Love the car BUT

Submitted: Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:58
ThreadID: 43667 Views:2832 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
As you know I got the new car on Friday, It looks great, goe's great and perfect for the job its about to do.

Trouble is the poxy dealer and there bull bleep .

I got the finance on Monday signed the papers Tuesday, they told me I could pick it up Friday.

I asked if it was one of the cars in need of repair as part of the recall, she told me she would find out and have it done by Friday.

Today they rang me to book it in for the recall, when I told them I'd asked when I bought it, they told me they would do it, the service manager had never been told.

Friday I pick it up, but first its not detailed yet, so I go and get the snorkel for it, 1 hour later I'm back the sales girl said they will be finished in 5 min ok I say and wait.

The car turns up in 2 min yip yar I say, the sales girl say ok just some last minute paper work, no problem I go inside to sort it, First I'm given the spare keys then the service book then the after care warranty and the the rego papers, then my jaw dropped she hands me the gap insurance papers.

I told her that I didn't ask for it, she said oh no we just put it in as standard, so I asked if this is required by Esanda she said no but its good to have, my response was I didn't want it and I didn't ask for it, her response was its to late they have been paid.

So $1300 was added to the loan I didn't know about, equates to $35 per month.

So tomorrow I'm going cancel it.

BASTARDS

Cheers Steve.

PS the car wasn't cleaned properly.

Reply By: joc45 - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:16

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:16
Dob the pr!ck$ into consumer affairs!
And since the car wasn't properly prepared, ask them if they're prepared to reduce the delivery fee, after all, that's the sort of thing they say the delivery fee is for.
Gerry
AnswerID: 229879

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:24

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:24
Not the dealer down by the bridge into town by any chance???
AnswerID: 229884

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:45

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:45
Thats Bridge Auto's
Not them but Bridge Auto's Palmerston, the thing that gets me is I told them if you look after me now I'll trade in 3 cars same time next year.
They blew that, That is going to cost them $150000 + that will fix them.
Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 490652

Reply By: barney rubble - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:25

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:25
Gday steve another thing to watch for is the stamp duty as you will pay duty on the full amount financed plus any accessories added by the dealer in other words the total amount paid to the dealer is what you pay stamp duty on
that is i presume this applies in NT i found the hard way how this works in WA
but soon youll forget all this and just enjoy ya new toy
AnswerID: 229902

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:44

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:44
This is the funny thing, sales girl takes me next door to be sold all the add ons, I told add ons girl not interested as it should already be done.

Add ons girl takes me to finance girl, she asks me if I want after care warranty, I say provided I can have it serviced in Jabiru yes, she then asks if I want the stamp duty on the loan I say no as this will increase the loan repayments.

So she knows that I want to keep repayments to a minimum, I even put in a substantial deposit not required for the loan.

So she new that the only way to get commission on something was not to ask.

Next year when they ring I will let them know how much they will lose.

Love the car and will get over it just had to vent my spleen.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 490683

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:46

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:46
Very few dealers actually realise that if they give good sales service, and good maintenance & servicing, that they will most likely get the trade in business and new sales.

Vote with your feet.

The yard i bought my veicle off 3 yesr ago stuffed me around and cost me dollars lost my servicing business. The yard that has provided good service over the time will get the trade in and new vehicle purchase.

AnswerID: 229912

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:22

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:22
Ohhhh Yeahhhhh.

Not a car dealer but it reinforces your point. Many years ago while on a trip my GQ clutch started to slip as I was driving out of Broken Hill. A quick u turn and a stop at the Fire Station to ask who they would recommend later I pull up outside a mechanic.

Anyway to cut a long story short he did more than I could have expected any mechanic to do, including ringing regular customers to put them off so he could get mine done quick.

At the time neither of us expected me to be back in Broken Hill. Then 6 years later I move into town. You can guess who got the job of servicing my car for the next 4.5 years.

Gerald Muscat on the corner of Bromide and Cobalt Street. Good mechanic, great bloke, in case you were wondering.

FollowupID: 490696

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:25

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:25
Oh and the tyre dealer who abused me when I asked him to look at the damage on my tyres. No I won't tell you his name but I won't shop there either, I'd rather run on bare rims. He's on the corner of Chapple St and that other one with the wide median strip.

FollowupID: 490697

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 08:10

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 08:10
Sounds a bit like you've been conned. Everything they sell to you means more commission/profit for them.
Dealer Delivery Fee, it is not an enforceable fee. If you choose not to pay it they can either accept your offer or you walk out the door. Just because they make an offer to sell you something at a given price, doesn't mean that's the price you have to pay. It's your choice.
I've never yet seen a sales invoice where the details of the DDF have been listed ie. a breakdown of every dollar. They won't - they can't.
Remember, buy with your head - not your heart and until such time consumers make their purchases that way, there will always be cases of rip-off/exploitation.
p.s. if they claim they 'just included it as standard' tell them 'they can just take it out' - as standard - your terms - you don't pay for things you didn't order/approve/authorise..
Lucky you, hope you get heaps of enjoyment from the new wheels.
AnswerID: 229961

Reply By: joc45 - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:03

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:03
I'll still tell the story from the late '80's of a Ford dealer (in Perth's southern suburbs, somewhere out on the Range) who, after assuring me that a Mav was in stock when I signed, let me wait over 10 weeks for delivery. Meantime, I had sold my old vehicle privately, so had very limited transport. Made every excuse along the way.
Then they installed a cheap non-genuine air con, despite the contract stating factory air. That fell apart about 18 months later, and after demands to Ford Aust, the dealer fitted a proper factory air con.
And the servicing, without changing filters, but charging.
Will keep telling this story to deter people from going to those sleazebags ever again. Still keep all the documentation on this in case they decide to sue me for defamation.
Gerry
AnswerID: 229971

Reply By: Juzzy - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 11:24

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 11:24
Why don't people want to name names (dealerships) here?

I find these experiences people have interesting and try to take on board the pit falls so as to try and avoid them myself in the future.

This would be of even more benefit if I knew (as would others) who *not* to deal with as much as who *to* deal with.
AnswerID: 229993

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 18:01

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 18:01
i think the site can be sued
FollowupID: 490858

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 19:08

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 19:08
normal crap.

average life expectancy of a car sales rep must be measured in months.
AnswerID: 230085

Reply By: Member - Hurkmagurk (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 14:01

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 14:01
Bought an Audi A4 four years ago, thinking it would be my one and only "luxury" car prior to retiring. Within weeks it was on a truck being taken back to The Audi Centre Perth, as one cylinder was totally fouled, and running on only three pots. This happened another three or four times over the next four years. I have been told twice it was due to a faulty coil pack on that plug, and twice that it was a faulty plug.

A letter to the Audi Centre, then to Audi Australia, and then ultimately to Audi Germany, all resulted in platitudes and apologies and assurances that the problem was solved. As an act of "good faith", they extended my warranty from 2 years to 3. It seemed to me that cylinder 4 was not sealing properly, but do you think I could get them to accept that?

Will I ever think about buying another Audi ( or their parent, VW)? HARDLY

There, I feel better now, but I appreciate how others with bad car purchases feel too.
AnswerID: 230240