Long Range Tank
Submitted: Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:18
Lewy
Does anyone have any comments to make in terms of their experience with long range tanks made by 4WDsystems in
adelaide. My reason for question is that I have been quoted on a tank that is $300 cheaper than ARB and $200 cheaper than TJM. Thrown in with this "cheap" tank is a compatible gauge kit and 3 year structural warranty.
Anyone had any good or bad experiences with this mob.
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:50
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:50
I wouldn't say bad experience but maybe indifferent.
Bought a roofrack off them. After fitting the mechanic took the truck 4wd-ing. I asked why and he said to
test it...hmmmmmm
After leaving the place I noticed that the bolts had been overtigthened. So had to unwind them a tad as they bent the roof gutter.
Two years later all the struts cracked. I asked for new struts at cost but they would not come to the party. So a mate welded them up and a few months ago I sold the rack.
They were friendly enough though.
Reply By: Philip A - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:23
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:23
Look where the tank is made as most tanks are made by only a few companies. Its not worth saving a couple of hundred if the tank drops off in
the desert.
The Long
Ranger from All 4x4 in
Newcastle is IMHO one of the best. I have had 2 now and never a problem. I think that is the TJM one but not sure as I have a Range Rover and bought
mine from Graeme Cooper.
Regards Philip A
Reply By: Grungle - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 18:15
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 18:15
I have a 4wd systems main and sub tank. Self installed approx 18 months ago.
Problems so far:
1. Leak in the main tank from a hose that we neglected to tighten fully (installers fault)
2. Gone through 2 sub tank pumps and have no idea why. Will probaly hook up a compressed air transfer system as it is more reliable. Asked questions about this in a previous post last week.
Overall I am happy with the design of the tanks and the installation was moderately difficult which is what I was expecting anyway. Would love to know why the pumps are failing though (anyone?).
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:19
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:19
David,
Not sure why your pump/s have failed. I too have self-installed a 4WD Systems sub tank and I reckon if the pump ever fails, I will work on hooking up an aftermarket pump via the drain plug at the rear, rather than muck around with the original unit. Just have to be careful of rubbish; need a good filter before the pump if I did it.
Reply By: Member - Andy Q- Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:04
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:04
G'day Lewy
We had a Long
Ranger fitted to our first GQ(petrol) a few years back and never had a problem(fitted at LRT head office
Lilydale Vic). In the next GQ a diesel I swapped over the tanks, no worries. The standard pick up kit(from the diesel GQ) has not been a problem just used all the standard bits.
andy
Reply By: Garbutt - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:23
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:23
We bought a 4WDsystems tank for our Hilux. Good price. On a long trip it developed a hair line crack and weeped fuel rather than leaked. When we got
home I went back to local agent who had installed it, he removed it, sent it to
Adelaide for repair and it was returned fixed and reinstalled all at no cost to me as it should have been. Can't comp[lain about the warranty service. A mechanic at
Derby who I asked to weld it said he has seen all long range tanks crack including Longranger. From this I can say I saved about $400 on the initial price, when I had a problem it didn't stop our trip and was fixed on return without a trouble.
GB
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 13:30
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 13:30
Try K&N from here in
Perth
www.kn4wd.com/fueltanks.php