Submitted: Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 07:41
V8Diesel
Hi folks,
what's the word onthe street about BFG M/T's?
Road manners?
Noise?
Any problems to know about?
Were there crook ones like in the AT's?
Thanks in advance.
Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 07:42
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 07:42
BTW, have done my due diligence with the archives.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 08:33
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 08:33
I ran a set about 4 years ago.
They are a good mud tyre.
Road manners?? What are road manners??
Mine were slippery on wet bitumen. But OK on dry.
Noise - yep, especially as they wear down, but you can put up with that.
I reckon the sidewalls were a bit thinner than you want.
They don't chip as much as the BFGATs on outback roads, but they still chip.
I personally think the Goodyear MTRs were better in all respects, except the fuel consumption was higher with the MTRs, and the BFG were a better sand tyre.
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 08:58
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 08:58
I run 255/85/16 BFG MT's as an all round tyre.
(For the really hard trips I run Interco Super Swampers)
Wet weather is OK, Grip in dry is really quite good,
Yes thay are noisy but so is the Defender.
I've staked a two, but that was running 15psi in tough conditions. Any other tyre would have fared the same.
Until the MTR came along they were the standard by which others were judged. That jury is still out.
I suspect BFG MT will be here for a good while yet.
No know issues that I've heard about.
Reply By: Sea-Dog - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 09:09
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 09:09
I have a set of BFG muddies on my 80 series.... size LT305/70/16
I have now got approx 50,000klm under the belt and am reasonably happy with them.
Road manners..... Personally I have not had any problems at all with them on road... the missus uses the car as a daily driver however I do take it whenever I get a chance. I find that the grip of the tyre is very good! I run them at around 40 - 42psi and have not had any sort of problem at all. Never even looked like letting go either on the wet or dry... very good manners in my opinion for a mud tyre.
Noise .......... again no complaints... I don't have the constant whoop whoop whoop noise that a lot of tyres give.. mind you I do rotate every 5000klm.. I will not say they are silent but they are not a big noisy tyre either! I can easily hear the radio over them with the windows down etc... the wind noise is much louder than the tyre.
Any probs..... I have done a sidewall on one of my tyres and still have a bitter taste in my mouth about it... but who knows it may have happened with any tyre but I am not convinced.. I think the sidewalls are a bit on the soft side but as a trade off with the off road ability and road manners etc I can live with the sidewall. The bead also tends to let a bit of dirt in from time to time causing the tyre to slowly deflate.. a simple matter of having the bead reseated.
Balancing... I have not had any problems like a few people talk about.. as I said I have about 50k on them and couldn't be happier considering the size of the tyres.
Chipping..... ???? none.. I am with the Caloundra 4wd Club and have done a lot of playing on them and have done
cape york (7000klm) in late 2005.. the tyres have wear but nothing that is unexpected.. quite the opposite I was pleasantly surprised that when I got back from the cape the tyres didn't look that much different to the new spare.
Wear.... excellent... 50,000 on them now and I still have HEAPS of tread left and it is even wear..
Wrap up... I am sure there are better tyres out there mainly due to the sidewall issue (nobody will convince me the BFG has a tough sidewall) but as far as the rest of it goes I am happy as a pig in mud.. driving on sand - no problems, road - no problems, rocks - very good, mud - very good.
My 2 cents worth.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 10:13
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 10:13
I ran the original BFG MTs on the GQ, then went to MTR's.. then when time came to replace MTR's there were none in country, so tire place did me an unbeatable price on BF's - the NEWER style (which is about to be replaced again)...
I hated the new BF's they were very soft. You go into a round about, and you could feel the tread 'squirming' round the corner. Offroad they were = to the MTR, but not as good on road.. Hard to tell what they were like on wet roads, we never had enough rain to tell...
As seadog says, the sidewalls are very thin, you can even feel that when the tires are off rims, the sidewalls flex like hell when you sit on the tires.. Have also been out with a mate that had the same as SD with a sidewall, Nick was unhappy, it was first time out on them, and being 35's werent cheap.. you can never tell if another brand of tire would have survived this root that got his one, but it was telling to me.
When time came to get tires on GU, no hesitation on MTR's..
Unless you run rags, you will never find a tire to survive serious outback offroading.
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 10:35
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 10:35
I'm happy with my 285X75X16 with 35K on them. Seemed to be a good all round tyre and certainly much better off road than the Bridgestone D694's I replaced.
One BFG mud's survived a sidewall hit that dented the edge of the alloy rim and holed the sidewall of an MTR on another vehicle.
Follow Up By: Pete and Lez S.A. - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:54
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:54
D694 is hardly a mud tyre, comparing apples with bananas
Cheers Peter
Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:08
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:08
I replaced my 285/75 BFG MT's last week with....................BFG MT's again.
Good manners on road and get a little skittish on wet roads and noisier as they wear down. I'd done 55k with about 5mm of tread left. Read for changing now - introduced the unused spare and bought 3 new as I need a couple of good spares for the truck and trailer.
Leroy
Reply By: Member - Rossco td105 - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:14
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:14
G'day,
I have been very happy with
mine, only done 20,000km on them though so time will tell regarding wear.
Changed to these after 2 sets of BFG all terrains which never gave me any problem (only two stakings in those, in the time I had them).
Don't find them much noisier than the AT's, definitely better traction off road. Seem to 'dig in' in soft sand a bit, but change off driving style helped this. Clear mud from the lugs and work
well in the wet stuff for me.
On road seems good considering 315/75/16 size mud tyre, and with the rain we've had over the last month haven't had probs with sliding around on tarmac.
Seem like a good tyre,
Ross.
Reply By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:29
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:29
I switched to 33"... bought second hand through this site...... lasted an incredible amount of time... not sure, can't remember exactly, but easily outlasted HTs bought new later.
My big bus is so far from the road that handling, noise etc are pretty much irrelevant, but was very happy.
Can recommend.
Reply By: Emo - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 14:09
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 14:09
I run 285/75/16 BFG M/T's on my Landcruiser. I've had them on for a year now and I'm pretty happy with them. I think that for a M/T, they handle the bitumen quite
well. I drive over tram tracks everyday and even when wet, they've always gone where I've pointed them. I did get some chipping after going up Rocky Track in Toolangi with them. I did give them a fair belting though so I doubt anything else wouldn't have chipped either. I also used to get heaps of mud and crap in the beads until I found out BFG don't recommend anything lower than 22psi. I used to run 18psi. I've only run 22psi once but it did stop crap getting into the beads.
I'd certainly consider them again.
Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 17:51
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 17:51
I've gone down to 16 psi on
Stockton without any drama. I just give it enough boot in a straight line
Reply By: Roktruk - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 15:57
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 15:57
I ran 235/85 BFG MTs on the 'cruiser, they were good for about 25000 before becoming way too scary on even dry roundbouts in
Canberra - Wet weather? yeeee-ha lets go skating. Replaced them with Goodyear MTRs, they'd run about 45 000 and probably had another good 10 in them when I sold it. Excellent in red clay, great on rocks, only suffered one
puncture when the tv aerial fell off a %$^&& caravan in front on me on the highway
Reply By: howie - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 17:03
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 17:03
PARDON
WHAT DO YOU MEAN NOISE?
seriously, have had muddies on for many many years.
my last set lasted 90,000 (and were still legal)
good in sand and mud.
would like to see the different tyres tested properly, on a
test track in the wet, to see how they fare, but seem to do alright.