Caravan, Camper Trailer or Tent around Oz ?

Submitted: Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 17:37
ThreadID: 42940 Views:9383 Replies:15 FollowUps:16

Heading off in a few months around oz for a year long trip with the wife and 1 year old baby. We had planned on taking a heavy duty offroad camper trailer with an aluminium dinghy on top, towed behind our 80 series petrol landcruiser. Although it appears to be a pretty good setup there seems to be a few drawbacks due to the extra weight and setup times (depending on chosen model), not to mention the associated costs !

In light of the above we have been looking at the following alternatives :

1. Taking the Oztent on the roof rack and hiring a dinghy at certain spots

This eliminates the additional fuel costs with towing the CT and dinghy, initial purchase prices and inconvenience of having to tow all the way around Oz. Will also give us better access to more remote locations however we may possibly have to sacrifice a few creature comforts that come with the CT.Setup time with the tent will be about the same as with the CT.

As a mad fisherman not having a dinghy will be hard in certain places but not sure how much it will actually get used by myself, hence the thought of hiring one at certain spots with the option of a few charters.

2. Towing a smallish caravan (possibly off road -if there is such a beast ?)

With this option we would obviously need to leave it at some caravan parks along the way while we head off for some off road trips witht the Oz tent ie Kimberlys and Cape York. May mean a bit off back tracking to come back and pick up the caravan however we will still have some comforts for the wife and baby for the majority of the time, especially if we get some wet days. Obviously purchase costs and fuel costs will be lot more. This option also seems to be a bit better for security of valuables also.

Hoping to hear from some of you who have travelled this great country with any of the methods above who could help me decide the pros and cons of all three options. We realise the end choice is ours however we hope the feedback form those that have done it will help make our trip of a lifetime even better !!

Birdy

Reply By: Keenycruiser - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:02

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:02
I have done it with all three and the best way is go in a caravan and take your OZ tent. You will get fed up with a camper trailer especially if you want to stop and have lunch or feed bub. With a caravan you just open the door and you have comfort. We left our caravan at Cooktown and travelled up Cape York and got cheap accommodation at roadhouses and properties and only used the OZ tent when it was too costly or not available. If you plan it properly you can leave the caravan in one spot and make a round tour back to the 'van without retracing your journey.
AnswerID: 225459

Follow Up By: Birdy - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 20:14

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 20:14
Thanks for the info. I agree with the benefit of instant comfort however the adventure camper we were looking at has a pretty good setup regarding the kitchen for lunchtime stops. I like the idea of being able to get the baby out of the heat or wet instantly in the caravan.

Thanks - Birdy

FollowupID: 486404

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:04

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:04
for me there would be only one solution .. no brainer .. but thats just me :

solid walls ... .. why .. it's the baby ..
get a small aircon and make it comfortable ...

all other more adventure type travel .. later when the kid(s) are a bit older
(4-5+) ..

solid walls either means slide-on or caravan ... most likely caravan ..

ok thats just me ...

I have travelled long distance on my motorbike with a tent and around the world
5 star and everything in between ... as soon as babies and mothers with little kids:
aircon in solid walls ..

good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 225463

Follow Up By: Birdy - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 20:20

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 20:20
Thanks GMD.

Aircon in the Aussie heat would definately be an advantage for the baby (& us !) We dont mind roughing it in a tent its really only the heat, cold and rain may get a little testing !! Like the caravan idea however still a little doubtful as we like to get off the beaten track a lot to quite remote places. Guess something is going to have to be sacrificed - either better protection from the elements or certain destinations !

Guess the other problem with a caravan is that we will probably have to stay in caravan parks a lot more as opposed to 'bush camping' which will also cost more.

Decisions, decisions......

Birdy
FollowupID: 486408

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 23:06

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 23:06
a caravan does not mean to go to caravan parks all the time ..
buy a small one .. still larger than a roof top tent ..
Babies and young kids do not cope with heat very well ....
you can also travel in cooler areas then it is easier ..
my wife did not cope well with heat after she had our kids ..
she does not cope too well in general with above 40 but shortly
after the kids it was worse ..

teething, infections, the everyday little things .. all no real drama
but all easier in a small caravan with a decent aircon ...
just my 3c
gmd
FollowupID: 486443

Follow Up By: Birdy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 11:29

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 11:29
Going to look at some smallish caravans this week at Perth Caravan & Camping Show. Oz tent is not a roof top tent, its a brand name for a tent that erects on the ground in 30 seconds +

Definately thinking along the lines of a caravan for the aircon !!!!

Birdy
FollowupID: 486682

Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 19:18

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 19:18
There are some secondhand caravans up to the task here!

From an very rugged Jayco type to full van

Site Link

I wouald agree to go van with baby as protection from elements can be hard
AnswerID: 225485

Follow Up By: Birdy - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 20:21

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 20:21
Cheers Alan,

Checked out the site - look pretty good but not cheap hey ???!! Guess nothing is when you want to go Off Road !!!

Birdy
FollowupID: 486409

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 09:29

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 09:29
Isn't "rugged Jayco" an oxymoron, like "honest politician"
FollowupID: 486491

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 21:41

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 21:41
Hi Birdy:

My wife and I went around Oz (clockwise) from Gosford, NSW using the Oztent. We travelled 37,500km between March and August and had no problems pitching the tent most nights. Just out of Karratha I did my back in and had to spend 4 nights in a cabin, but thereafter it was all tenting. We had no problems, loved it, had our setup down to a matter of minutes, and would be happy to do it again.

Our Oztent has all the bells and whistles, side and front panels, fly, and the Ozpod.

We had the choice of dragging a camper trailer with us but elected not to and did not regret the decision.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 225515

Follow Up By: Birdy - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 22:24

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 22:24
Thanks for the reply Jack.

We also love our Oztent (RV3) and even though it may be a little small for us now we have a young baby, we still think it may be ok. A recent week long camping trip with our 12 week old baby was fine in the tent and only complaint was it may be a little small for the three of us once she is a little older. May be worth us upgrading to the RV4 !

Pretty sure the tent will be fine however its really the heat (ie days over 40 degrees) that I am worried the baby may get too hot if she needs a sleep during the day (or can drive around in the cruiser with the aircon on- JJ !). I guess thats why we are also thinking of taking a caravan aswell as the tent.

Wish we could just take the tent but need to consider the little one !!!

Birdy
FollowupID: 486438

Reply By: Im.away - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 00:23

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 00:23
Yeh, do what the softies suggest and get a caravan. Then see about half of Australia. Or you to do a car topper or an offroad camper trailer and see a lot more.

It really depends a lot on just where you intend to go. There are a few, a very few, caravans that can cut it in the rough stuff, there are a lot more camper trailers that can cut it, and all car toppers should romp it in.

The setup/pulldown time of campers is an issue for sure...but have you ever watched people erect cartoppers? What a giggle that can be.
AnswerID: 225545

Follow Up By: Birdy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 11:34

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 11:34
Definately not a softie mate !!! Will not see any less of Australia with a caravan and tent as caravan would be only a base whilst we went and explored in the tent for up to a couple of weeks at a time. At least this way if it is 45 degrees or pouring rain we can make the decision to put of the trek until the weather is better whilst we hang in aircon comfort !

Not thinking of buying Off road type caravan as I am aware they are not designed as 'fully off road', hence why we were looking at a camper trailer. As mentioned above, only thinking of the comfort for the little one !

Not even considering roof top camper with a baby !

Birdy
FollowupID: 486684

Follow Up By: Im.away - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:27

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:27
Birdy,
We have the Kimberley Kamper "Classic" model and we love it. We don't have kids to worry about anymore but one thing we soon discovered was that the packing/unpacking is a bit of an issue. It helps if you are very organised and have a place for everything, but if you want a few of life's little comforts you end up carrying a fair bit of stuff on the top of the camper - stuff that has to come off before you can pop the camper open.

There are times when I've pondered getting a van, but it only lasts until we get to places that a van definitely couldn't. We have resolved to spend a minimum of two nights wherever we go, just to make it worthwhile going through the whole packing/unpacking thing.

The good thing is that the Kamper goes anywhere the car can go and the car can go anywhere....Land Rover Disco3 TDV6. We also carry a tent, air mattresses and sleeping bags - to be sure to be sure as they say.

We have the dinghy of the top of the camper, outboard on a rack on the drawbar. It truly is a great rig...but with a one year old?

Dunno birdy.....I'm not sure that caravan, camper, car-topper have any advantages over each other when it comes to a bub. All I can suggest is to be prepared to pay for motel/apartment accommodation on those occasions when the weather really does turn on you, or when bub is sick or out-of-sorts (even if you do go for a caravan - I've stayed in a van at a caravan park for a week when it just didn't stop raining. It was hell on earth being cooped up in there and getting soaked every time we needed to go to the dunny, getting soaked from the condensation inside the van.) Otherwise, all things considered, I'd go for a camper trailer any day.
FollowupID: 486731

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 09:13

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 09:13
Travellers can adapt to any rig of course - hell - we see people on postie bikes through to huge busses - we chose a hard floor camper trailer because it has a mix of convenient comfort and carrying capacity (keeps some weight off the car wheels - allows me to take more toys). Our longest trip has been 5 weeks to date - IMO, your year long trip calls for more comfort ! As others have said, a van would be great, especially when you can flip the air-con on in some of those sweaty caravan parks in the far north (35 degs easy in their 'winter'). With a tent to do a few short side trips, that only leaves the fishing factor - hiring a tinny or doing the odd charter seems the go - I'm a bloody materialist (would be happier with my own tinny while up there) but I'm trying to fight it - hiring can be so sensible in the right circumstances........ you could easily carry a canoe...........
but choose a colour crocs don't like !
AnswerID: 225576

Follow Up By: Birdy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 11:42

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 11:42
Darian,

I agree with what you have said above. It will kill me without my own dinghy and I know I will kick my self when I reach certain places without it but unfortunately sometimes things need to be sacrificed. As it will only be me using it, not sure how many times will be able to just get up and go. Would have to wake baby and wife early, get them to drop me off at ramp and pick me up at pre arranged time whilst I leave them sitting at camp - not sure how well that will go down ?!! If we go with some mates thats a different story, will definately have to take our own boat !

The only practical solution I can see is to hire dinghys where possible. Seems to be quite a few places this can be done and at least I get to still fish !! Saves towing one around and besides all that, if I do take a caravan - where do I put the dinghy.

Birdy
FollowupID: 486685

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:16

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:16
Hi Birdy,

While we have yet to do the "big lap", we have done a fair amount of camping. When our kids were younger we had an off-road van that was very comfortable (air-con etc...) and made life easy with young kids. But its sheers size (was only 13"6') was too big for many tracks and I severly damaged both sides of the van (required a re-skin). I found rough tracks not to be an issue, but tight tracks were the biggest problem when towing a van.

Now that our kids are older, we have a camper trailer that can go virtually anywhere a vehicle can go. We find it great, but gotta admit it would be a big ask to do this for a year - a few weeks to months maybe.

Setting up and packing up a canvas tent/trailer in fine weather is easy, but what about when it is freezing cold and poring with rain - thats just not fun and having to worry about a very young child makes it more unpleasant.

Having had a tent, camper trailer and a van, the only way I could contemplate a year long trip would be in the van (and a tent for those times the van won't fit). Maybe I am too soft, but thats the way I would go (but would love to have your problem!).

AnswerID: 225589

Follow Up By: Birdy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 11:56

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 11:56

I agree with what you have said. Just never been keen on taking a caravan however in this instance we dont have many other options.

Birdy]
FollowupID: 486686

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:35

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 11:35
Birdy,

I think Darian is spot on, when you travel it is amazing to see that people can travel and be happy in just about anything.

I will take issue with your comparison between set up times in a tent vs a camper trailer. Depends on the camper type, but you can set up a camper trailer much quicker than a tent, and by set up I don't just mean throw the tent out, but set up ready for dinner, a beer and a relax. We travelled in a KK for six months and spent quite a bit of that time with family members who brought tents (including an Oz Tent). We were always relaxing and ready to go well before them. Hard floors are obviously better in this regard than soft floors. That said, I really like the Oz Tents.

I always find it interesting that people tend to focus on set up/pack up times as being how long it takes to physically fold your tent/camper. The difference is, in my opinion, measured in a few minutes. The real time to pack up/set up is the time taken to pack all the crap away ready to fold up. This time is significantly increased when you travel with kids and the attendant, bikes, clothes, shoes, sports gear, toys, etc......, etc. In this regard I think that how your gear is organised and accessed becomes more important than how long it takes to physically pack fold your tent/trailer/caravan. This, I believe, is what gives a decent camper or a caravan the advantage because you can invariably organise your gear better.

Roadside stops for lunch or a cuppa? Yeah, the caravan is the way to go, but again a decent camper trailer will serve you pretty well and are often just as quick. Can't sit inside though unless you bother to set it up.

Aircon would be nice, but it is stating the obvious that you need 240v to run it. This ties you to van parks (in which case you might as well get a decent van) or a generator. Just my personal opinion, but if aircon is a major factor in your decision, you are kind of missing the point of travelling around this country. As someone else suggested, over 12 months you should be able to plan your trip to avoid the worst of the heat.

Im.away was right in suggesting that you ask yourself where you want to go and set up accordingly. A van will seriously limit you (unless you are prepared to leave it and take the tent for short trips), a camper trailer somewhat (but really only the very serious stuff that you may not consider with a 1-2 year old anyway) and a tent/rooftop tent not at all. When you do travel you will pick up heaps of info on great spots from other travellers, and will no doubt change your plans accordingly. That is a great thing, but you will be disappointed if you hear of somewhere you would like to go and find you can't because of your chosen setup. My advice, plan for some decent 4WD stuff.

Again, there is some confusion I think (probably caused by marketeers trying to get their product into a lucrative market) about what constitutes an off road trailer/van. I'd warrant that I could get most caravans available on the market along the Gibb River Road, Mitchell Falls, etc. But what kind of condition will it be in at the end and for how long could you do it before a catastrophic failure? To me, 'off road' is not so much about getting over a tricky, rocky, twisty short section, but doing thousands of kilometres on corrugated/rough dirt roads without significant failure. Here I think most caravans (off road or not) are at a distinct disadvantage to a decent off road camper. Tents are not an issue at all of course.

Lastly you mention coughing up some creature comforts by going from a van or camper to a tent. More than you might think. A week or two away is one thing, but the 12 months you propose is an entirely different kettle of fish and some of those small inconveniences can magnify over that sort of time frame. Still, as Darian pointed out people can, and do, travel with some amazingly simple set ups and still have the time of their life.

I'm obviously camper biased, but good luck with the decision and hope you have a great time.

AnswerID: 225592

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 00:25

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 00:25
Well on my Cape trip I tented it and the others had camper trailers and the set up times were about the same, with many times I was sitting having a beer watching them finish setting up.

It just depends on your set up as to how long it takes and my set up is very basic so is very quick to say the least.

Oh course if i'm staying more that a couple of nights and want to set up tarps etc then it will take me a lot longer thats for sure and also to pack up.

Either way ...... its great to get out and just do it :).

FollowupID: 486641

Follow Up By: Birdy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:51

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:51
Matt,

I hear what you are saying and to be honest I agree. If I had my way all our travel would be to secluded and remote areas accessed only by 4wd. We love camping and 4wdriving and I really dont like the idea of taking a caravan. Had my heart set on a Off Road camper similar to the KK with a dinghy etc. The one thing affecting our accomodation is our 1 year old baby. I need to consider our baby before ourselves and being in a camper or tent, we are bound to get some days of extreme heat no matter how much we try and avoid it.

Aircon - Dont think we are missing the point of travelling around Oz at all. Once again this is purely for the baby not ourselves. My wife and I are happy 'roughing it ' but as the baby is so young its not that easy. We really only have this window of opportunity in the next 10+ years to do this trip and if we dont go now we may not be able to until we are old and grey.

All in all we dont like cities and love both the beauty and solitude of the bush/beach and getting away from it all. If there is a way that I can take a full off road camper trailer then we definately will, as long as our baby doesnt have to suffer in any way.

The main reason of this post was to see how others may have travelled with very young children. Up until this post we hadnt even considered a caravan yet like all methods of travel/accomodation there are pro's and cons.

We appreciate your reply and agree with what you have said, ultimately we are looking at the best scenario possible to make our trip as enjoyable as yours sounds like it was. Something will need to be sacrificed somewhere .......

Birdy
FollowupID: 486707

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:27

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:27
Whatever way you choose to go, it will be a unique experience. Make the most of it.

FollowupID: 486716

Reply By: Member - Helena B (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 12:33

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 12:33
Hi there
I would recommend having a fantastic drawer set up in the back of your car, which you can then use like an onroad kitchen - no need to unpack heaps, which would then give you the flexibility that a caravan/camper would offer, but none of the trailing hassles; then tent it with an oztent stored on the roof. This would give you the best of many worlds, as you can go wherever you like, and have an easy set up at your destination, or an easy pit stop on the road. I have a set of Tanami _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx, and the inevitable fridge, with a small stove which can sit on the rear tray for cooking/tea/coffee etc. We travelled for three months with this set up, with two kids, albeit older than a baby, and at no time did we feel the need for a van or trailer. All the food, plates etc go in the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx, (along with recovery gear in another drawer), then gear can go in the space above it, or in a roof bag if you've got lots of stuff.
Helena
AnswerID: 225600

Follow Up By: Birdy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:52

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:52
Thanks Helena.

we will definately be setting up the cruiser the same way, that way regardless of camper trailer or caravan, when we go exploring with the tent we can have a great setup also.

Birdy
FollowupID: 486709

Reply By: Steve63 - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:27

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:27
Hi Birdy,
We have travelled a variety of ways. All have pros and cons. There is no perfect solution, just one that suits you and your family. The points to consider:
1) Over 12 months you are going to get the full range of weather no matter how much you duck and weave. You have a young child and need to consider the effects of more extreme weather. They get cold, hot and can dehydrate quickly.
2) What do you really want to see and do?
3) On a 12 month trip it is very unlikely that you will move every day. We don't on a six week trip. So if it takes a little longer to set up camp who cares.
4) If your budget is flexible you an always use accomodation if required.
5) It is not always possible to get a tinnie so I would seriously think about taking your own.

AnswerID: 225613

Follow Up By: Birdy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:59

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:59
1) Over 12 months you are going to get the full range of weather no matter how much you duck and weave. You have a young child and need to consider the effects of more extreme weather. They get cold, hot and can dehydrate quickly.

Agreed, hence why we are looking at options to the Camper trailer

2) What do you really want to see and do?

Lots of fishing and sight seeing, especially arounfd the Kimberleys, NT and Cape York

3) On a 12 month trip it is very unlikely that you will move every day. We don't on a six week trip. So if it takes a little longer to set up camp who cares.

We wnot move too often either, weather and location depending

4) If your budget is flexible you an always use accomodation if required.

We will occasionally for a break and tidy up !

5) It is not always possible to get a tinnie so I would seriously think about taking your own.

Hard call for me as I love fishing and know I will kick myself if I dont take one. As mentioned, by myself and leaving the family at camp not sure how much I will actually be able to use it

Cheers for your advice

Birdy

FollowupID: 486710

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 19:20

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 19:20
Birdy,

I think you might have missed something. The 1 year old baby.

It has had 12 months to try and get into a routine of sleeping and eating and learning in familiar surroundings. All this is going to change and I think for the worst.

If the baby is having a nap during the day now , how is it going to cope, will you be able to feed the baby on demand? All this and more while you are trying to enjoy yourself and see Australia. Will you be able to handle the want and needs of a baby.

The baby will not be able to tell you when it is thirsty or not felling well. Outback a doctor might be days away. This may sound harsh but so is dehydration.

There is a lot more to consider, but think about putting the trip off until the baby can handle the trip.

AnswerID: 225668

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 22:04

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 22:04
maybe somebody can put me right, here, but whenever I go over to give somebody an earbashing, having seen their new KK or similar, having looked with envy at those gleaming, shiny panels on their camper, one thing I always notice is the pile of crap all over the floor and under/around the CT. They just don't have the storage unless you have the full setup, which you wouldn't bother with for shortish stops. Just an observation. Or maybe I've just met untidy campers.
AnswerID: 225712

Reply By: longJohn - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 10:38

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 10:38
Very interesting read as I have planned a trip round oz too, but I notice you only talk about either vans, campers or roof tops but what about a troop carrier set up inside with the high roof, double bed, sink fridge and cooker? Like the ones you see on fraser?
I have done a bit of work with one on fraser and found it to be pull a park and grab a chair and a beer and relax (for lunch ) or pull up, set up a tarp, pull out your chair table and your set. Only hassle is pulling out your bed boards and setting up the bed every night. Guess this setup is only siutable for one maybe two persons.

AnswerID: 225770

Reply By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:03

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:03
I don't have much experience with caravan A/C but do they really work? I stayed in a van with A/C (the in-laws). It is a split system (no idea if thats good or bad) but you need to run it all day to keep van interior coolish and if the kids leave the door open.. there goes all the cold air (not that your's is going to be opening the door). Unlikely you'll want to be sitting inside the van all day anyway. This one was pretty noisy both inside and outside, and overall... highly over-hyped IMO.

No doubt everyone will defend their setup... maybe this particular one just doesn't work very well.

Another thing... most small vans (that I've seen) are two person things... the baby is probably still having midday snoozes and goes to sleep pretty early at night (not to mention waking up in the middle of the night!) so you need to think how that's going to work. Don't want to have to make it's bed up out of the breakfast table/seating every day for a year!
AnswerID: 225837

Reply By: streeter - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 19:36

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 19:36
My wife and i went around oz last year towing an of road jaco finch, takes ten minutes to set up but could do it quicker all depends who is watching or how thirsty i am.We done twenty five thousand ks fourteen thousand on dirt took the Jaco everywhere including the old telegragh track cape york ,through the whole of the kimberly including kalumberu.The worst road was to Wolf creek it was a shocker.The only place i didnt take the van was through the simpson desert i left it at Marie.I also like to fish and you do need a boat for most places but was glad that i never took one i will leave that to next time when we will be traveling with friends.By the way i had cooper STT on the 80 series and ST on the Jaco never got a flat or anything great tyers.Only problem with the Jaco the steps got a bit bent at the start of the telegagh track going up to cape york other than that nothing its ready to go again.
streety
AnswerID: 226618