One month to the National Exploroz Gathering

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 14:57
ThreadID: 46391 Views:2391 Replies:5 FollowUps:23
Just a reminder that there is one month left to make up your minds and organise your lives to come to National ExplorOz Gathering at Warraweena, Flinders Ranges, South Australia

PROGRAM
Wednesday 04/07/07: George (NT) and I arrive to organise some signs and firewood etc.

Thursday 05/07/07: Early arrivals.

We are camping at Lambing Camp about 1.5km from Homestead. Follow the signs.

Friday 06/07/07: 9-10am
Track Drives, depending on which track you are driving
Trip Leader available

Friday 6pm onwards
Campfire Get-together

Saturday 07/07/07: 9-10am
Track Drives, depending on which track you are driving
Trip Leader available

Saturday 6pm:
Sausage Sizzle and soft drinks at Homestead.

Saturday 7pm till late:
Bush Dance: Band ‘The Presidents Men’ R&B and C&W, 60’s 70’s 80’s . This is a Fundraiser for Rural Education Projects. A donation appreciated (44 gallon drum set aside), and bring a spare beer for the Band!

Sunday 9-10am:
Track Drives, depending on which track your are driving
Trip Leader available

Sunday 8pm
Campfire Get-together and Campfire Yarns by Noel Fullerton and Uncle Milton

Monday
Break Camp or stay longer

Email me or Members Message.

So far we have a confirmed 43 vehicles, and 105 souls attending.

See you there!!

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 15:09

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 15:09
We'll be there thursday Willem we are staying 3 nights friday, sat, sun, if you need a hand with anything just let us know.

AnswerID: 245402

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 01:16

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 01:16
Hey Baz,

Is there something wrong with my maths or aren't you staying Thursday night as well?:-)))

FollowupID: 506569

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:36

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:36
Maybe ;-))
FollowupID: 506603

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 15:37

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 15:37
With the large number of people coming, can I suggest that we all wear a name badge with our screen name and real name if you want as I for one will have great difficulty in remembering all these new names.
Looking forward to seeing you all there.

Des

AnswerID: 245405

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 16:13

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 16:13
Gee, not sure that I should go now. Meeting all these extra people !!!

Sounds GREAT. Now all i have to do is get the new truck ready.
See you all there
Vince
FollowupID: 506435

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:03

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:03
Hey DES,
theres no fun in wearing name badges!! Anyway you know who we are !!
P.S Guess who could'nt get the 'troll' working this morning?

'nette'
FollowupID: 506445

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:18

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:18
Netty, thanks for that bit of information about the troll. Hopefully Pesty will read this and help the problem along.
I had a similar problem last Sunday but a new battery after 4 1/2 years solved that one. LOL
I won't forget your name that's for sure but I can't say the same about Roachie LOL
FollowupID: 506448

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:46

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:46
I got the name on my shirt covered

FollowupID: 506452

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 18:00

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 18:00
Des, don't believe everything you read on the internet mate........

Troll is fine. No worries. There are no photos of me pushing it down the driveway; so it mustn't have happened!!! Right? .....Right!!

My YP 4WD Club shirts have my name on them, so that is what I will wear (and I have a name badge that I can refer to as well, just in case I have a jumper or jacket on at the same time that I forget who I am.....)

If I _do_ happen to forget my name, I'm sure you or Nette or Pesty or somebody will remind me who I am. ;-))
FollowupID: 506458

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 21:26

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 21:26
Redback, I have the same name on my shirts.... so how will that work :-) actually I can guarantee I will not be wearing my work shirts, maybe some Redback stickers though..

Des I thought you were gunna try going incognito

FollowupID: 506510

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 21:29

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 21:29
Hey Roachie, after your post the other day about people blanking out their number plates, maybe we could have name tags like Des says but blur the writting ....hehehe
FollowupID: 506515

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:30

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:30
I like that idea mr lexic
Most people's screen names bear little resemblence to their real names, it is a bit hard to get your head around at times.......
NickR
Yep, my name's Nick.......
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 506538

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:30

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:30
Nette

Thanks for that T-bit.

I'll get the details off you 2morrow (for sure)

Can just see it now - B u g g e r! why did I tell Lucy on the phone that I check started that sucker 3 times since the 'mishap' and it started all 3 of them.

Please god let me get it fixed before Willie's soiree so I don't have to drive there in a reted LC 105 and then have to ride as a passenger in that Magnificent Troopy he has got .
FollowupID: 506539

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:35

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:35
Blaze, I was suggesting that everyone else wears their name badge for my benefit. My name badge will simply say "Bill" or "Glen" or something like that.
FollowupID: 506541

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:42

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:42
Can I also suggest to put what you are camped in, on this badge, cause if you end up like me most times, you will need help in getting home hehehehe. OH I have a sore head thinking about it.

See you all there.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 507357

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:52

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:52
Sounds fantastic!

unfortunately due to Al's work commitment in WA we can't come :(
AnswerID: 245430

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:07

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:07
Suffer!
FollowupID: 506528

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:29

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:29
Name tags. hmmmmm one may not want to be named and shamed if things go pear shaped LOL ......... might have a day one and a night name tag just in case now how do I hide my vehicle :) not easy to hide a rodeo in a sea of nissens, jeeps and crusiers.

Looking forward to it ......... coin donation to the RFDS I better take heaps of coin if you using a 44 gallon drum LOL. At this stage I think Trevor and I are rolling in Friday.

Sounds like a great turn out 100 odd people. Are there many staying Monday night?

AnswerID: 245469

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:32

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:32
Quote: "100 odd people"............. Mate, I hope you're referring to YOURSELF when you used the word "ODD"............... either that, or you meant all those damn yota drivers I spose??!!! hahaha
FollowupID: 506490

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:53

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:53
LOL good point ........ ODD hmmmm from what i have gleaned over time, my judgement on "ODD" will have to wait till after 070707, a date i'm sure will be set in history for some LOL

As for Yota drivers I'm not going there, as thier a league of extrordinary owners in thier own right, as all others try to aspire to thier lofty heights, except Rodeo drivers whom are so far in front we simple let all the other fight over 2nd and 3rd place ROFL

Baits the hook

FollowupID: 506499

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 21:16

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 21:16

Yes I think there will be a few staying for Monday night. I will be there. Probably leave Tuesday morn, heading north.

FollowupID: 506506

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:50

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:50
Hi Brian,

Maybe we should all wear "Pesty" badges. This way if it all goes pear shaped for any of us, he will get the flack.
Also Ross H and Leigh, should be accompanying us down the track and help us find our way to this swarray on Fri night.
I am off on the road again soon so if you need me can you call me on the mobile. Make sure we touch base again before you leave as I would like to assign a UHF chanel for easier contact when we do catch up in B/ville. Hope to camp with you and Ross at base of Big Red or nearby on the Wed night prior to Gathering.

Cheers mate.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 507359

Reply By: Andrew from 4wheelingOZ Magazine - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 21:01

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 21:01
I'll take a couple of those RDO things that keep clocking up on my payslip and drive up on Thursday night. Need any more trip leaders?
AnswerID: 245484

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 21:13

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 21:13
Hey mate

I was wondering where you had got to. So you are coming!..Gr8.. Bringing the family?

TRiplleaders.......Well, I have Roachie and Phil G....and you!!

Some of the other big noises can follow this time...LOL

FollowupID: 506503

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:18

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:18
Oi! Willem

I have booked a permanent spot on Roachies group and will follow my 'dear leader' to where ever he induces, produces a self emabrrasing moment that needs to be recorded for the evening campfire 'bagging session'.

I hereby swear by almighty god that the story I relate will be the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. (Oooo! that sends a shiver down my spine) However I will not be holding a bible in my right hand when I swear same (LOL)

Yes! Roachie it will be colourfully embellished and you will be roasted like you have never been roasted before, especially if I can get that 'thing' you drive on the end of a rope behind the Troopy.

No! Hari Kari is not an option either.

(ROFLMAO)

PS

Hmmmmmmmmmm! the potty chevvy wouldn't start again eh!. The offer to go 50/50 in the hire of a LC for the soiree still stands. Also the offer to do your 'leadership' thing as my navvy in the Troopy.

There is still time to accept these marvellous offers.
FollowupID: 506533

Follow Up By: Andrew from 4wheelingOZ Magazine - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 23:11

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 23:11
I think I might leave the family home from thi one - good chance to run amok. :-))
The week after Warraweena we're taking the new FullySikTaxi to Canberra for some kulcha and sightseeing so Im still a good parent. Honest.....
FollowupID: 506551

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:28

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:28
Lucky, (that's Lucy with a Special K)..........The only reason the Chev will be behind the droopy at the end of a tow rope is when I have to use the superior engine-braking capacity of the V8 from hell with the crawler gears, to assist lower your bucket of bolts down some impossibly-steep mountain cos ya brakes have fried &/or you've lost compression on all 6 of those pea-sized cylinders of yours!!!!!

Oh, I am sooooooooooo looking forward to this trip.

The last time we did a trip together, Lucky wasn't able to come along on any of the day outings that involved a modicum of gravel road driving......too frightened of getting some dust on the droopy. He used the excuse that he had a "meeting" scheduled with a certain vendoress of honey icecream (which necessitated a 120klm round trip to the honey farm). On another occasion he used the excuse that he wanted to polish the wire rope on his winch. I don't know why he was worried, we didn't actually have to drive through, or even NEAR any water crossings. (I'm guessing THAT was the real reason he wouldn't come along with the rest of us..... as we all know from what the Member for Terang has told us in the past, that the droopy has an aversion to anything even remotely resembling H2O. At the first sign of any water, the dash board of that droop-mobile lights-up like a Xmas tree. hahahahaha

Bring it on!!!! hahahaha
FollowupID: 506600

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:50

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:50
Roachie.

What is this 'ice cream' thing you and Brew keep waffling on a bout. I do think you both have been touched by the 'nissan sun'

Winch rope - well that Am-steel blue is highly polished (LOL)

H2O issue - yep! but I fixed that sucker by getting out there and doing it, not like yourself, pushing the Chevvy up and down the driveway muttering under your breath - start you b a s t u r d start, cause Lucy is going to be here soon and I can't stand the shame of it all.

By the way how is the Glendambo trip looking (Ooops! shouldn't have mentioned that - ROFLMAO)
FollowupID: 506608