Cleaning canvas

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:06
ThreadID: 43936 Views:2602 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
We recently camped on the Tuross River when it flooded a couple of weeks ago, and we had to pack up very quickly, as a result we couldn't clean the dirt and mud off as we packed up and as well the camper was packed up wet, our canvas has been treated so well that even after nearly 3 weeks of being closed it has no mould at all, which to me is brilliant.

What is the best way to clean the canvas and not affect the anti mould treatment.

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:08

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:08
Dunno Baz....but you sure attract the rain....remember July 2005...lol

AnswerID: 231356

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:13

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:13
How could i forget, lol, all part of the adventure ;o))

FollowupID: 492270

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 14:39

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 14:39
So Baz, its your fault we nearly got swept away?
FollowupID: 492356

Reply By: Gronk - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:14

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:14
Hello Baz..... thoroughly wet the affected areas and use a soft car brush !!

But stubborn stains,,, well ?? Bit like when you take a softfloor CT into the red centre.....some of the stains are there for life !!
AnswerID: 231357

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:27

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:27
Thanks Gronk, yeah i have them stubborn red dirt stains on the canvas and on the camper, Gal may not rust, but simpson desert salt and red centre dirt embeds itself into the gal, i now have a rust coloured Gal camper :((

FollowupID: 492278

Follow Up By: Gronk - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:40

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:40
Yep, thems the fair dinkum off road CT's you can pick from twenty paces.....plenty of red inground dirt .. lol

Mines still a softy, but will change come July when it gets a trip to the centre..... !!
FollowupID: 492283

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 09:21

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 09:21
Red Outback dust stains ..... are like a badge of honour!
FollowupID: 492293

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 09:17

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 09:17
The Canvas manufacturers say that clean water and a stiff brush is as far as we canvas users should go - seems like mud and/or red dust stains should be seen as a badge of travel ! Application of a very mild detergent will discolour the canvas easily (personal experience) - would probably bugger up the waterproofing too.
AnswerID: 231373

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 09:27

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 09:27
Baz ,

I just came back from Alice with my canvas swag covered in mud . There is no way I would do what an earlier answer said "wet it then brush it" .

I would get it bone dry , then brush it , then I would dampen it all down for a while to soften up any remaining mud , and then use a gurney gently on those bad bits .

Cheers ,

Willie .
AnswerID: 231375

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 09:28

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 09:28
PS Baz ,
You deserve a kick in the rectum for leaving it closed up and wet for three weeks .
FollowupID: 492296

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 10:10

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 10:10
Yes i know, i gave myself a couple of uppercuts instead ;-))

The red dirt is well there for good but i will try your suggestion, while i have it open and airing.

FollowupID: 492313

Follow Up By: Gronk - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 13:00

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 13:00
I did say wet it and use a SOFT car brush.... probably less damaging than a gernie ??
FollowupID: 492344

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 16:08

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 16:08
Yeh , I don't suggest that Baz should get the gurney up close and blow the seams apart .

I reckon the best way to get mud off canvas is to do it dry , as much as possible . I am not concerned about your brush doing any damage , just about making a nice mud pie .
FollowupID: 492376

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:10

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:10
G'day Baz,

Given the bit in your post about floods and what Willem had to say, have you ever thought about camping near Wivenhoe dam in QLD or a few others around the country for that matter. We could all do with a bit of the wet stuff.
AnswerID: 231546

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 07:41

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 07:41
I will be up near there soon, i'll let you know, lol.

FollowupID: 492534

Reply By: mudlover - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 23:57

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 23:57
I love the mud!

You should just hose it off, and live with whatever sticks around. Next time it is forecast for rain why dont you stay at home and hire a movie... and your camper will stay dry.
AnswerID: 231565

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 07:47

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 07:47
Mmmmmm i don't drive in mud unless i have too, as for staying at home and hiring a movie, eerr no thanks, too much of Australia to see before i shuffle off this mortal coil ;-))

FollowupID: 492536