Tent safety whilst camping ?
Submitted: Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 17:55
Portley
Been contemplating a trip around Australia in our offroad camper trailer with our
young bub and wandering if people have had any security or safety issues with using a camper trailer or tent ?
As we will be travelling alone we dont want to put the
young ones safety at risk, any reason why we should be concerned ???????
Friends of ours recently recommended taking a rifle due to some horror stories relating to peoples safety when either
bush camping or camping in caravan parks
Are we being paranoid or would you seasoned tent travellers agree ???
Any safety precaustions, methods that could be recommended also appreciated ?
Thanks for your time
Reply By: jeffwa - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 18:16
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 18:16
Hmmm, if I felt that I needed a rifle for saftey in a caravan park... I reckon I'd find another caravan park! LOL
Personally, we generally
bush camp and generally a long way away from anyone. But even then you still get the occasional mountain bike rider or bush walker come by. We've never had a problem and we
camp a alot. There probabally are
places around the joint that would not be as safe, but common sense will prevail IMHO. If the area is busy or does not feel right, ensure anything of value is locked in the vehicle at night time. As far as the kids are concerned, out 9 year old stays in his own tent a lot of the time and has done for a few years now.
Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 18:17
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 18:17
Portley, In certain large towns, thieves are opportunistic - watch caravan parks for when you leave the tent/camper unattended and get in quick to take easy pickings such as cameras, phones and cash. I have heard this type of crime second hand and have not experienced this myself, but my travels have been limited mainly to the southern parts of Australia and WA, and we tend to avoid civilisation whenever possible. With a wind-up camper, we were aware that it was not at all burglar proof when opened up, but never had a problem (WA only).
I have reservations about taking a fire arm. What would you do if challenged? He may know that if you shoot - you go to jail. If he is unarmed, shooting is more than reasonable force to defend yourself. Laws are different in each state, and you would be breaching most of them, unless you carry it in a approved secure place under lock and key in your vehicle, meeting the laws of each state.
Many people travel this great land with canvas campers, as
well as with their tiny tots, and we don't hear of many problems. Have faith and enjoy your travels.
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 18:24
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 18:24
We have really only just started getting back into it in the last year or so (4yr old & 2.5yr old) as the kids are now of a good age for long trips away. Have stayed a lot in caravan parks up to date but that will change.
Haven't ever really come across any trouble at all even back when it was just the two of us. I guess
places with a high indigenous
population where there are problems to start with or big cities (like
Sydney) would be where you would probably exercise most caution.
We're pretty diligent with camper security - ie locks on everything particularly where the gear is stored and always make sure we lock up or close up when away from the
campsite weather it's in a caravan park or the bush, but in regards to the tent that is always unlocked. However it only houses the bedding which is of value but not a be all end all should it be stolen, rather that than someone putting a big slit through the canvas. Even so the small locks on the rest of the camper (jerries, doors etc) are mainly to keep honest thieves at bay.
So far the worst we've experienced was getting the rego sticker stolen at a maccas car park, so now we'll be keeping it on the inside.
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 18:38
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 18:38
I have travelled all over this country over 38 years and have never had a problem.
There are thieves and opportunistic baddies around everywhere. Basically you have to be safety and security concious. Don't leave cameras, laptops, phones etc lying around in the vehicle. If camping on the side of the road/highway make sure you get as far as possible from it. Lock every time you leave the van in a Caravan Park and lock your vehicle as
well. Don't leave fridges and other valuable in your annexe and go out for the day.
If you take a rifle with you( presuming you are licenced) then you may get yourself into deep trouble if you start waving it around. There is also the possibilty of accidental discharge and you may ruin your life doing something you had no intention of doing.
There is a bit of paranoia out there. Friends who suggest rifles, are not worthy friends.
Go out there, be positive at all times, and enjoy your journey.
Follow Up By: AdlelaideGeorge - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:52
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:52
I've never read that: "Friends who suggest rifles, are not worthy friends." before as a response to whether Australians should start arming themselves - but how right you are Willem!...........how right you are.
Happy days
George
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:14
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:14
I agree with Willem 100%.
Travelled extensively without trouble, A sure way to attract trouble is to carry a weapon you may not know how to( A use or B handle).
We have been travelling with our 4 1/2 year old for 4 1/2 years without a problem, the reason I feel is we didn't wrap him in cotton wool.
As Willem said if you put anything of value out of site there is no need for any one to take notice, thieves will pick an easy target they won't go spending time looking.
Enjoy your trip Steve.
Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:58
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:58
We're carrying a rifle...in a properly made gun-safe that complies with WA law. We're not carrying it for security...if they want our stuff that badly, they can have it. Insurance will give us nice, shiny, new stuff to replace it.
No, after travelling around this country for many years, I have unfortunately hit more than my fair share of animals (native and feral) and after almost having my knackers removed by a kangaroo I was trying to permanently anaesthetise, I have decided that getting too close to said wounded animals is silly.
Now I will do it quickly and humanely with a lead pill.
Russ.
Reply By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 19:04
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 19:04
My mum use to make a great trifle ....... I recon I could get out of any trouble once I handed out a bowl of that ...MMMMM jelly LOL
Just kiddin leave the bang bangs to the cops and just use common sense when deciding where to pitch .
Regards J.B.
Follow Up By: Garbutt - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 19:20
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 19:20
Too many people watched Wolf Creek I think! LOL
GB
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 19:44
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 19:44
Agreed!
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:04
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:04
At least they could have spelled it correctly .
Glenn
Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 19:35
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 19:35
Have to agree with Willem. There is a perception, usually among some city folk, that the bush is a dangerous place which requires a gun. It doesn't. Statistically you're safer in the bush than in your own
home. In all my years of wandering I've sometimes felt uncomfortable but never felt unsafe.
BTW Wolf Creek is actually a nice spot..not scary in the slightest, day or nightime.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:40
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:40
Depends if your talking bush or the side of the road, I reckon a gun solves a lot of problems. And before any anti gun people comment I hanent got it many times!
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:20
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:20
My experience has been the opposite. Guns have created problems rather than solved them. My training included something like "never point a gun at anyone you're not prepared to kill."
On that basis I'd rather carry a baseball bat or tyre iron.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 19:56
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 19:56
If you decide you need a firearm ... just make sure that if you pull it out you are prepared to use it. Otherwise, don't take one.
If I had a
young one I'd not want a firearm within cooee of it.
Jack
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:08
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:08
My boys grew up in regular contact with firearms - no problem, why-ever do you think there would be one? Do you give a bottle of whiskey to your 8 year old?
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:10
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:10
Sorry: noted: you don't have children.
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:03
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:03
Yes ... three of them.
Jack
Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:05
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:05
You are being paranoid... but...
sometimes bad things do happen, Madeleine McCann is one example. Fortunately such crimes are rare in Oz but security still needs to be considered.
Forget a firearm (if you need to ask you are not sufficiently comfortable with them to use one). Instead consider a couple of battery powered Passive Infra Red (PIRs) detectors to cover the campsite/tent area on those (very rare) nights you might feel uncomfortable. As for a weapon: socket set extension bar and kitchen knife would be good - both unlikely to kill and were just things you happened to, as a "reasonable person" might, have around the campsite" (no premeditation).
Oz is a very safe country - don't worry too much.
Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:24
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:24
I'm intrigued Mike
Where do you mount PIR on a 4b. What about the alarm. How do you power it. Sounds like another toy to get interested in!!
JD
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:31
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:31
Not quite like that :)
There are some battery (dry cell) powered PIRs available - they are about the size of a couple of packs of cigarettes and have an in-built alarm. I'm sure Jaycar or Dick Smith will stock them.
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:12
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:12
Mike, with the amount of rabbits and kangaroos about at night around most campsites and with alarms going off all night, you wouldnt get much sleep!! :)
| Patrol 4.2TDi 2003
Somewhere you want to explore ? There is no time like the present.Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:17
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:17
I like the PIR idea but it depends on where you
camp! In moss Vale the skippy and bunny capital I think a rifle would be better but on some Cape beach where I would probably only encounter some snapping hand bag, the PIR would do the job - hope they pick up cold blooded animals at night? If nothing else I'll use it to light the way for my nightime meandering.
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:52
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:52
Portley,
I too have found it very strange that some work collegues have suggested I take a gun....??????? My response every time is WHY? When I told one guy I was doing the Gunbarrel and the Simpson he told me I was crazy????? Only saw 1 group of cars on the Gunbarrel and 1 car on the Simpson????
I quiz them, they are city folk and they just don't understand that the bush is safer than walking down road in the city sometimes.
Reply By: Peter - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:22
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:22
Lot of paranoia about being in the bush. The only place I've ever had a problem was later year in the centre of Dubbo, in a full sized van. In forty years of camping all over Australia, and a lot of that with my 2 daughters (from the age of a months onwards), I've never had a problem. Have camped in campgrounds, out in the sticks with no one around etc. To be honest I've always felt more unsafe in towns and cities than in the bush. Forget a weapon, can bring you problems you don't need. Relax and enjoy all the experiences, as no doubt your little one will
Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:51
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:51
Maybe Ive read this post wrong but it sounds like its heading towards weapons???
The people who have been brought up with guns will have them and those who havent wont know,...Dont change . If your not used to having one, they will get you in trouble. most pepole can talk there way out of trouble with out one.
Its not a good situation when it comes down to ....do I pull the trigger?
If you were brought up with them youll have one ,if you werent , fear isnt a good place to learn.
Shiit I can hardly read that myself!!!!!
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 01:41
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 01:41
Portley
I have travelled and camped regularly for the past 35 years and my wife and I only had one incident where $30-00 was stolen from her handbag whilst we were in a caravan park.
Don't believe the horror stories. Don't live in fear. Get out there and enjoy life.
Tjilpi
Follow Up By: Garbutt - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:11
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:11
Don't believe the horror stories. Don't live in fear. Get out there and enjoy life.
Good advice Mudguts, perhaps you are finally gaining wisdom in your old age. About the scariest thing I can think of in the last 30 years was seeing you snoring in the car alongside of me on night shift.
GB
Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:49
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:49
GB
From my memory you had reason to be scared. I think I was driving at the time.
Tjilpi
Follow Up By: Garbutt - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 09:57
Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 09:57
Correst. Also funny. (now)
GB
Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:23
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:23
I only have been threatened once and he was wearing a brown uniform, I think he said he was a
Ranger or something, my German Shepard would not let him in the
camp site. The dog now knows he must read signs and no dogs in a national pk.
Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:55
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:55
People who use firearms for protection are usually the ones who get shot..........
Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:17
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:17
You're either a gun person or you're not. I'm not.
They have their uses, but I'd suggest that one of them is not in the hands of frightened campers.
Far too many accidents can, and sadly do, happen.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 12:03
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 12:03
This is similar to being a snake person or not - I think. Those that are not will try the to kill them and get bitten in the process, reinforcing/justifying their fear. Wheras myself quite happily admire them and not get bitten.
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 12:48
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 12:48
I think we are very fortunate here in Australia not to have to carry guns out in the bush. I was reading a story about a mountainbiker in the US who went out for a ride and then set up
camp in the bush, heaps of noises at night, rustling in the leaves etc and they thought it was mountain lions and the like prowling around. They didn't have a gun and I think they left the tent and just rode the heck out of there! Came back in the morning tent was there & nothing disturbed, they think maybe if they had a gun they would have spent the night - but you know I don't think they would have got much sleep either way!
I know Australia has a lot of dangerous critters like snakes but at least we don't have animals like lions and bears that prey on us.
As for people
well bad people do bad things some times, and in reality you probably have more chance of that in a city even in day to day life. I think if it's going to happen it just will and it would be rather unfortunate weather you have a gun or not.
And when it comes to city people saying you should carry a gun particularly if you are going out bush then it's probably a lot to do with stories such as the Falconio murder case.
I agree with a lot of opinions stated so far, most thieves are opportunistic and if it came to giving a thief your belongings rather than losing or taking a life then I know which I would do. In other extreme cases like kidnapping etc
well what do you do? Gun or no gun I don't think I could ever set up much of a contingency plan that would be followed through. It's the sort of thing that isn't really worth worrying about too much, hopefully I have more chance of being hit by a truck.
I'm not a gun person and don't see the need in one, if I grew up with them and was on a
farm used to mercy killing of animals and the like then sure I may carry one, pass on knowledge down to my children.
Reply By: flappa - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:07
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:07
I would suggest even by asking the question , should I carry a gun , means you are not a gun person , and probably unlikely to even know what is required to get one.
If you are that concerned that you NEED a gun . . . . stay
home.
As for safety precautions , Sensor lights are handy. Keep something solid close by. Dont leave things out for those "temptation" thieves.
Camp out of sight if possible.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:41
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:41
It will be a very sad state of affairs in this country when the day comes that we think we will need to arm ourselves for protection.
Question,
Do you think you need a gun in your
home now to protect yourself?
I would think not, so the same applies out bush.
Go and travel and enjoy yourself with the tens of thousands of great people who are out there doing the same, your kids will love it and forget the crap advice given by those who have never been past the end of their street.
Reply By: ross - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:21
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:21
For a gun to be useful a protection it needs to be within arms reach and loaded at all times.
In the US this is the main reason why they have so many gun deaths.
An argument starts and the 1st thing you see is a loaded gun.
Or the nippers decide to play with dads gun and accidentally blow dads head off while he is snoozing in front of the TV.
Best way to maintain security when camping is to
camp with other like minded families
Reply By: Portley - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:08
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:08
Thanks for all the replies.
We do agree that taking a gun is a over the top and definately wont be doing so for many of the reasons mentioned above. We also understand the importance of locking up valuables and keeping them out of site.
I guess the main question we were trying to ask was - "Do you always feel SAFE when only protected by canvas or are there times you wish you had the safety of solid walls " ?? - Only thinking of times you may get some drunken yobbos come into your
campsite late at night, or the odd opportunistic thief that may come into your tent whilst sleeping. I gather it doesnt happen often but im sure these things have happened !!!!!
Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:12
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:12
Go where the Commodore can't - usually that is sufficient to keep you away from the drunken Yobos.
We have never experienced a problem....
Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:15
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:15
Actually , there are probably as many drunken Yobbies driving 4wds as anything else.
Reply By: Steve63 - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:10
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:10
Don't leave stuff laying around. Lock up valuables out of site. If you take a firearm, take it for hunting or putting down a critter you have hit. If you take a firearm you need to be licenced in every state you take it. It also needs to be correctly secured. The rules vary in different states. If you produce a firearm in an argument you are already guilty of assalt. It also just tends to inflame the situation. You then may be forced to use it. It is tough to go "in fear of life" when you are confronted by an unarmed individual. If you shoot someone you have years of court etc in front of you. Not to mention the cost of a good lawyer. Even if you had a firearm, who said you would get a chance to get it out. If you don't use it it could be used against you. If this is the only reason for the firearm, and you have not been trained to kill another human being leave it at home. If you don't like the feel of a place just move on.
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:30
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:30
we should be more concerned about 'bad' things that are more likely to happen in our daily lives like being in a serious car accident, being mugged in the city, having our homes burgled or having an accident at work, but we don't wake up worried about those things every morning.
Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 21:14
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 21:14
After reading all the posts I would like to give my" two bobs worth ".I have travelled the real outback in the
top end for many years and always with a licenced firearm. Iwould like to stress that it is only for my personal hobby of hunting on proprties that I have permission to shoot on and at no time did I ever think that I needed it for protection as I have never encountered a problem that would require such drastic action as to use a firearm.My advice is if a gun is not needed for your sport or hobby DON'T carry one and you will find that travel in the outback of
Australia is much safer than some people make you think.
Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 23:56
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 23:56
Each to his own I guess. I always carry a rifle with me when bush. Just a standard part of the kit. I had to put down a goat just the other day that had been hit by a vehicle and had both back legs broken. It was bad enough as it was, I certainly would not like to do that with a rock or shovel. They are also really good fun, especially a cheap to feed .22LR for plinking.
However, if you are not familiar with firearms it is probably not such a good idea. I would advise against it.