that I can quit OziExpl, then open it again and load the map AND HAVE THE TRACKS AND WAYPOINTS SHOWING. I've tried all sorts of saving, but when I quit and then reopen and load that map, they've all gone.

Maybe it can't be done. Maybe each time you load a map, you have to also load the tracks and waypoints - but I can't see that as being very satisfactory.

So my question is:
How do I save a map so that the tracks and waypoints I've loaded or manually added to it become part of the map and show every time it is loaded from then on?

Thanks in anticipation of words of wisdom.

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:42

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:42
#1 Have the map open
#2 Click on File then "Check calibration of map"
#3 Click "Options" on the right hand side of the screen
#4 Then Browse the files (track and/or waypoints) you want to attach to the map and save it all.

Each time you load that map, the track will be there.
AnswerID: 245517

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 01:06

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 01:06
Firstly thanks to Fizz for asking the question.

Secondly also TX Phil as I used to reload waypoints and tracks seperatly each time. Remind me to shout you a drink at Warraweena....
FollowupID: 506568

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 01:18

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 01:18
Phil mate,

Just one thing so I don't spend all weekend trying to do this. As #2 Click on File then "Check calibration of map" is not under File in Ozi CE, I guess I'm right and it can't be done in CE??

If so just means I have to do at the end of each day on the lappy..
FollowupID: 506571

Follow Up By: Grungle - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 07:42

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 07:42
Hi Blaze,

You have to do the calibration in the full desktop version of OziExplorer and then re-export the map as an OZF file. CE cannot be used to do the above method.

FollowupID: 506584

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 09:10

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 09:10
Thanks Phil,

Another thing I have learnt today.

Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 506614

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:35

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:35
Blaze, the only way that I believe may work could be:

under CE:
1. file
2. configuration
3. general settings
4. on tab 'operation' check load wp log and/or load track log which will load on start up

FollowupID: 506673

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 18:24

Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 18:24
Hey Blaze,
Just spent the weekend at Bendleby. Our group (friends from work) camped next to your mates from the Riverland 4wd Club - really nice bunch. Turns out a few of us knew Andrew G's mother through work.

But I've never used Ozi CE, so CE is a mystery to me.
Catch up at Warraweena - looking forward to it.

phil
FollowupID: 507028

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 14:31

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 14:31
Hi Phil don't think there is anyway of doing it in CE, so I will have to transfer to the Lappy and save maps that way..

Geeez "camped next to your mates from the Riverland 4wd Club - really nice bunch" ???? and you still want to catch up with us at Warraweena, I think they must have been imposters LOL Least you would have seen the imfomous Nissan from the Gawler Ranges Trip
FollowupID: 507184

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:42

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:42
Not done automatically.

However, one way that I think you could do it is to create a project under options. There is a check box for "auto load this project" which in theory should auto load any maps, tracks and waypoints etc that you have saved under the project.

If it works, and you only use on main map, it would be a good option. If you have more detailed maps that you may use for a particular are, you can just 'search for more detailed maps at this location' and use those as required.

>mike
AnswerID: 245518

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:46

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:46
yep, just tried it, saving map and wpt file as a project file works. Auto loads on opening of ozi. However I think Phil might be onto some good oil with what he's suggested.
FollowupID: 506544

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:54

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:54
Gday Mike,
I found its pretty good way to follow a previous track, and still record a new track file. Pretty obscure place to put that option - little wonder people don't know about it.
FollowupID: 506547

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:58

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:58
Yes, your right. The first I found of that area was looking at checking some calibration after I spent 20+ hours modifying some maps in mapmerge. Didnt even think to look at the options. Something I shall keep in mind for the future, however using CE in the vehicle now, the options are different (and it seems simpler).

The project manager I have been successful in using for a specific trip, especially in the planning stage.

thanks for the good advice
FollowupID: 506549

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:57

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:57
That is a neat trick, thanks Mike.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 506610

Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:58

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:58
Fizz,
I know of only one way to do it but it won't work in all situations. There probably are better solutions that I don't know about which I look forward to reading about in responses to this post - hopefully.
My method:
Load the relevant map, waypoints and tracks in to Ozi. Once this is done, in the File menu, select Save Map to Image File. There's a bit more to do such as selecting the type of image (Colour, Black and White, and Run Img2Ozf program), select Color Image. Next step is to save the file as a BMP or PNG file and save it to where you can find it again. Once the new map is generated you will need to go through the "Load and Calibrate Map Image" process in the File menu in Ozi.

This whole process wont work with large map files such as the NATMAP RASTER for example. There are ways around that but that's another story. (You export the required image from the NATMAP Raster viewer that comes with the package and export as a geotiff file which can then be imported into Ozi as a single DRG Map, already calibrated).

I hope that makes sense and good luck.

toolman
AnswerID: 245525

Reply By: Member - Fizz (NSW) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 21:32

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 21:32
Thanks heaps!!!

I just tried Phil's 4-stage routine and it worked perectly.

I'll now try to digest the other ideas that have been put up.

This site seems to be a magnet for thoroughly decent people who time and time again put themselves out to help other members. It is a great privilege to be a member of ExplorOz.

I hope I'll meet some of you out along the Oodnadatta, Painted desert, Anne Beadell, Connie Sue, Gunbarrell, Simpson in Jul, Aug. - White Troopy and brand new silver Terracan - will be on Ch 10.

Graham
AnswerID: 245703