Darn Camping/Caravan Show!!!
Submitted: Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 19:29
elmack
Just so thankful we had our children with us otherwise we would have had more opportunity to look and SPEND!
First off we bought an Ozpig cooker/heater. Anything to do with fire my DH is sure to be interested in, and as long as it's outdoors I'm happy to oblige! I'm impressed myself, will be able to boil a billy, use the Dutch oven and brown some bread for breaky not to mention frying the bacon! Mouth watering anyone??!!
Also we pur-chaaaased a Wild Country Travel Shade Car Canopy - suction cup it to the top of your car and you have a
shelter! We're hoping it goes on our Jayco Swan and provides
shelter forward of our annexes.
Let's hope these CONTRAPTIONS help us in our adventures. Anyone with any personal experience(s) please let me know your thoughts!
ALSO - how often do you find a really innovative item at these "shows"? We're not new to camping but new to 'vaning and (I) am hopelessly addicted to all the EXTRAS.
Please HELP me cure my new $$$$ addiction
Reply By: PeteS - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 20:38
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 20:38
Hey elmack
Any more info on the "Wild Country Travel Shade Car Canopy".
Interested re your comments on the 'suction cups to top of car".
Tried to Google them buy no luck
Thnx
PeteS
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:35
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:35
PeteS, I also tried to Google it before I posted but came up with nothing. I got it at the Rays Outdoors
shop and when I asked the guy if it was a new product he told me they'd stocked it for a couple of years now.
It's actually a nylon fly of 320 x 430cm with a pole threaded through one side that then clamps onto suction cups you've attached to the top of the car. You then use upright poles to hold it up. There are side panels that can be rolled up, pegged to the ground or use more upright poles to provide extra
shelter.
If you
check out Bill F (Vic) member's rig and profile you'll get a better idea with his photos - thanks Bill!
Follow Up By: PeteS - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:11
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:11
Hi elmack. Thanks for the reply. Looked at Bill F pics also. If you don't mind me asking what was the $ damage?
BTW I too was interested in the DH abbreviation. Never thought it was Darling Hubby ;-)
Looking at the reply posts seems we are all bitten by the shows. I'm looking 4ward to the
Sydney show starting on the 14th April.
PeteS
Follow Up By: elmack - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:17
Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:17
Hi PeteS,
RRP was $125, show special $85.
Have fun on the 14th!!
elmack
Follow Up By: PeteS - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:35
Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:35
Thanks for that elmack.
That's not too bad a price. Won't take long to get those $ back in use.
Yep, reeeeeeeeeeeeeeealy looking 4ward to the 14th.
Cheers PeteS
Follow Up By: elmack - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:13
Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:13
No worries PeteS,
I agree it was a pretty good price, I've spent a lot on tarps over the years so I'm hoping this will do the trick for a while! It will certainly weigh a lot less than the huge tarps we used to have to cover our 15x12 canvas tents.
Only 12(?) more sleeps?? Happy spending.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 20:44
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 20:44
Hi elmack,
Two questions,
1. Who or what is "my DH" ??
2. Tell me more about "a Wild Country Travel Shade Car Canopy - suction cup it to the top of your car"
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:41
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:41
Sorry Geoff,
I also use a parenting
forum and DH is "darling hubby"! Don't know why I didn't just type hubby really??!! By the way, what does the swmbo mean on this site??
I just gave a bit of an explanation to PeteS above so I hope that gives you a better idea. We're hoping it works okay, haven't had it out yet but will be in the next day or two. I could get some photos and post them somehow, never done it before. But if you're near a Rays it's probably worth a look.
Follow Up By: Juzzy - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 09:49
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 09:49
SWMBO = She Who Must Be Obeyed
(remember Rumpole Of The Bailey)
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 09:53
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 09:53
Thanks Juzzy!
Reply By: Gob & Denny - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 20:59
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 20:59
we came
home owning a new honda generator a new rear veiw mirror For bigger rear camera screen signed papers for a new
hf radio almost got a little on road trailer butas we already have our van and tent couldnt justify the cost swmbo already squealing about the money
Follow Up By: landseka - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:32
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:32
OT for sure but how satisfied are you with your Paramount Steve? I take it it is a Delta?
Neil.
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:43
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:43
Thanks Steve,
I don't feel so bad now.
Reply By: warfer69 - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 21:45
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 21:45
Gee i have to laugh i nearly put up a warning myself two days ago because it sucked me dry too like a LADY OF THE NIGHT !
1x Honda Generator 20i
1x Magellan XL-topo and street by street maps included
1x 60litre Evalcool fride/freezer,plus $300 evalcool ass (show bonus)
1x Coleman hot water service plus cover,lp accesories
1x Carbon Fibre trout rod and reel
Wanted Icom Radio but they were not there unless i missed them...
Oh rented one donkey to help get the gear back to the car !
My first year and last for awhile...
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:47
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:47
Why didn't you post that warning??!! Never mind, I'm happy with our purchases and glad the kids were with us as that limited our spending and ability to fit everything in the car for the trip
home.
Where did you find that donkey? We just threw the kids out of the pram and used that to help cart the goodies back to the car. The donkey would have been handy to cart the kids all the way back to the car!!
Reply By: Member - Bill F (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 21:58
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 21:58
We have had the Wild Country Travel Shade Car Canopy for a year and it is still working
well, but we don't use the suction cups since sewing on the annex track
Check my photo's
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:48
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:48
Thanks for that Bill. Glad to hear you're happy with the canopy.
Reply By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:19
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:19
We only bought a shower thingy that runs on 12volt and a bucket of warm water, $19.95. My hubby refused to
test it outside on Saturday night. Sook! Its amazing how many gadgets we seem to think need to rough it. First prize went to the 12 volt plug in electric blanket. We had a chuckle over that one. Fantastic show. Cheers. Chris.
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 11:59
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 11:59
I know, I'm just packing the van now for the
Easter break and am amazed about all the stuff I thought I "must have" and haven't used yet!!
We were most amazed by a $4000 tv arial/satelite dish that could pick up your pay tv anywhere in Australia!!
Reply By: HGMonaro - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 13:58
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 13:58
Went Saturday with kids in tow...
well actually they led the way, from van to van... to van.. to another van...
we bought :
- a dunny
- some tablets to go in it
- the most expensive piece of shade cloth invented for use as a door mat (looked great in the demo but wasn't my decision to actually buy it!)
- a sulage hose connector
- a lockable treg pin
- a lockable HR towbar hitch pin (which in hindsight propbably won't fit my ccar with trailer connects where they are next to the hitch)
- a gas lighter
- 2 reusable instant heat pads
- 5 single use instant cold packs
- a expandable clothes basket
- a map
- a digital ammeter
- 1 bucket of chips (we took our lunch)
- 3 ice creams
- 2 bags of brochures (mostly NT and WA)
- probably something else I can't remember
was going to buy a Coleman HWS but couldn't carry it... someone must have taken the donkey
home with them!
Cheers, Nige
Follow Up By: elmack - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:22
Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 08:22
You win Nige!
Your kids sound like ours, van hopping like there was no tomorrow.
Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:22
Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:22
might win the variety of items, but not the total $$$ spent!
Follow Up By: elmack - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 04:27
Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 04:27
You sure?? You did buy a bucket of chips and 3 icecreams didn't you? I had to take out a second mortgage just to get the 5 icecreams/gelatis I bought!!
Cheers :)
Reply By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 20:02
Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 20:02
Hi Elmack
I looked at the Ozpig too,missus grabbed my hand real quick as i reached for the wallet,Laughed twenty steps along and said thats how easy its too save a couple hundred bucks-cheeky bugger
Pssst .Could you let me know (after a few uses) how it goes as a cooker or heater, bleep e here she comes
catch ya
Follow Up By: elmack - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 20:55
Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 20:55
I almost felt that way when I saw it too, I knew my hubby would want it! But after finding out what it did I was ok with him to buy it (don't tell him though, I've got to have something to hold over him)!
We tried it when we got
home and it produced a good heat. We will be away at
Bright for the Easter break and will be taking that with us so I can let you know exactly how it performed. Will need it to boil the billy, use with the Dutch oven, jaffles, marshmellows etc... Will definitely need it as a heater as it can get quite cold at night up in
Bright, I'll let you know how good it is at that too!
Follow Up By: elmack - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 09:49
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 09:49
Pssst warfer69, the Ozpig worked a treat. Kept as warm at night and was fantastic boiling the billy in the morning, cooking toasties for lunch and skewers on the hot plate for dinner!
Hubby's going to rig it up in the shed at
home so he can keep warm in there while he watches the footy - for that purpose alone it's worth it's weight in gold!!
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 22:47
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 22:47
Heah was only thinking the other night about not hearing from you..So does he think it puts out the same amount of heat as a pot belly stove ????
thanks for the message
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 09:41
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 09:41
I'd think a pot belly would throw a bit more heat as it's made of cast iron and the Ozpig is a converted 9kg gas bottle. I think the cast iron would hold/radiate heat better somehow?! That said though, we were kept nice and toastie the few really cold nights we had up in
Bright.
Have you checked out their website?