What's so precious about a number plate?

Submitted: Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 16:51
ThreadID: 46268 Views:3834 Replies:34 FollowUps:46
I often wonder why people who post a photo of their rig on this forum (or others), sometimes blank-out their number plate? Are they afraid somebody will do something with that number? Do they drive their vehicle on the road with the number plate obscured in case those same people (the ones they're worried about) might see their rig "in the flesh" and do something nasty with the number?

There may be a valid reason for this....if so it eludes me and I'd love to hear it from someone on here.

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 16:59

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 16:59
There are Agents provocateur out there, people just like me who if they get frustrated in traffic, or see someone driving in a dangerous or negligent manner, do the right thing and dob in the richard head who frustrated them. If they have, like me a "senior moment" and just blurt out the first rego number they think of.... well you get the drift....
AnswerID: 244672

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:00

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:00
It alludes me too, Bill.

Saying that, I blanked out my numberplate on one of my rig pics a while ago. Found that I could actually do that with my photoshop stuff...hahahaha

Maybe its because someone might write the number doen and then make a dodgy one up and commit crimes in the name of???....who knows :-)

AnswerID: 244674

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:03

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:03
Maybe they do because they can

Perhaps it's not their vehicle

Maybe they owe someone money

Perhaps they feel authorites might identify their vehicle and their whereabouts

Guilt complex

Identity crisis

Estranged wife or partner

Messy separation/divorce

In arrears with re-payments on their loans

I don't know, I give up. Does it really matter.
AnswerID: 244676

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:06

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:06
They're paranoid about their insurance company finding out about tehir 35" tyres.
AnswerID: 244677

Reply By: MikeyS - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:10

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:10
Maybe they don't want people to know the history of the vehicle when they come to sell it. Too many posts about the insurance claims, or the number of times the truck has done the Canning in reverse might drop the value.
AnswerID: 244679

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:11

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:11
Some people, while showing off their vehicle to others (via this forum, or whatever) may want to still have a little anonimety, amemnitie, er, not be identifiable by a number plate.

Hell, with the threats I've received on this forum, I'm glad my rego or address isn't listed for all to see.

Anonymous!
AnswerID: 244682

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:29

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:29
You attract threats, Muzzgit?
Lucky bugger. All I get are condolences.
Ahh well. At least being over the hill suggests a down hill slide/capside.

Unanamous Jeff.

ps. the radio News just repeated that the two Lads dropped in '65 in SVN are coming home. Am happy for Family and mates, eh.
Full marks to their Mates for making it happen, and heaps of Bleep on the govt. for being slack-arsed, big-mouthed self-important "do nothings".

And that's not just the present , er (shall we say forgetfull) mob.
All the bloody same, eh.
Why don't the pricks who hate each other/fear each other/lust after others perceived possessions, not simply rip their shirts off and beat each other to a pulp?

LEAVE THE BLOODY KIDS ALONE, YOU UNSPEAKABLE #@!(*&^S
OR IF YOU CAN'T, THEN LOOK AFTER THEM OR THEIR WIDOWS AFTER THE DUST THAT you STIRRED UP HAS SETTLED. i stop. teach.
FollowupID: 505847

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:11

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:11
Maybe they are wooried about some low life liking the look of the vehicle, or accessories, tracking the address of the vehicle through the number plate, and paying a visit for some freebies?
AnswerID: 244683

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:07

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:07
That's one of the reasons I thought somebody might suggest. If this was the case, that person would one of the ones I mentioned who would be too scared to go out for a sunday drive. They'd be afraid somebody might tail them back home and pinch all their gear or even their whole rig.

However, say I wanted to knock your stuff off, even if I could see your number plate on here (ie: if your rig pic showed your number plate), I still wouldn't know your name or your whereabouts in the world. So, unless I worked for the Dept of Motor Vehicles/Registry etc (or ASIO), I would have no way of tracking you down anyway.

So, I'm still confused. I must admit to having been quite open about where I live and if anybody wanted to check up on White Pages on-line, they'd find my phone number and street address....I'm still not worried, cos I own a Patrol and not a toyota....so nobody is gunna bother trying to pinch anything off me anyway. hahahaha
FollowupID: 505704

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:12

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:12
Embarrassed cause its only a 2.4 instead of a 4.2 ....................
AnswerID: 244684

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:13

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:13
If I have your number plate, there's a good chance that I can trace where you live. And, just supposing that some low life (we'll call him midnight spares) is scanning your rig pix and details, he could have a virtual supermarket of 4wd accessories and vehicles available for him/her.
Pretty far fetched ?
Thieves have jobs too....stealing your stuff !
AnswerID: 244685

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:20

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:20
"Thieves have jobs too....stealing your stuff !"

And they work bloody hard at it too.
FollowupID: 505691

Follow Up By: GeoffMc - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:16

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:16
"If I have your number plate, there's a good chance that I can trace where you live."

Providing you don't work for the Dept of Transport in my state, or a police officer .... could you give me a brief rundown on how you're going to go about tracing where I live from my number plate. I hear about this all the time and am very interested in how it actually works.

Cheers ..... Geoff
FollowupID: 505730

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:33

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:33
I think it is covered further down this thread with spiteful people dobbing in modded vehicles to the RTA and then copping an inspection letter - why put yourself through the grief.

It used to be common practice in Vic a few years ago that if involved in a minor accident you could attend Vicroads and pay the required amount ($5) to obtain the details of the registered owner that you collided with. The $5 fee was to stop unscrupulous people from obtaining your details unlawfully (???) - no inspection or report required.

It's now out the door with the 'new' privacy laws - about the only 'good' thing they did...
FollowupID: 505745

Follow Up By: GeoffMc - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:47

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:47
Tim, that may have been the case "a few years ago", but it doesn't answer my question to Footloose on how he's going to go about tracing where I live from my number plate.

FollowupID: 505753

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:02

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:02

Would you believe lots of spare time and Google Earth......LOL
FollowupID: 505757

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:10

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:10
Hi Geoff, about the only way is if you know some one that works for the RTA or police. I have 3 police personnel in my family. 1 uncle, two cousins, give me your number plate and bet I could tell you where you live with in 24 hours. Had a bloke that ran up my ar#e a few years back and did a runner but was lucky enough to get number plate, he was very surprised when I turned up at his door step in Werrington NSW took some pics of his car and one of him when he opened the door. Gave him a choice of giving me his details or I stood there and rang the cops straight away and get him charged for leaving the scene of an accident. He payed up the next day $500 for damage. Dont blame some people for hiding there number plates especially for all to see on a web site. Thats why a lot of people at 4wd shows and events cover there plates as you are not insured if participating in events hence cover the plate incase they damage some thing then put a claim in down the track. You could imagine the investigators with there digi cameras snapping away waiting for some body to make a shonky claim. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 505761

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:10

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:10
>how he's going to go about tracing where I live from my number plate.

$100 will do it.
FollowupID: 505762

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:32

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:32
The same way the cops do when they pull you up and check out your details UNLESS you have the vehicle registered in company name and the company is not your home address. I have also heard it many a times on the scanner when there doing a check on some one. Now (due to privacy laws) the police must have a reason for looking up your details but hey not hard if your sitting in the wright seat. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 505778

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 00:57

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 00:57
Geoff, the answer to that is an emphatic NO.
FollowupID: 505878

Follow Up By: ross - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:11

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:11
If anyone gives out private information from government computers they are putting their head in a noose.
Its also not hard to narrow it down to who did it,as every keystroke in police computers is traceable.
And who is going to give out details to a car thief??

I never bother hiding my plate details. Anyone who does is irrational .
If a thief wants some big tyres and a chrome bullbar ,he only has to wander around a suburban shopping centre and follow you home.
FollowupID: 505880

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:28

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:28
Ross, you are correct up to a point. There are ways around that, some deceptively simple.
And we are not necessarily talking thrives of opportunity, there's a thriving midnight spares network or two out there.
Lets say I put in my order for an 80 litre Waeco fridge, and a Garmin GPS. Now just following you home might not get the goodies, especially if you have a guard dog and nosey neighbours.
So our thief is going to the house that has the goodies, and watch the movements at that residence. Might take a week or three, but your GPS and fridge are gone, and perhaps also your re birthed 4wd.
FollowupID: 505881

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 07:36

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 07:36
"private information from government computers"

LOL do you think this information is only available on government computers ? Think insurance companies, motoring organizations, etc etc etc
FollowupID: 505896

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:22

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:22
Gramps Im well aware this info is on many computer systems but he would have to be a clever thief to know which ones and have an insider there to give him the info.
If a thief was that clever he would have worked out where you live on his own.LOL

There has been a handfull of car thefts related to information leaks but they are in a minority so small its barely worth thinking about.
FollowupID: 506208

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:32

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:32
I don't get it either.

Suspect galloping paranoia.

Actually I think they see it on the news and then believe everyone should do it.
Even though on the news it was some murderer or child molester or con man etc etc.

AnswerID: 244693

Reply By: Blaze - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:48

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:48
Geez do I ever agree Roachie, I have even seen someone on here block out their expensive personalised plates, now is that an oximoron or what. Why would you have those plates then not want anyone to notice them, it would be like painting your rig bright yellow and haveing a cover that slips over it even when you are driving.

Having said that I guess it takes all types, I also know someone from Berri with a Yota that doesn't even have any pics of his rig on the site, but then again he could be ashamed LOL
AnswerID: 244697

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:17

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:17
Could be that he can't be stuffed doing it or not wanting to embaress you with showing off his goodies. LOL
Maybe he needs computor lessons on downsizing pictures.
In the past, I've sent piccies to my lovely friend Mrs Al and she did it for me. LOL
FollowupID: 505794

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:59

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:59
So, I am compelled to ask, why do you post as "Roachie" and not as:

William Smith
42 Blackburn Road
Tel 08 1234 1234
etc?

I suspect, as time moves on, we'll all need to learn to become much more anonymous on the internet.

AnswerID: 244702

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:27

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:27
I post as "Roachie", cos that what both of my friends call me. I don't think it's too much of a secret that my name is Bill Roach and you wouldn't have to be Sherlock Homes to find out my phone number or addy just by looking at White Pages on line.

I try not to be paranoid. I don't see how advertising my number plate is gunna make it any easier for someone to find me.

At work (NAB) we are under threat of having our knackers cut-out if we should happen to leave a client's tax file number on their file (which is, in itself, a confidential document.....the only outside authority who could look at it would be the tax dept or the police). I have never been able to work that one out either. Hell, if anybody wants to know my TFN, just let me know......they'd be more than welcome to it......the only thing I can see that they would be able to do with it is PAY MY TAX FOR ME!!!! (after all, the only other possibility would be if they phoned the ATO, quoted my number and asked that the ATO send them some money.....yeh, that'd work, eh!!!!!?????).

Similarly, some businesses are still reluctant to quote their bank account details on Invoices they send out to their clients. Hell, everytime they issue a cheque they're giving out those "vital" details.

I just think people are getting a bit precious these days.
FollowupID: 505709

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:37

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:37
Roachie, some transactions require your TFN . Some require your drivers license. I've been the subject of identitiy theft (many times if you confuse me with those fellas who don't play with a round ball :)). Seriously, identity theft is rife and until you become aware of it, usually well after the theft, it's expensive and there's often not a lot you can do about it.
PS My real name is Biill Roach too ! Now, all I need is your address and all my bills can come to you :))))))))))))
FollowupID: 505715

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:26

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:26
Strewth, I even had some bloke impersonating ME on the TV show called "Missing Persons" a few months back. Fair dinkum....there is a missing bloke by the name of Bill Roach.!!!! hahaha
FollowupID: 505738

Follow Up By: obee - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:38

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:38
Never let your tax file number out or you may find yourself paying someone elses taxes until you can explain to the tax gestapo that you are the victim of identity theft.

Owen
FollowupID: 505748

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:03

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:03
My real name is Bill Roach too and TFN is 761 122 G98. Please send me money

FollowupID: 505833

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:30

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:30
Now this post has gone off on another tangent, Do any of these scribes above use a credit card to purchase items. If so this is by far an easier way to gain identity theft that someones Rego number.

I'm with you Roachie, you would have to park the vehicle, never use your credit card either over the internet or at a business anywhere and sit and watch the idiot box for the rest of your life... Ooooops now you will make mega bucks from work, have nothing to spend it on so now you are a prime target for a robbery.

Lets face it guys, why would anyone want to pinch the identity of a fourby owner, they would know we don't have any extra money left after buying all our toys.
FollowupID: 505849

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:53

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:53
i had an uncle Bill Roach....he always told aunt he was going to come back and haunt her........so are all you lot dead too?....
FollowupID: 505998

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:16

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:16
Membar number Oooh no;
only parts of me
FollowupID: 506008

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:45

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:45
Only from the neck up MN1

FollowupID: 506071

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:49

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:49
Oooh Fonz , so cruel. And I thought you were a ....hang on...thats EXACTLY what I thought LOL
FollowupID: 506073

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:57

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:57
I was referring to myself Footy

FollowupID: 506079

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:01

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:01
Bonz..you ? Dead from the neck up ? Naaah. Compared to some here you're an Einstien :)))
FollowupID: 506082

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:21

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:21
awwwwwwwwww

FollowupID: 506093

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:37

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:37
yeh mate ya got a point, got me stuffed as to why they do that

AnswerID: 244709

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:41

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:41
Mr Scrubby once dobbed in a lifted fourby with big wheels by getting its rego from a photo. He claimed it was illegally modified. Put the owner through hell. Article was in 4WD Monthly.
AnswerID: 244711

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:29

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:29
Good point mate.......
FollowupID: 505742

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:24

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:24
Wouldn't we all like to meet Mr Scrubby in an alley on a dark night..........baseball bats anyone?
FollowupID: 505801

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:54

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:54
Benny, I know for a fact that his wife can't park his Forrester ! I shouldn't say this but she may need a bull bar on her rear end :))

I have offered to take him to Charleville at night , riding on the front of my bull bar so that he can be close to the action.
I didn't offer to bring him home :)
FollowupID: 506076

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:14

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:14
Maybe we could dob Scrubby in to the EPA or where-ever, saying that his forrester is blowing smoke. Get HIM put off the road for a while......hahahaha
FollowupID: 506089

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:12

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:12
I know Roachie....witness protection programme......lol

Cheers.......Dave
AnswerID: 244715

Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:21

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:21
It has happened on other forums where some lowlife heard of a mod...ie lifted suspension more than 2 inches and reported the vehicle to the RTA/DPI/VicRoads etc and the vehicle was ordered for an inspection.

The said individual just reported the rego number and that was enough for 'wobbly wheels' to stalk their prey!!!

Now we dont condone vehicles that contravine ADR's but we also know how carelessly they can be policed...usually upto the interpretation of the infringment issuing officer and how his/her day is going....even if the vehicle was a menace on the road we have enforcement agents out there for that purpose. This sets a worrying precedence for people to 'dob' in anyone they dont like...whether they are guilty or not!

I say make sure your vehicle doesnt contravine ADRs but also blank the numberplate...you never know who you might cut off on the road or cyber space!!

AnswerID: 244720

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:28

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:28
Cheers mate....that's the best one I've read so far. I think you're onto something.
FollowupID: 505741

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:18

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:18
The same process was being used in Perth through some of the clubs (which ones I dont know, it was reported back via a WAFWDA meeting) by CALM/ DECheads. they were prosecuting people for illegal offroad activities and the such based on pictures that had been posted on websites and forums etc.

I certainly dont advocate illegal 4wding (although I could probably be held accountable once or twice myself for doing something I shouldnt), but I could see how it would be easy to confuse someones act as something it was not i.e. not in a illegal area. I mean, most pine trees look the same to me...
FollowupID: 505768

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:24

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:24
Geeees Roachie ,, i'm glad you got that cleared up , will have to go and check my pics , i think their might be one there i might have to change ,, thanks for that !!

All the best , Neil ..

AnswerID: 244723

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:48

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:48
Yep, I would be shocked if anyone knew my plate. I couldn't sleep at night.

AnswerID: 244726

Reply By: goldiedingdangdo - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:58

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:58
Hi Bill,
Maybe its conscientious members trying to protect the kids from sitting in front of the computer trying to spell out the number plate "DILLIFAF" Do I Look Like I Get Away Fridays, whilst mums peeling the veggies for tea.
By the way hows the family and rig going.

Ian Goldsmith
AnswerID: 244730

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:04

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:04
G'day mate,

Thanks, we're all keeping well mate.........

Yeh, thanks for your ideas........I reckon I've been edumacated a bit tonight. I must admit, the original post was more of a stir....I was bored at work cos a crucial 'puter program we use had been "down" all day. Even Annette said "you must have been bored to write such a useless post!!!"....hahaha

Are you still at "the Bay"?
FollowupID: 505758

Follow Up By: goldiedingdangdo - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:26

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:26
Yeh Bill,
Working for Alvannex 200m down the road from the old Ult factory, now driving a Hilux (Yota) but plenty of country to cover.
Drop us a line sometime goldie@primusonline.com.au
And its cold here so posting a stupid reply to a stupid question at least keeps the circulation going (may also be a good idea to take up Alisons offer) bye Hahaha.

FollowupID: 505776

Reply By: Wazza - (Vic) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:02

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:02
I dunno either, but an example I could think of:

You really annoy me with something you say on a forum, etc. I go online to EPA website and register your Patrol as a smoky or noisy vehicle or say that I saw you littering. Now that would really annoy you as you would have to get your vehicle tested or prove (Stat Dec) it was not smoky, noisy or you are not a litter bug.

EPA asks me to register my details before I am allowed to report it, but I could just make them up.

But we are all nice guys here, so that will all never happen.

Wazza.
AnswerID: 244733

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:09

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:09
Yeh I guess you could be right Wazza; but nothing you have said wouldn't apply to "LIVE" situations too.

EG: I might "steal" a carparking space that you were trying to get into, or I might have cut you off at a Give Way sign etc (the possibilities are endless). Same deal....you could make several calls to police or EPA or whatever. But the only way I could avoid such occurences would be to drive around with my number plates obscured.

I guess the internet provides a wider base of possible assailents , eh??
FollowupID: 505760

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:14

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:14
Aye, true. It is more likely people on the road would to do such a thing.
FollowupID: 505765

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 00:03

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 00:03
Hey Roachie, I was feeling a little worried about coming to Warraweena after all this discussion, with a heap of the people who visit this website being there, but I believe I have solved the problem.
I got a set of plates made for my vehicle with the number WRX 259, so now I have no worries who see's me or what I do. :-)

Sorry mate I just had to do it LOL
FollowupID: 506125

Reply By: fergus - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:11

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:11
Maybe someone (midnight spares) sees your post on a forum and then sees your 4BY driving around so he decides to follow you to see where you live? Then he sees on forum that you are going away for a weekend. Taking the whole tribe with you.
How cool is that No one home for the weekend..........
Just a thought
Farma
AnswerID: 244735

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:25

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:25
Fergus reason above would also be my reason Bill.... someone knowing they had the house for a long weekend or something..... a long shot, but why make it easy!!

AnswerID: 244739

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:13

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:13
Guys...one thing is for sure, there are some low life scum out there who make viruses for a job.....it blows me away when i think of who must be paying them for the hard work they do.....they sit around thinking of ways to screw money out of you .... if i were screwby, id be ringing the EPA on all the 4wd number plates i could find...saying they were blowing white smoke....3 calls on any vehicle and they send out a fine, with a defect notice to show up for a test....beat that....proof is the ownus of the owner....
AnswerID: 244759

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:47

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:47
G'day Bill,

Can't really work it out myself either although a guy I used to know who was with QLD Transport said one thing that still to this day happens here in QLD is that people see a vehicle they don't like the look of, say for instance a heavily modified 4x4 or a young guy in a lowered machine and they go to the transport website and dob them in for being an allegedly smoky vehicle. In QLD you can do this anonomously. This in turn can register with a follow up visit by the authorities and even though when they arrive and the vehicle isn't smoky, they still put it through a machinery due to the mods it has.

Plus I think it is just because a lot of people are spooked about privacy and identity theft and when you think of some of the absolutely cunning methods these folk use then I can understand why some people feel this way.

Each to their own I guess.
AnswerID: 244770

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:56

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:56
What do you mean Bill?

AnswerID: 244774

Reply By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:01

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:01
Some years ago I had a letter from department of transport saying that somebody had reported my car (a Telstar) for excessive smoke. If they received another report I had to take it in for testing.

Now I thought this was strange, since it didn't blow smoke. I checked the date/time they said it was sighted and at that time a friend had borrowed my car. So I asked them if anything strange happened. "Funny you mention that" they said. It turns out that they had cut somebody off that day and had been given a bit of a horn blast and hand signs etc. I assume that the offended car had reported my numberplate for smoke out of spite.

I've read on another 4wd forum where somebody was reported for having an "unroadworthy" (too lifted, tyres too big, whatever) car using the numberplate details from a photo.

Now I try keep my car legal. But if I were to go over the pits, I'm sure they'd find something. It is a time, expense and hassle I don't want to endure. There are also people who _don't_ like 4wds and some of those feel morally obligated to crusade as much as possible against them. That's their right but I'd rather they pick on somebody else.

So my numberplate is blank. Of course, I've only had to edit that on one picture. I'd hate to do it to lots of them.

-geoff
AnswerID: 244775

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 23:36

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 23:36
dude, its the bleep ing Internet, thats why.

go ask the bleep who stole my eBay account about 5 weeks ago
AnswerID: 244789

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:30

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:30
Ebay accounts are easy to steal. Mine's been done 3 times. Just answer an email that looks ridgy didge but isn't. Bingo !
Best trick is to ignore all emails and check for messages through My Ebay.
FollowupID: 505882

Reply By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:03

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:03
Can ya see mine
AnswerID: 244798

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:34

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:34
Plain and clear.......... How many Tojo's have you recovered?????????????????

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 505885

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 09:48

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 09:48
G'day Roachie,

Don't know if you can remember "Wensel" on this forum a year or two ago now. This was the yank who was trying to remain anonymous in some shady diff dealing. In the end the forum (some US based 4X4) knew his whole life including where he went to school, what he had for brekky and finished it off with a aerial shot of his house as well as a personal piccy. My point is, it didn't start with a rego plate just a jerk with attitude.

Unlikely to have something like that happen to you mate.

AnswerID: 244839

Reply By: lc_120man - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:37

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:37
Roachie,

Check this out: www.ratetheplate.com.au/

P.S. I don't know what the big deal with blanking number plates anyway ;)

Stan
AnswerID: 244854

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 12:51

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 12:51
What an interesting web site. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 505959

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 13:10

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 13:10
Because when you travel the YP area you never know who will come looking for you Lol!
AnswerID: 244879

Reply By: Member - TasGareth (TAS) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:28

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:28
I was taught to be cautious epsecially on the internet.
You just don't know.
AnswerID: 244925

Reply By: flappa - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 14:15

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 14:15
Personally , I dont get too worried about it however , several matters that I'm aware of:

Scruby was one. Took exception to a Bloke with a 4wd and reported him. Had to front up and get his 4wd inspected.

Another was a group of guys on a private property having fun. Were reported and had to spend a lot of time explaining their actions , even though it was Private Property.

Not specifically 4wd , but , I know a lot of Car Clubs blank out plates because of their Track Days , and the Insurance problems. I'm sure there would be a number of 4wd guys that do events that would do the same. I know one guy that had a hell of a time getting through an Insurance Claim, because of a Track Day.
AnswerID: 245134

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 14:30

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 14:30
Boy, if someone wants to track down the Heritage Listed Paj to steal it, just MM me and I will post out my address and spare keys!

Just kidding, but it does not worry me. Plenty of people see my plates as I drive around.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 245136

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 14:57

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 14:57
Pete, its not about driving around.

Example ,

Raving Left field anti 4wd Greenie.

Black 1990 Pajero with number plates XXX111 seen doing donuts in Cockle Creek Campground.

Shoot that off the Nat Parks.

Sounds like a creditable witness doesn't it , as they have a piccie of your vehicle , with a heck of a description.

Would you think Nat Parks would look into it ?
FollowupID: 506230

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 18:26

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 18:26
Nope, still not worried.

I have the original unedited photo with embedded exif data showing the actual date and time the shot was taken.

Anyway if they had a camera why take a photo of the vehicle parked, why not take one of me actually damaging the environment.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 506272

Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 09:01

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 09:01
I wouldn't send the photo , just the details.

Anyway , doesn't matter , you are comfortable with your position , thats fine.

Was just showing how easy it COULD be to misuse.
FollowupID: 506366