Galvanised box trailer

Submitted: Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 21:20
ThreadID: 43427 Views:10048 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Anyone bought a new gal standard 6b4 or 7b4 trailer in Brisbane recently. I need a new one as fraser has taken it toll now on my second steel one. Galvanised should last longer hey. Any places recommended and approx $ would be appreciated thanks.

Reply By: Dave198 - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 21:28

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 21:28
I am not having a shot at anyone who goes to Fraser Island, it must be a great place, but, if you have gone through two trailers.
What must it be doing to the vehicles that go there.
Think I might get out my Lightburn Zeta to go there when I go.

AnswerID: 228431

Follow Up By: Mav1 - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 21:36

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 21:36
Dave, let me clarify, was about 7yrs use for the two and both were 2nd hand when i got them and probably just as much damage done sitting at home full of rubbish waiting for dump trip. But now as I thought a spangly galvanised might last longer.
FollowupID: 489189

Follow Up By: Camoco - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 08:04

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 08:04
Hi Dave,
Bit off topic but......
How long have you had your Zeta?
I had an old mate that had one but I haven't seen him for a while. Not sure if he still has it. They are a great little unit. Does yours still run?

Cheers Cam
FollowupID: 489225

Follow Up By: Dave198 - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 08:58

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 08:58
G'day Cam, it was just an off the cuff comment about how to avoid the effects of salt air/water on the vehicle.
I haven't really got a Zeta, but they would probably be OK on Fraser Island because of the fibreglass body.
Can't think of any other vehicle at the moment that had/has a fireglass body.
I think the little pothole explorer wheels might be a problem there though wouldn't they?

Mav1, I know what you mean about trailers rusting out while sitting around with rubbish in them.
I have an old trailer in that condition now because I used to leave it half full of garden rubbish while waitng around to fill it right up and make the refuse depot fees worthwhile.
I am a bit of a tightar$e and don't like paying the fee for a full trailer when I only have it half full.

FollowupID: 489234

Follow Up By: Camoco - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:07

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:07
Hey Dave,
ooooh I got a bit excited there!!!
I am not sure they would be much good on sand like you say but at least you could carry it out of the soft stuff. Try that with a 2000kg+ unit.

At least when it stuffed (if ever) you could always make a cement mixer out of it.!

On the trailer issue, I have a trailer that I bought new in a hurry two years ago. It has copped quite a bit of work since. I am always careful to leave it empty but you shoud see the rust trying to get a hold. No it hasn't even been near the beach. I reckon it was just informally introduced to a painting spray gun. No primer or top coat, just a lick for colour.

A well designed galvanised unit should last a lifetime (for rust anyway). I emphasise the well designed bit as not many are. Steel fabrications need to be designed to suit galvanising to ensure all surfaces are properly coated and the zinc gets out, or you could end up with problems.

Cheers Cam
FollowupID: 489479

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:39

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:39
"Can't think of any other vehicle at the moment that had/has a fireglass body."

Go gO GO

Goggomobile Dart!
FollowupID: 489493

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 10:14

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 10:14
Corvette.

Leroy
FollowupID: 489497

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 21:31

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 21:31
Try Dave at Customline trailers - Beenleigh.
Gotone of hid about 12 months ago.
He will get them hot dip galvanised for you.
Was about $200.00 more.
AnswerID: 228432

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:30

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:30
There used to be a trailer Manufacturer at Rocklea near Iveco IH , they were sending the Box Trailer to that were sent to Industrial Galvanizers at Carole Park , I can't remember what the brand name was

AnswerID: 228460

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:33

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:33
Try this one

Site Link

FollowupID: 489199

Reply By: porl - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:47

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:47
Well i live in brissie and recently I saw advertised plastic trailers. You know, the same sort of stuff they make water tanks out of i spose. So if it's only rust that worries you ...

here's a link - bottom right hand corner of the images, poly trailer i think it's called.

www.polyworld.com.au/products.htm
AnswerID: 228463

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 09:50

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 09:50
My box trailer is 16mm ply, it doesn't rust either, just the steel chassis. :o
FollowupID: 489244

Reply By: spliney - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 07:23

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 07:23
Northside - excellent trailers. Not cheapest, but worth considering.

Belco Custom Trailers
248 Leitchs Rd Brendale QLD 4500
ph: (07) 3205 7955

Spliney
AnswerID: 228482

Reply By: Mark Taylor - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 09:55

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 09:55
Just trailers at Rocklea make good trailers and can galvanise if you like. I have one of theirs for a base for my CT.. but not gal though.

Or be cheap and nasty and buy a gal one from bunnings stafford.

MT
AnswerID: 228509

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 11:27

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 11:27
Aspinall Trailers in Coopers Plains. Had mine made in 2000. Has done numerous Fraser trips and other outback jaunts. Has so far not one hint of rust. Lives permanently outside in the weather too.

Cost about $2100 from memory, a 7x4x500mm box with a bit of customizing.
AnswerID: 228538