rechargeable spottie

Submitted: Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:01
ThreadID: 44987 Views:1977 Replies:5 FollowUps:13
hi guys i got the repco catalogue today and they have a SIP 10 million candle power rechargeable spotlight - also operates from a 12V outlet. 12V & 240V charging adaptors included - for $69.99 save $20.

I rang them today to ask how long the battery will hold charge, the guy said 70 hours of continuous use. I said "you sure?" he said thats what it says on the box.
I don't think it's right. Has anyone got one or know anything about them?

Reply By: landed eagle - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:11

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:11
If its anything like the ones that supercheap autos sells it will last for a little over an hour.Ive got a 5,ooo,ooo cp version. Great for spotlighting with the kids but it dies very quickly and with little warning. All of a sudden its dark!Take a spare to get you home.It would have to be a great battery to last 70 hours.
AnswerID: 237239

Follow Up By: bunny huntin - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:19

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:19
yeah I've got 2 of the cheapie 2 million candle power ones and they're the same - half an hour and they're dead. You have to carry 2 around with you to get back to the car. Thats why I want to spend a bit more money and get something better. I get sick of chasing rabbits in the dark - lol.
FollowupID: 498249

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:21

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:21
Agree with that.

I also have the 5 000 000 cp version, and the battery lasts stuff all time. Also takes forever to charge up on the 12V adapter. (or it appears to)
FollowupID: 498251

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:36

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:36
bunny huntin,

Set a couple of traps, then you only need a normal torch to unload and reset:-)

FollowupID: 498258

Follow Up By: bunny huntin - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:47

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:47
yeah I'd love to use the traps but the owner of the property won't let me because she's got horses there and next doors dogs come over, so I have to stick with the ferrets and nets.
FollowupID: 498260

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:17

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:17
Ah mate, thanks for the clarification.

Never been ferreting. Sounds like fun though.

FollowupID: 498269

Follow Up By: bunny huntin - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:29

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:29
yeah it's good fun just a bit of a pain setting up the nets it'd be easier to shoot em when they run out
FollowupID: 498272

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:53

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:53
I thought traps were no longer legal.
FollowupID: 498324

Follow Up By: bunny huntin - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:59

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:59
i'm pretty sure they're fine on private property, but you can get the rubber one's anyway.
FollowupID: 498325

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:51

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:51
Put those 'light stick' thingos on your ferrets. That'll be a bit of fun hahahahaha
FollowupID: 498518

Follow Up By: bunny huntin - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 20:29

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 20:29
It's not the ferrets that I need to see. Where I've been going ferreting there are heaps of holes and scratchings but I can't get any rabbits. I think there going under the bushes/ti trees, so I've been going out at night to see if I can see where they are running. I see 20-30 bunnies every night but halfway through stalking them the bloody torch dies on me and I'm left in the dark! Thats not a bad idea with the light sticks though....
FollowupID: 498527

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:19

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:19
70 mins would be stretching it.
AnswerID: 237240

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:02

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:02
He said 70 hours!! now i'd like to see that!!! :))
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 498313

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:40

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:40
We had one very similar to this , 30 mins continuous would pull it up! In the end it got too heavy and cumbersome to carry, even with the shoulder strap, so now we have gone back to the $19.99 super cheap yellow one and much easier on the wrists to look for possums and bunnies at night. We ended up giving the "big" one to Jodie's dad for use on his farm on the Southern Highlands.
AnswerID: 237254

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:36

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:36
G'day BH
If you believe that a rechargeable battery on a spottie will last for 70 hours of continuous use then you must also believe in the Easter Bunny (hope you don't hunt him/her/it) :-)
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 237394

Follow Up By: bunny huntin - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 14:47

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 14:47
hi moose
nah i dont believe it thats why i asked if anyone on this forum new how long they would last i wanted to see if they are worth me spending the $70 or just use the cheapies that i have been
and no i dont believe in the easter bunny any more i got him a couple of weeks ago lol :)
FollowupID: 498442

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (SA) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:39

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:39
Whats this about the Easter Bunny!

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 237484

Follow Up By: bunny huntin - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 20:42

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 20:42
Nah nothin mate, don't worry he'll be round to see you next year. Cheers
FollowupID: 498543