Melbourne to Ayers rock - Quickest route

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 10:38
ThreadID: 42959 Views:9492 Replies:8 FollowUps:19
Hey guys (oops ..and girls!)
Im driving up to Ayers rock next week (will be working there for 6 months) and having some debate with the guys at work about which is the quickest route to take?? planning on staying coober pedy first night ( yep - a pretty long haul first day, - I will only continue past port augusta if i feel up to it.)

The point of debate is the route from Vic - S.A. Border to Port Augusta...???

any suggestions??
also, accomodation coober pedy??

Jarrod.

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 10:57

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 10:57
If you are looking for smoothest route, and, I would think, fastest route, I would just go through Adelaide - Dukes Highway to Princes Highway through Adelaide and North to Portagutta.

Travel Mate Map

See - it is pretty much as straight line as you will get.

Accommodation - I like to get out of town to Painted Desert but you have to camp there. What sort of accomm did you want?
AnswerID: 225585

Follow Up By: Jarrod OK - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:01

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:01
Thanks Andrew,

as for accomodation, just a very basic room/cabin for the night. - in the Landcruiser but wont have the camp gear.

Jarrod.
FollowupID: 486507

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:53

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:53
I've stayed at Opal Inn Caravan Park - very nice. Quite exy...

Just remember that is 18 hours travel you are planning - that is a really big day. I do that sort of thing from time to time (Did Gundagai to Adelaide in one day recently which is getting up to that long, and regularly do Adelaide to Alice in a day), but you really need to be disciplined and stop immediately you need to for a rest.

For me that 20 minute road-side gives me another three hours or so.

You'd want to book the Opal Inn if you're arriving late, which is a little counter-intuitive ... especially if you mightn't make it. They might not have late reception.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 486514

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 16:08

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 16:08
Andrew,

When doing Brisy to Canberra, or Sydney, or Townsville, or Albury/Wodonga, or Longreach etc, I usually like to wind the windows down at every 60k and 80k zone and blow the cob webs out, no matter how hot it is, as good as a stop.
Then have a good half hour stop when I stop for a meal every 3 to 4 hours.
Or even a 30 minute nap once over 600/800k.

On the dirt, I try and stop every couple of hours, if there aren't any obstacles to check out.

You find the same?
FollowupID: 486541

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 17:03

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 17:03
If you need to stay overnight at Portagutta there's a charming motel on the road in which is gaily decorated with salt foam from the swamp and they have a honeymoon suite that has a queen size 1970's waterbed.

Now that's romance!
FollowupID: 486544

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 20:48

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 20:48
Hi there Oldplodder.

My habits:

Drive with the windows down - yeah, I know... it is probably worse for economy than having the aircon on, but that is just me.

Wind them up and put on the air con when it is hot hot or when the phone rings (too often in the most unusual of places) or when you want to listen or contribute to the mindless drivel on the UHF - usually to point out the magpies on the road, or the quality of the photography gear set up on the side of the road, but sometimes just to tell some bored trucky what all the graffiti on your car is about - what do for a living, or to tell him and his mates to slow down so you can make a decent photograph of them in convoy ;-)

Unless you like the road-side cuisine ... just stop for good coffee - you get to know most of the good places, and bemoan the habit of country town cafes of closing at 2PM, although you might stop at McCafes for coffee too.

Drink a lot of water (1 litre per hour on hot days) and usually stop to water the horse every couple of hours.

Other than that try not to stop. Try to minimise fuel stops even, and keep yourself entertained by trying to guess what my mileage and range will be based on the terrain, the load, whether the aircon is on, and how fast you're going.

Have a fridge and carry food and drink with you. It's much more interesting and cheaper to - smoked salmon, cream cheese, onion (if it wasn't pinched at the border) and capers with cracked pepper on a lovely fresh roll for the price of a hot dog, washed down with Mango Juice or Iced Coffee or Iced Tea.

Listen to the radio, and when anything interesting is out of range, put on loud music - not heavy metal, but all sorts of other stuff from Beethoven to Bat out of hell.

You might find that a 20 minute snooze is as good as a 30 minute ... put the phone alarm on so you don't oversleep - don't want to be late for work.

One time on the way back from Alice on a hot hot hot day I parked in a creek bed under the shade of a coolabah tree and whilst I was dreaming of jumbucks my phone alarm when off and vibrated it's off button against the console ... I woke up an hour later rather surprised, because I had ants all over me ... they had climbed up the tires and into the vehicle and the road home was a very itchy bitey one.

Why sleep in Portagutta when you can sleep in Adelaide or at Mambray Creek in Mt Remarkable National Park?

Andrew.
FollowupID: 486579

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 21:40

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 21:40
Andrew, that's my preferred long distance technique down to a tee. Spookily so as a matter of fact.

I like to get a real early start as I find the hours before 7.00am 'freebies' in the big scheme of things. They seem to go so quickly for some reason and you can cover a hell of a lot of ground in those pre-dawn hours.

FollowupID: 486604

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 08:41

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 08:41
Agree with you Andrew & V8diesel.

Apologies to Jarrod for pinching his thread. :o)

Yep, every hour before 7am is a bonus, but I am not normally an early riser, so 4 or 5am is early enough for me. My danger time is 2pm to 4pm, then I wake up again and good to 10 or 11pm. Dangerous after that with an early start, time for a few hours nap. But that will get me well over 1000k. I reckon the truckies will be having a good laugh at this, but I reckon they build up system of sustaining themselves over long distance.

I always drink water, and try not to eat anything with too much sugar or carbohydrates. Fruit is a favourite, as well as a few nuts. Stop occasionally for a burger and a ginger beer, usaually at the same time for fuel every 700 to 1000k. Same with the family. Boys used to be able to do 1000k/day without too much problem. Only hassle is the bladder is anot as good at holding as it used to be :o)

Learnt my lesson about temperature. Don't get a cosy temperture in the car. Had the boys and wife with me a while ago now and wife put on the heater (was winter southern NSW) and after an hour I was battling to keep the eyes open at about 9pm. Wound down the window in a small town and all was OK. Keep it cool or hot, but not cosy. Only ocassionally listen to the radio and music, but have the UHF on most of the time.

Do plenty of mental sums, guessing distances, working out fuel consumption, kms to next town, and always keep your eyes moving, rear, front, guages etc.
FollowupID: 486662

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 10:35

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 10:35
Crikey, this is turning into twilight zone material. My missus even has the special 'car blanket' which she loads up for any big drive because I refuse to use the heater as it makes me dangerously dozy. Even the windows up for too long makes me feel sleepy.

A greasy roadhouse burger (they taste different) and a stubby of Bundaberg ginger beer is one of my occasional special on the road treats. I avoid them at midday as they make me sleepy, but at about 3 or 4 I'm starving and it'll keep me going for the rest of the night. A tub of wet ones in the centre console cleans the fingers afterwards.

The 20 minute mid afternoon power kip does wonders.

Searching the radio for stations (search function is no good for this). Did you know the factory GU Patrol radio has short wave band? I miss that feature.

I prefer driving alone as singing my made up songs can get to people after a while as can my special 'wake up' CD's. The in car drum kit and one note trumpet can bore passengers too.

Even a having a slash becomes fun. There's the 'write my name', the 'long distance howitzer slash' (ant nests are a good enemy target), the 'lord of the pizz rings', the 'Colorado miner' aka 'bubble bubble toil and trouble' and the 'centre of the road coz I'm in the middle of nowhere' slash.

The mental sums are good too, plenty of them. I keep an eye out for the SLK pegs which are smaller galvanised posts well off the side of the road which Main Roads use to find specific bits of road. These are not the normal road markers eg SC30.

FollowupID: 486680

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:33

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:33
( yep - a pretty long haul first day, - I will only continue past port augusta if i feel up to it.)

Are you crazy, a 19 hrs drive and 1600 odd kays in 1 day. You must be keen.

AnswerID: 225591

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:43

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:43
Was thinking the same thing, very keen in deed.

FollowupID: 486513

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 00:14

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 00:14
It can be done, but not advisory to do. My longest was Townsville to Adelaide with only about 3 or 4hrs rest near Narrandera. I prefer travelling at night, particularly the wee hours but be very careful of falling into a kind of trance, or even halucinating.

This happened on this trip just after the Gundagai turnoff at around 2am-ish. Found myself swerving over the road and after a quick shake of the head I realised I was seeing ghostly figures walking across the road...I bleep you not. No beans or anything taken untoward except liberal amounts of coffee and coke but my mind was literally fried from the 2,300-odd kms of road behind me. My eyes were totally awake but my brain was exhausted. This is a common and VERY dangerous phase to be in.

I am a bit older now and have 3 beautiful kids, and I will never EVER contemplate doing this again. Unless by myself I avoid driving in the late hours, even though some good time can be made.

FollowupID: 486640

Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 13:09

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 13:09
What are you doing at the rock?
AnswerID: 225606

Follow Up By: slave - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:45

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:45
I don't know what Jarrod is doing, but do know that there is a new chef flying up there next week to start work.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 486534

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:29

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:29
Quickest route is via Q.A.N.T.A.S....! LOL
AnswerID: 225614

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:55

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:55
Then he would have to join the Mile High club.
FollowupID: 486536

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 15:22

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 15:22
Yes but I believe Qantas still have Lisa Robertson and he should travel on her shift..! LOL
FollowupID: 486537

Follow Up By: marcus - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 16:13

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 16:13
Apparently QANTAS has a new slogan
Quickies Available Nearest Toilet Ask Staff
FollowupID: 486542

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 18:33

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 18:33
I just checked the fares Melb To Laun - Quantas 4 times the price of the others. No wonder you can get extras !?!?
FollowupID: 486556

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 20:51

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 20:51
Cheaper just to put an extension snorkel on Gerhardp1 and drive the Bass Straight.
FollowupID: 486582

Reply By: Dave198 - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 21:33

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 21:33
I was talking to a truckie on the Wentworth - Broken Hill Road the other day and he was going Melbourne -Perth with a wide load.
I haven't checked the mileage, but maybe Melb- Mildura- Broken Hill- Peterborough- Pt Augusta then North might be quicker.
Melbourne - Mildura would be the busiest as far as various towns ans speed limits are concerned.
After Mildura, there are not many towns to slow down for.
I think attempting to get to Coober Pedy in one day is overly ambitious.
It's still about 800Kms to to Ayers Rock from Coober Pedy if I remeber right, so it is another big drive.
I drive 900kms a day 5 days a week and I really look forward to putting my head down after each day.
Stop for a short break and stretch your legs every two hours or so is my recommendation.
AnswerID: 225704

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 23:12

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 23:12

the travel planners calculate that route to be 210 km and 1 H 45 m longer

Through Mildura & Morgan - 40 km and 15 m longer

FollowupID: 486877

Reply By: tonysmc - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 22:20

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 22:20
Jarrod, the best way for you would be straight from Melbourne to Adelaide and then straight up the guts. I have done this trip now a number of times and the problem with trying to cut "across country" is all those little towns and in some places there maybe just a wheat silo and a train crossing, you have to slow down to 80 and then down to 60 and then back up to 80 and then by the time you are up to 100 again you come into another place where you are slowing down again. It feels as if you are getting no where. As you get closer to Port Augusta the roads are very hilly and not as straight as they look on the map, so again you are constantly slowing down. I am not sure of the speed limit for the road out of Adelaide now, however I found it much better traveling, flat and a constant speed. If work out a route and add up the K's, I think you will find you will not save that many by going off the main drag. Also between PA and Coober Pedy there is stacks off roos at night. It is VERY dangerous as all you see is the hump of there backs and they look just like the salt bushes on the side of the road until they stick there heads up and start moving.
Hope this helps. Tony.
AnswerID: 225715

Reply By: Jarrod OK - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 22:48

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 22:48
Thanks all to who replied. Having regard to most peoples advice, I think my plan will be Day one - Melb to Port Augusta - about 1100 KM, then day Two Port to the rock. - about the same. - however if at any stage im not feeling up to it, - then that will be it for the day. - a strict rule of mine.

Thanks for the Advice guys, nice to know complete strangers have my best interests at heart!!

- and yes, best to arrive late, and still awake, rather than not at all.

OH - and for whoever wanted to know, I have a six month contract there as a Helicopter pilot.

Hope you all enjoy your winter as much as i am about to enjoy mine!!! (mainly my Melbourne brothers and sisters...)

Jarrod.
AnswerID: 225721

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:30

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:30
All the best Jarrod,

Can you pls send me the details of the co you are working for, or your conact details? andrew at vividadventures dotcom dotau ...

Andrew.
FollowupID: 486754

Follow Up By: Jarrod OK - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 22:47

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 22:47
Hey Andrew - will be flying with Ayer's Rock Helicopters.

all details here...

Site Link

Jarrod.
FollowupID: 486874

Reply By: WA 1968 - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 22:31

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 22:31
JArrod..see you at Malankas night club next Thursday...thats when me and 35 collegues are hitting town for a golf trip and the races on Saturday...hope they don't run out of Carona again this time
AnswerID: 225956