COBB cooks please

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 11:05
ThreadID: 42647 Views:2051 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Morning all

I'm doing a leg of lamb this arvo with veges etc for dinner at home with friends tonight. I have always liked using the pan juices to make the gravey (in an ordinary oven) but unless I use a pan under the lamb in the Cobb, the juices all end up in the moat.

So all you Cobbers and Cobbettes - do I use the pan to collect the juices or what ??

John T
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

Reply By: handy - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 11:30

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 11:30
use a bit out of the moat wont hurt ya.
AnswerID: 223711

Reply By: Speak - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 11:46

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 11:46
I use the moat to collect all the juices which I scoop out with a special spoon I found in a kitchen shop. It's like a narrow scoop with the handle at right angles to the spoon and enables me to get most of the liquids out.
AnswerID: 223712

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 15:26

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 15:26
Thanks for the idea of the spoon - I have just "invented" a spoon whose handle is at 90 degrees to the scoopy bit - any old spoon with a bent handle

Thanks again

John T
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 484606

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 16:39

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 16:39
Invite 'n I'll show you what to do,,,,,,,,,,otherwise you'll just stuff it up,,,,,,,,,

;)

Bilbo
AnswerID: 223740

Reply By: John Cook - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 17:34

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 17:34
Probably too late now, but an oven bag traps all the juices if you put the meat in it and tie it up.

John Cook
AnswerID: 223749

Reply By: furph - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 21:00

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 21:00
How small is your leg of lamb? Have only seen pics of a cob capable of holding about 6 thin snags on the grill plate. I would'nt fit a leg (alright, mutton) in anything less than a 15" camp oven (cooking em all the time) good 4hrs. slow with plenty of garlic and rosemary stuffed in.
Chuck the spuds, carrots and onions in at the same time, when done take em all out and rest on the upturned lid whilst you make the gravy in the joose.
Bah humbug to those new fangled cooking devices (includes the new chinese camp ovens), mine are ancient Metters from a previous generation.
cheers, and enjoy it anyway. (dont forget to stay hydrated)
furph
AnswerID: 223772

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 10:09

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 10:09
furph,

Get with the times mate.

The Cobb, with its high domed lid, will take a good sized leg or Lamb, Pork, or Beef no problems. Only uses about 7 heat beads too.
No humbug!

Probably the only "negative" is the amount of veggies you can stack around the moat.

All good though. One of the better pieces of camping kit I reckon.

FollowupID: 484691

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 21:07

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 21:07
Gravox. 10000000000% healthier too.
AnswerID: 223778

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 13:50

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 13:50
I agree re the Gravox - or readymade type - the moat can get contaminated from the heat bead ash UI have found - you can always put a bit of wine, beer etc in as moat liquid instead of water - or as I do sometimes add some Italian herbs (like mixed herbs with a bit extra - good for spaghetti - never camp without them) to the water in the moat, flavour goes right through, especially with choock - yumm!!
jules
FollowupID: 484710

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 15:29

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 15:29
Hey brew did you get that figure from the truckster LOL
FollowupID: 484725