good service still happens

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 13:21
ThreadID: 44020 Views:1875 Replies:6 FollowUps:16
I'll take my hat off to Lander Nissan in blacktown, On wednesday I ordered a thermostat housing for my patrol, "no worries mate have it here for you tomorrow", great as we are going away at the weekend. Goes there today and the wrong part has shown up!!! They says "sorry can't get one till Tuesday!" I politely explain my point of view that it was their mistake and not mine so why should my weekend suffer because of thier mistake.

The part is now being delivered to my house this arvo from their Sydney warehouse for a $4.00 charge on the day before a long weekend, can't complain about that I reckon.

cheers Stefan

P.S the usual disclaimers about not working there ect!!

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 13:29

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 13:29
the 'good service' only happened becasue you had to lean on them a little! So is that really good service? If the guy had of said straight up we'll get that for you this arvo well i would say definitely good service then.

Leroy
AnswerID: 231813

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 13:40

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 13:40
Yes you are right I had to lean on them a little, they could have stood their ground and said that it was not possible, but they did go that extra bit and make the calls and get me the part and for that I am grateful. As we all know on the Thursday before Easter all we want is to get out of here and enjoy the weekend! I must add they are always helpful and cheaper than my local Nissan dealer.

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 492773

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 13:45

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 13:45
Hi there Stefan, did they ask you for your chassis no, my mate who works for the service department his wife use to work in spares and was the one who got all my hilux parts for me cheap, she would always ask the chassis no so that the exact part was ordered. I would wate till about 3pm and ring them again to make sure its on its way, not saying they wont come good with there promise but when they shut the doors for the weekend and your part doesnt turn up then you'l be bleep . If you ring them ask for Jackie or Matt Cooper, tell them you know me Steve Miller a friend of Lisa Kelly who use to work there and I put you on to them so they would look after you, I will also ring Jacki or Matt and make sure it gets to you. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 231817

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 13:53

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 13:53
Good one Stephen, Its due here around 3:30 this arvo, Due at Lander around 2:30, so I will give'm a call between those times to make sure. I use Lander because I have found "our local nissan dealer to be a royal pain in the you know what" you know who they are you work a few doors down from them!!!

Hows the new toy going??

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 492778

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:07

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:07
Like a pig in sh#t, great. My mates had it for the last three days, he's touching up/spraying the front flares where they were scraped by previous owner on the edge of her garage pilon, wasnt that bad but I'ma fussy pri#k so like things looking write. He's bringing it back this arvo. He runs his own business spray painter, does this new 5 stage paint protection, not that I really believe in that stuff but he does it properly with the buff not thrown on by hand like the dealers do. He did our old statesman and it come up like a mirror never polished it for 4 years and still looked like new when we sold it. Will see how she sucks the juice over the weekend going up crowdy head way leaving in the morning at 5am so hopefully get a good run. Expecting around the 15/17L per 100. Am just about to ring Lander now and tell them not to fu#k you around. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 492779

Reply By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:07

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:07
GQ-TUFF

You order the part 2 days before a long weekend, then the part ordered is the wrong one, you then give the parts salesman grief because your long weekend is going to be ruined, Its not his fault your not organized and order the part at last minute.

I bet the part didn't fail on Tuesday night either, perhaps next time you might think in advance and repair the part more than 2 days before a long weekend.

Steve.
AnswerID: 231820

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:16

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:16
Hi there Steve, yes maybe he could have ordered it a bit earlier, but who knows maybe it failed on him this morning ?? The point is they fu#ked up and ordered the wrong part. Be the same if you had booked the cruiser in for service (ok you and me would have done it last week) and promised you it would be ready for you to pick up and go on your merry way on holidays then ring you and tell you we have it all apart but the wrong bits have turned up and cant get the new ones till tuesday you'd be pi##ed off as well. I know some people leave things to the last minute like xmas for example, but the wrong part being ordered is the issue. Thats retail for you and if selling the stuff, thats part of the job, my wife been doing it for 16 years. Not having a go at you just saying they should have ordered the write bits, thats what they get for not asking him the chassis no they should no that by now. Ther've all been working there a while. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 492783

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:20

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:20
No your right it didn't fail on tuesday night, it failed on wednesday arvo smart arse!
I also didn't make him say it will be here the next day either HE made those claims NOT me. So when he honors his own claims I am happy!
Hava a good weekend
FollowupID: 492786

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 20:58

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 20:58
Hey Stefan
Gee I bet Steve T is a spontaneous guy at home and books a romp with the misses a week in advance.LOL

Glad you got it fixed Stefan, part of life in a big city mate, you are close enough to the source of things to expect faster service than those not so fortunate that have to wait a week for anything.

See you on the track Saturday Mate, 7.00am.
FollowupID: 492975

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:43

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:43
Hi ya Stefan, just spoke to Matt and a new parts bloke by the name of Tyler was the one that ordered it he's only new so he's not up to speed with what he should be asking you in the way of chassis no etc. Anyway he said its left the main parts and should be just about at your door. The delivery drivers name is Gordon. Let me know if its not there by 3.30 at the latest. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 231826

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:45

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:45
cheers stephen, your a champ
FollowupID: 492788

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:13

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:13
Thanks for your help following it up for me.....got the right part in my hot little hands!!! :)
FollowupID: 492794

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:19

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:19
Good on ya, have a great weekend. Take it easy on the roads. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 492797

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:45

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 14:45
Glad you got a result, now how do you get them to replace an engine !!! ???
AnswerID: 231827

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:05

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:05
Buy a Toyota LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 492790

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:05

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:05
Why what happened ?? I know plenty of people there. Manager, floor controller etc. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 492791

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:08

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:08
Hows your back now Kev, werent you going in for an op, or have I got the wrong person ?? Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 492792

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 17:07

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 17:07
Stephen,

The back Op is next week and counting.
I'm just trying to organise some domestic assistance for SWMBO for when I'm home after the Op. Her MS still isn't the best and we are a bit worried she may go downhill fast if things get to strenuous for her as ATM I'm doing most of the household stuff and bathing the kids. The surgeon said yesterday that I'm going to be restricted for 6 months i.e. no lifting, bending, household chores.

So I'm looking forward as well as a bit anxious about having it done.

FollowupID: 492809

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 17:25

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 17:25
Hi there Kev, if I dont speak to you before hand hope all goes well for yourself and hope the wifes MS doesnt get her down. Seriously if you need a hand with any thing contact me. I'm not that far away. Best of luck for next week and will be thinking of you. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 492812

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 17:33

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 17:33
Thanks Steve,
I've still got your number so if things go pear shape I'll keep your offer in mind.

Thanks Kev

FollowupID: 492813

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:06

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:06
And you bought a genuine one...why bother..why not a Tridon Stainless steel job from the local parts shop. 1/2 the price and lasts twice as long !!!
AnswerID: 231830

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:14

Thursday, Apr 05, 2007 at 15:14
Tried all the after market guys, they all said genuine is the only way!!

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 492795