THE NEWNES !!!!

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:25
ThreadID: 44683 Views:2337 Replies:5 FollowUps:13
Hi ALL
I just got a new liberty camper was looking at maybe going to the newnes for a overnighter,,But i have not been that way for about 7ish years an was woundring if the roads are ok to take a camper on,Also are the camping area's at the newnes still there,I was looking at going one weekend after the 30/april as i am free from then on anyone else interested just let me know ,as i say the more the marrier.
PS I haven't made a date to go yet so anyone wanting to join in i will take all info ad maybe work a date from there..
CHEERS patnav :)

Reply By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:29

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:29
Just the usual corragations on the road in, no dramas, my 4WD club was there a couple of weeks ago.

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 235596

Follow Up By: PatNav - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:38

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:38
Thanks stefen so it souds like the roads haven't changed
FollowupID: 496751

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:45

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:45
yes I ment to add, me too for the camping

Stefan
FollowupID: 496753

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:31

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:31
I'm always up for a night around the campfire...... keep us informed.
AnswerID: 235597

Follow Up By: PatNav - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:39

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:39
No worries extfilm i will keep u informed an also try to give people a good notice of the date Cheers ..
FollowupID: 496752

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:58

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:58
PatNav
Let a member know and they can put it up in the "trips and gatherings" area for you. I would go, but I've got to go to Cape York in 3 weeks time, shyte. LOL

Nice site if its not too crowded, but as it gets cooler you should have no problems.

The old railway platform is a great place to test your articulation.
enjoy, Colin.

PS make sure your trailer doors and hatches etc are secure, OHHHHH those corrugation's.

FollowupID: 496756

Follow Up By: PatNav - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:12

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:12
Ya thanks could do that.. Gee rub it in about the cape thats another spot to get to befor i get too old ...LOL
FollowupID: 496759

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:55

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:55
I was there only 6 weeeks ago and i thought the road was fine with minimal corragations. Maybe I am just becoming accustomed to them after these.....
Site Link
FollowupID: 496769

Follow Up By: PatNav - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:13

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:13
Gee extfilm they are top photos they should bee in some of the travel books is this one of your profession's with the camra they r great
FollowupID: 496772

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:34

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:34
Yes PatNav,
It is one of the fingers I have in the pie. Also a qualified Mechanic, supervisor for road building (Involved with the M7, Busway from paramatta to blacktown, just started the M5 road widening and the New England fly over that is statring for us next week up near Maitland). I look after the invoicing to go to the head contractor at the end of the month, but I am at the moment more of our companies OH&S Paperwork dude, making sure all the paperwork complies to the head contractor before we start and during these projects. I also have 2 excavators and a bobcat.
Because I do the paperwork side mostly these days, I can get away quite a bit to take pics and as long as I am within phone range I can still stay on top of all this paperwork. Just means I may be doing it under a tarp in the middle of the simpson :) Only prob is for about 8 weeks a year I have to really put in some very hard yards on the sites because our blokes are not capable and start winging. I have to get in there and show them it can be done. Last time I got my hands dirty I was that peaved because I was called back from Byron, I fired 2 blokes on the same day.. So in short it is one of the proffesions and my most enjoyable especially when I get comments such as yours.
FollowupID: 496782

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:24

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:24
Hi ya PatNav, sounds good. hanging to give the camper a workout eh ?? One thing I forgot to mention that I did with mine was I got some of that rubber seal type stuff with adhesive on one side and ran it around the rear tailgate to stop dust etc. I got it from Bunnings. There are few different types. I also had to run some extra silicone on the inside edges on floor of trailer couple of spots where dust was entering. The other thing I am going to do is get the cover modified as it doesnt seem to stop alot of dust from ending up in under the cover and getting on canvas. Other than that no other issues. Maybe they modified the cover since I bought mine, I find it doesnt tie down real good but I saw a great design while away at easter so am getting a few quotes to get one made up. Keep us informed about when you going up the newnes. I am hoping to have the suspenion done by then as whats in it now is way to soft and bottoms out to easily. ARB rang me back today with some prices and fitment of OME stuff just have to get the other half to open her purse and give me the ok wont be to hard (I hope). keep us informed. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 235658

Follow Up By: PatNav - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:45

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:45
Hi stephen
i hanen't had mine off the tare yet to see if it get dust in it but hey why wait i might just seal it up tight then its all done i put some under body protector stuff on real thick should do the job ,I have been thinkin and i know it gettin cooler but thats the fun of it sitting around the fire ,lookin to go in mat some time for an over nighter thing.Oh did i tell you i missed out on that prado so now been looking at Navara..'s wife likes them,MMMM still a nissan so we r looking around now.
But ya i will keep u posted about the newnes thanks
FollowupID: 496807

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:56

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:56
What'd you put under it. Was thinking of doing mine to protect it a bit as well saw some stuff in Bunnings but wasnt to shore on it so didnt bother getting it. I believe there are two different types one like a tar type stuff petroleum based the other one a non petroleum based so wasnt sure on which one to use. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 496809

Follow Up By: PatNav - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:03

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:03
Ya stephen
A mate of mine works at a place where they do like spray on ute liners an all sorts of thing its tough as and about 5mm thick i got it for half price,i thought of this as i did it to the old trailer i had and the under body was the only bit still good in the end but there are a few different things out there ya best to get the one that would be best for steel or even look at the product and call that manufacturer for more info.
FollowupID: 496812

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 06:04

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 06:04
PatNav,
Do not go a Navara........
FollowupID: 496845

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:16

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:16
Hi there Patnav, not sure why extfilm is against navara's but must have his reasons, I thought they were a good 4wd havnt heard of any issues but then I have never owned one so he must have reasons as to what he has said. Just incase you wondering about fuel with the prados as you know I have the V6 and we got 12.8L per 100 at easter time thats with camper on (roughly 700kg loaded) and got cought in traffic going up to Harrington (Taree) 2 hours (total trip up 7 hours) and 1 hour coming (4 1/2h to come home) home so might have done even better. That was not babyig it doing 110k where I could and was allowed to but this was all freeway driving except 2 trips back into Taree to watch the boat races (couldnt help myself). The second reading was all around town and was 15L per 100. The last estimate was this past week 14.7L per 100 and that including one trip up the central coast but was giving it a bit as i was following my father in Law and he has a commodore lowered etc etc so he was into it a bit so have been very happy with the fuel usage.Was expecting alot higher especially with camper on and traffic. Just to give you an idea of what you can expect out of a 3.4V6 prado if looking at one although some people on here think that those figures are extremely good and seem to be a bit lower then most. I havnt had it on the sand or off road at all yet for that matter so would expect it to jump alot higher up around 18/20 and maybe higher in the sand etc. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 496873

Reply By: macca172 - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 18:56

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 18:56
Went up to Newnes last Saturday. Nothing has changed much with the road, still bumpy and full of corrugations! With that said, I would say the too have had a bit of rain since last Saturday, hence the road conditions may have changed?

Macca
AnswerID: 235779

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 22:03

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 22:03
Howdy all! i was at Newnes last week!! Monday, Tuesday and Wendesday, the last couple of ks is a shocker! Newnes is a great place for a get together and a great place for all the kids to ride their bikes. Maybe thats a possibility at some stage!! Michael

AnswerID: 235811