Think I've found my new mud tyres
Submitted: Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 11:59
hound
After heaps of websites and forums think I will go for "The SSR Series of Super Swamper Radial/TSL tires"
These tyres have been made for the sports ute/Light truck market for a daily driver that uses them offroad on the weekend.
Anyone have them over here - price for 31/10.5 is around $280
" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.intercotire.com/site34.php
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:12
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:12
Few days ago you wanted
"Wanting a tyre between a BFG MT and a Simex Trekker."
Swampers are the next level UP from Simex Jungle Trekers, but on par with ET's..
What it sounds like to me, you are probably better off running a second set of tires, on second set of rims. then go with your JT's or ET, or Swampers for weekends.
Follow Up By: hound - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:25
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:25
I think I've looked into it too much now there are too many options. But going from the web site these tyres are called swampers but are radials and designed to have better road handling than the real swampers.
Check out the web page and see what you think!
Two sets would be the go but even then I would have to drive 2 hours each way from
Lilydale up the bush on wet roads eg through the spur or over the slide.
Maybe the tyres I want don’t exist, just wanted to step up from BFG mud for off-road and not sacrifice too much road handling. I think the BFG’s are fine for the road so thought there would be a tyre out there that could be used on the Ute all winter and another set used for summer.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:33
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:33
I drive from Langwarrin on Simex's to
Mansfield, or Warby as did on weekend etc..
Driving form
Lilydale is nothing to Warby, etc... It takes me close to an hour to get to
Lilydale from
home then thru there to the bush. 100's of others do it further than you do.. Its not an issue. My JT's handled very
well on the road, just remember your not driving a Ferrari. Talkin to a mate, he borrowed some Q78 Swampers off a mate and drove in the wet as hard on them as he did his own BFG MT's to Toolangi.. didnt have an issue, he was shocked how
well they handled, but they wear like crap on the tar.
The tires you want DONT exist. You go MT, then Extreme.
Follow Up By: Keith_A (Qld) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 18:34
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 18:34
Have you looked at the Cooper STT? Could be worth considering..........Keith