batteries for new prado D4D

Submitted: Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:10
ThreadID: 44980 Views:4370 Replies:9 FollowUps:13
Hi guys, need advice or guidance. rather than install a deep cycle battery & associated hardware in the engine bay(cost approx $800), since it wont get much use for a few years. l have considered installing a deep cycle battery in a battery box, in the back & run it of the plug for charging. will have the wiring upgraded & a electronic solenoid installed. this will give me a portable battery for my fridge(the plug switches off when the key is turned off,rightly so). has anyone already done this, what is yr experience, costs & what brands did u use. comments appreciated. cheers

Reply By: Danman - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:28

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:28
I had the same situation and installed a 68amp Thumper that came with the charging regulator and relay(available from the 12Volt shops), battery from Sth Aus.
This set up works a treat and it's a dry cell unit dosent' have to be boxed or protected it can be left in the back of the vehicle,when camping or as I have done fitted in the front boot of the caravan with electric charger.
Can be then used as emergency start my D4D plus a number of other uses.
Charging from car is via 6mm cables, the local 12v point not good enough
The cost was around $600. but should last around 7years, weight is around 17Kg a bit heavy but in camp keeps my fridge going 4 days.
Danman Vic.
AnswerID: 237174

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:01

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:01
Hi Danman

4 days on 68amps. ;-)

I don't think it is possible without 2 hours drive time per day.

Our 120 a/h AGM unit in the FLYER pack maybe. What fridge do your have ?
FollowupID: 498192

Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:59

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:59
I am waiting for delivery of a Prado and wanted to fit a second battery (AGM) in back of vehicle but not sure of position , or method, of doing this.

Will follow this thread with interest .
Have you had any ideas re the positioning and method?

Pedro
AnswerID: 237180

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:05

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:05
This is what a FLYER looks like in the Prado.

The new ones are grey in colour and up to hold 130 a/h batteries.

Opposite Lock also do one now.

Derek.

FollowupID: 498193

Follow Up By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:08

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:08
Derek, yep that looks like the best way to attach it to the vehicle. i have removed my back seats as well, no ankle biters. thanks
FollowupID: 498194

Follow Up By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:12

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:12
derek, just one query, how is the battery charged from the 12v point. ???
FollowupID: 498195

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:28

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:28
We use 10mm2 twin core cable direct to the main battery which plugs into the FLYER with Anderson plugs.

There is a fully automatic isolator fitted to the FLYER pack.

Derek.

FollowupID: 498202

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (SA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 19:01

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 19:01
Haven't you see those batterys that are rated at 68amps and can deliver 200amps.

So many people do not understand batterys, they think you can run it deed flat and recharge it with a standard charger in a matter of hours.

A deep cycle battery should not be discharged below 25-30% of its rated capacity.

The other thing is you don't want to charge most of them at more then 15 to 20 amps per hour....cars alternators will charge at upto 110amps.

For a battery to weigh 17kg with such high output, the 75amp batterys we use weigh 25kg by them selves.

6mm cable is way to small and dangerous.......as said before 10mm minium (6B&S) we try to use 3B&S where possiable.

Why don't you want to mount it under the bonnett.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 237206

Follow Up By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 19:16

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 19:16
Richard, thanks for the reply.
don't want to mount it under the bonnet, due to the costs and have not planned a long trip, yet.
also in the past have not kept my vehicles that long and with a "portable" unit can use it outside of the vehicle when unloading the fridge on beach runs etc.
cheers tom
FollowupID: 498221

Reply By: Member - Prado Garageo - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:38

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:38
G'day Tom, I encountered the same issues 3 yr ago. I ended up getting an "Optima" D34 deep cycle battery for $286. it weighs 19.5Kgs & is 120ah. I use it all the time for an engle & it gives me about 2 days when we are stopped, with camp lights etc.. I went to an Auto electritian who fitted the battery into an ex power tool plastic box with all the isolaters and relays inside an array of outlets fitted as well. (silicone is a great glue). He wired up using an "Anderson " Plug which is in the compartment in the cargo area LHS. I had 3 vehicles simarily wired with Anderson plugs and I move the battery pack (& frig) from vehicle to vehicle. The starting battery is isolated from the portable system. The Auto electritian was about $160 for everything. I take delivery of a D4D in 10 days and I wont be changing a thing when I have the new one wired up. It can be done a lot cheaper, than a propietry brand dual battery setup.
good luck.
AnswerID: 237275

Follow Up By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 12:11

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 12:11
thanks, the cost is not the main issue, but it helps. the idea of a portable unit is a better idea. u will enjoy the D4D. good luck.
FollowupID: 498401

Reply By: brett - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:54

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:54
Can't see how your saving money by mounting in the rear instead of under the bonnet. By mounting in the rear your saving on a tray, about $120, that's it, you will need more cable and probably a box to put it in. Also under the bonnet you can get away with a deep cycle wet cell, cost around $150 or less. I wouldn't put any wet cell in side the car, so you'll need an AGM or similar, cost somewhere between $200 -$300.
AnswerID: 237281

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:26

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:26
Ah yes but...

It will be portable.

Can be moved when you sell the car, can be used in your house when power fails.

AGM although twice the price lasts 3 times longer. (Think Environment)

I too have dual batteries under the bonnet of the LC100 but won't do it again. I will make it portable.

Derek.

FollowupID: 498302

Reply By: brett - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:33

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:33
I could be wrong but I got the feeling he was worried about cost
AnswerID: 237318

Reply By: tdv - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 09:29

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 09:29
I just went thru similar dilemma. However when you spend 55-60k on a car what is an extra $200 to fit one under the bonnet? Well that was my attitude anyway. There is plenty of space in there. I negotiated it as part of the deal so am unsure of cost. It is a TJM setup with 90 amp/hr AGM.

Tez
AnswerID: 237360

Follow Up By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 12:13

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 12:13
thanks tez, see my reply to prado garageo, I like the idea of having a portable unit. cheers Tom
FollowupID: 498402

Reply By: Member - Prado Garageo - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 18:53

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 18:53
Hi Guys, Interesting how things developed from my earlier post and not being clear enough in my explanation. The Deep Cycle Optima battery is a Gell type and spill free. My installation is all about portability, and moving it from vehicle to vehicle & onto the workshop bench when not in use. The Anderson Plug is heavy enough to carry the amperage. I mentioned the costs for interests sake and I agree to skimp a few dollars on a $55K+vehicle is irrational... however why spend more than necessary ? I actually position the battery pack (which has a 1m lead to get to the anderson plug) in the footwell behind the passenger seat with the outlets facing the door. The Engle sits (above the battery pack) where the rear passenger seat normally is and we access it all from the rear passenger door. I have a toolbox where you would normally place a second battery under the bonnet. I reckon if you put all the posts together you should be able to get a good solution to the questions in your initial post, lastly have a talk to an auto electrician.
AnswerID: 237469

Follow Up By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:10

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:10
Prado, thanks to everyone for the info.
I have decided to go with portability as mentioned by Prado. i have ordered a battery box from, sidewinder.com & will get the gell type battery here in perth. yes i will get an auto electrician to install the wiring that comes with the battery box. yes probably costs a bit more than i anticipated, but with the portability, I think its worth it.
FollowupID: 498494

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 16:55

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 16:55
Prado Garago,
Interested to learn how you secure the battery in the footwell.

Tom V,
Where are you fitting the battery box, and what are you using to secure it .

I am waiting delivery of Prado and am investigating every which way to fit a battery in back.
Derek's set up I think uses coach screws , which I am not sure would make it really secure.
Any thoughts welcome.

Pedo

FollowupID: 499003

Follow Up By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 17:26

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 17:26
looking @ derek's photo above, yep u are right looks like screws. But looking @ the photo, the third row seats on the prado are removed, as I have done. I will try & see if i can attach, somehow, to the seat locks, or what ever u call them. will wait till I get Derek's battery box & see how it fits. if not might have to try the rear seat well, since we do not have any ankle biters.
trust u are getting a D4D ?? if so u will think it's great, heaps better than my jeep grand CRD, but the 5cyl engine in the grand was smoother.
cheers Tom
FollowupID: 499014

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 20:31

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 20:31
Tom,
Thanks for that.
If you can take some pictures of your set up, in due course, would be great.

Pedro
FollowupID: 499053

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (SA) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:56

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:56
Now don’t get me wrong, but what is this big deal about making it portable, we have a 60lt fridge mounted in our Hilux.

When we go away the fridge always stays in the Hilux, I would not like to leave a $1000 plus fridge and $400 plus battery pack sitting at a camp site when I’m not there.

What else are you going to put in the Prado when you are away that may require extra room in the back and the fridge to be left behind.

What are you going to charge the battery back up with, if you put it back in the Prado to charge then the fridge is not going to work, you will have to put the fridge in there as well?

You will only get a day out of the battery.

When we go out for the day we always take the fridge with us and we charge the aux battery up as well.

Are you tenting it?

If you put it into another vehicle then you will be paying 3 times the installation cost, you will still have to charge the battery.

Seriously how many times are you going to have to use it out of a vehicle where you need a battery?

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 237488