Air horns? how do they work?
Submitted: Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 08:59
Member - Coyote (SA)
So I've got a compressor and air tank I assume it is a simple measure to add an air horns under the bonnet?? I can get ahorn cheap from a local truck wrecker but whats the mechanism that makes them work? I assume that I connect air lines to
the horn but can someone enlighten me as to how the whole system works?? I e some sort of evlectrical switch that aloows air into
the horn or something,.. what kind of ressures are invlvoed and where do I get reducers (if required) from . Ta all..
Reply By: Hairy - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 09:51
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 09:51
The small air horns you fit to your car usually has a switch that turns your compressor on and off, and dont run a tank. Id ask at your local truck
shop for a kit, I reckon you would get a switch, solenoid, air lines and horn altogether.
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 11:23
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 11:23
Most air horns I've seen (I use some currently) are just a relay for the supply, a compressor and the horns - no tank, as mentioned above - the pressurised air would run across a 'musical' reed I guess - I also guess that the pressure level would matter - too much, too little might bugger things up. Whole kits can be quite cheap - have a look in the budget auto outlets.
Reply By: Busy Bee - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 11:35
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 11:35
Why would you muck around when you can buy a set from $20 to $30 from Autobarn or Supercheap, probably K Mart too, with everything you need.
Reply By: draff - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 11:37
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 11:37
G'day mate, a truck air horn works differently to the ones you buy at auto shops because they have a air tank, like what you have. I am not 100% on it but you need to pipe the air from the tank to a electically operated solanoid valve which when operated allows the air to go to
the horn. Most trucks run about 6 to 8 bar pressure, so if you are running your tank at air tool pressure 7 bar, then I would say that would be fine. When you wire the switch in try and have it so you keep both horns and they work off the same button on the steering wheel, just have a toggle switch to change from one to the other. This way your car will remane legal. The truck wrecker should be able to supply the solanoid straight off the truck.
Good luck.
Draff
Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 11:41
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 11:41
Thanks Draff.. thats the kind of thing I was thinking.. the el cheapo stuff from Kmart or sUap cheap is just that.. suap cheap and I'm after the real thing.. point taken re legality too.. I was actually going to run it to an extra bitton rather than the steering wheel one.. just a bit if fun.. not for use on the road etc.. Im not a hoon that wants to terrorise people..
Follow Up By: Nick R - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 12:27
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 12:27
What is the legal issue? Aren't air horns legal??? I know musical ones aren't but I thought normal ones were. all the ones I have heard from auto shops sound fine on a small car but you need something bigger for a fourby I reckon.
NickR
Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 14:05
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 14:05
two or more tone airhorns are illegal ..
one tone is ok .. so is the ones with several tones as long as only one is on
at a time ..
I have a 185Hz and a 125Hz for my truck .. not yet fitted
I was thinking to put the 185 on the boat but still tempted
to put them both on the truck ..
everything above 200 HZ is not my thing and music neither
I like the big truck throaty tone .. the 125Hz is awesome ..
like a fog horn of an oil tanker ...
I have endless air though and a Wolo solenoid ..
The horn is 70cm long .. so you gotta have some space
good luck
gmd
Follow Up By: Nick R - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 16:40
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 16:40
_gmd_pps, that sounds way cool, I want one for the patrol as the patrol ones sound like they are off a barina
so the triple or quad horns at 150+db that are on ebay are out unless most of them are off, ok, I'll have to find a train wrecker or ship yard........
NickR
Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 16:45
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 16:45
Stebel in Italy makes them ..
I got
mine from ebay .. look out for something below 200Hz
I had no luck with the truck wreckers .. the horns are gone
before they even see a wreck they told me ...
the train horns on ebay are illegal here .. at least WA .. but since
the other states are even more narrow minded I guess there too
the solenoid was also from ebay .. cheap compared to shops (an original wolo)
good luck
gmd
Follow Up By: brad1972 - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 17:01
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 17:01
the majority of solenoids on trucks will be 24 volt
Brad
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 17:42
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 17:42
I have a decent set of air horns which are set-up using a 3litre tanks and my Maxair compressor. You do need a solenoid/s to operate them. The horns I have came with a solenoid on each trumpet. I reckon you could quite easily use one as supplied by ARB with their Air Locker. It does the same thing.....you hit a switch and a blast of air is allowed to pass through until the switch is turned off (same as when you hit your horn button on the steering wheel. I just added
mine into the same wiring circuit as the original horn....the trumpets are mounted under the right wing of the bullbar, out of harms way.
Reply By: troopyman - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:26
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:26
Air.