Radiation from microwave ovens

Submitted: Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 22:52
ThreadID: 42643 Views:2309 Replies:13 FollowUps:9
OT, well it is late friday night. Don't usually initiate an off topic thread.

To settle an argument can anybody throw any light on the amount of radiation (if any) that is emitted by a microwave oven. My DIL refuses to have one in her kitchen because of it yet doesn't hesitate to talk for half the day on the mobile.

Is anyone up with this info?

Cheers, Wayne.

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 23:05

Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 23:05
Google is your friend

www.arpansa.gov.au/is_mwave.htm
AnswerID: 223652

Follow Up By: True Blue - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 23:19

Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 23:19
Thanks for that Willem. Explained the process very well.

Wayne.
FollowupID: 484508

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 23:37

Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 23:37
True Blue,
Now what sort of response was that?
This 'Willem' can be a tad abrupt at times,can't he? (Ask Kelly).
The honest truth is that, since we, (I),bought the microwave, our family size has not increased. (Disclaimers available on request).
Maaf. Jeff.
AnswerID: 223660

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 00:25

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 00:25
Ok ok. My mistake, but before the cruise missiles are fired (buttoned?), may I hastily add that I was taking a cheap shot at OT "banter", [as Ph Ph seemed a little elusive tonight). Not at individuals.

"Kellie" is the name we assigned to that poor Koala, left by some non-EO user, in that far-off, isolated but oft visited tree below the French Line. **
So what would Kelly know?

And I was desexed (just hate that C word! The Cruellest Cut of all! ), just prior to delivery (but post payment on), that blessed microwave!
(My, it is so restfull that we gentle folk no longer blasphe/swear on forum ).
Jeff.

**Can anyone offer a report on progeny of the one known to us as 'Kelly'? We would be most pleased to hear that multiple immaculate births have occurred, but strongly suspect that Flying Foxes and Drifting Backpackers may have sullied the blood-line.
jh.
FollowupID: 484526

Follow Up By: hoyks - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:22

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:22
Since we bought a microwave our family has doubled, so I think that you limited scientific sample has somewhat skewed your results to support your theory.
FollowupID: 484698

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 19:50

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 19:50
Hoyks,
Is yours a Sony?

Ours was a Sharp.

Wonder how 'LG's perform? Jeff.
FollowupID: 484783

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 00:01

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 00:01
May I respectfully enquire Sir! as to your true and/or real motivation about asking such a question about an item and subject that has been done to death since they were introduced in the early 1980's.

Is it as I suspect - that it is you wish, to with wanton intent, secretly and covertly install one of these suckers in a CT or the Tent with a generator booming away to power it.

C'mon now, you have been busted and we need you to fess up to the true nature of such a question.

Yes! a Honda 2.0i will run your radiation emitting piece of electronic C H I T no problems.

Your wife will be sterilised along with the cat, dog and parrot and your pacemaker will 'fry', however you will be 'out there' enjoying the open sky.

If you start to feel hot, DON'T PANIC, as it will only be your 'EMR emitter' receiving excess 'boost' from George Bush's lastest anti-personnel weapon.

All in all I think you should get two just in case.

I think I will go to Bed Now. LOL

Evening Willem and Jeff
AnswerID: 223666

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 00:45

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 00:45
Aww Lay-de-Loosie,
a qiuck hit and off to bed?
(So how come I suspect trip wires shortly ?)
Usually I just stagger in and get C.d up. (Tell you what, that Microwave did it for me, so I'll take more care/send someone else, this/next time.)
((I bet someone who didn't read the signs will bitch about OT soon.)) sin loi.

Then again, some of the body-dead, brain(SSSHHHIIIIggers, I REALLY can't think of the word.) alive folk may decide to chat amongst themselves.
Back directly. Jeff.
FollowupID: 484528

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 02:34

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 02:34
G'day Wayne, we have a gadget here at work which the sparky used 2 or 3 times a year to test all of the microwaves on site. Mate even the 10yo once white, now black, never been cleaned by the pigs who use it microwave leaks no microwave radiation.

Tell her she's dreamin'...
AnswerID: 223677

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 04:03

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 04:03
Blue (VIC),
Perfect example of how out-of-order posts could, quite possibly, iniate unCivil War.
(Still working on your Dog/Flag logo : ta). Jeff.
FollowupID: 484533

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 02:44

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 02:44
Well, That fried That, eh.
Real good value.

Strewth, may just as well chuck sticks at Cicadas.

Or stare at Goats.

C'mon people, it's not 'The Day of the Triffids.............
...........Oh Dear
My Error Flynn........
AnswerID: 223678

Reply By: Big Woody - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 07:22

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 07:22
About 10 years ago before the days of vibrating mobile phones, my brother in law who is a bobcat operator purchased an accessory for his mobile to alert him that his phone was ringing when he could not hear it while operating the noisy bobcat.
It was a small unit that went into his pocket. It would pick up a signal from his ringing mobile phone up to 1 metre away and would vibrate savagely whenever the phone was ringing.
I was at his house one night when it started to vibrate on the kitchen bench. His phone was not ringing. When his wife stopped using the microwave it stopped.
We then did some tests and were amazed that if the unit was held directly in line with the door of the microwave at the same height, it would pick up the frequency and vibrate up to 1.5 metres away. If we moved the unit off to the side it did not pick up any signal until it was moved in to under 0.5 metres. The microwave was almost new.
From that day I have always been cautious and stand to the side of the microwave whenever it is operating.

Brett
AnswerID: 223684

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 07:37

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 07:37
Gday Brett

Just out of curiosity - do you stand to the side of a mobile phone whenever it is operating, as it sets the same device off.......not having a go, but I'm a defender of the mighty microwave and all the goodies I can get out of them!

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 484538

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 13:32

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 13:32
I can buy that Brett.

It has been known for decades that microwave ovens (they were used in industrial processes well before they entered the kitchen) can cause eye cataracts so spend the very minimum amount of time possible closely looking into the oven when it's on.

I would also be a bit weary of the leakage detectors available for a few dollars.

They will leak some radiation but given the millions of them around the world for the past 20+ years in domestic environments there doesn't seem to be any real problem.

FollowupID: 484585

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 07:32

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 07:32
Waaay back when Fred Flinstone was a boy, we bought our first microwave oven. Having a background in microwaves, even further back, I had somewhat similar concerns for my wife (and my personals at that time). I made a small microwave leakage detector and ran it around every microwave oven we bought for the next 20 years. Result was very little leakage, not enough to even think about.
The chances of brain tumours from mobile phones would have to rate more highly.
Of course if you had the microwave next to your ear and operated it as often, over time it could be a different story.

Disclaimer: I am not, nor have I ever been a medical researcher.
AnswerID: 223685

Reply By: fisho64 - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 09:36

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 09:36
If you have ever enjoyed watching fishing boats, ships etc entering harbour, then you are likely being blasted by "uncontained" microwave radiation.
The effect of radar waves on water was accidently discovered during research into radar waves around the second world war.

even on a smallish marine radar, the exclusion area is only in the region of a couple of meters. However I have constantly been amazed at the "gin palaces" that are built with Targa towers at the rear of the flybridges holding radar scanners at near the same height as the drivers head.
AnswerID: 223696

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 13:09

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 13:09
We were taught never to stand anywhere around a radar aerial...if we ever wanted to have kids. Your insides don't like being microwaved by 10KW of RF. We were also told some grisly stories of those who didn't listen.
FollowupID: 484580

Reply By: Robin - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 16:34

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 16:34
Hi True Blue

With all those posts you'd think you would have got a simple straight answer.

It is that there is no radiation emitted by a (non-faulty) microwave oven
that is even close to what is considered a hamful level.

In a previous life I was a technical/commercial manager of Philips consumer products and such testing came under that umbrealla.

Now before you wife raises the issue of " is the offical level really safe" consider this.

The frequency of microwave radiation is close to the high band in the new mobile phones , and the level of their radiation is massively lower than that of the phone.

Hence I suggest that you rush to your wife with a pair of long tongs in your hand , and grab her phone with the tongs (so as to aviod getting to close to it) and dump the phone before in rings again.

Disclaimer

I will not be held responsible for any resulting injuries or divorces arising out of following the advice contained in this post.

AnswerID: 223738

Reply By: True Blue - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 17:24

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 17:24
Thanks to all that replied to this thread.

I hadn't though much about the problem (I know I'm ignorant). But my daughter in law said that she would never have a microwave in the house, and I thouht, hang on, your using a mobile phone all the time. I know just who to ask the question and
you, as expected, didn't let me down. I will let her know the results asap. She'll probably think, "silly old bugger", what would he know.

Thanks again and cheers to all.

Wayne (True Blue)
AnswerID: 223746

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:03

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:03
I must have copped a few blasts from sitting round a night zapping things in microwaves.

Eggs can blow the doors off.
AnswerID: 223834

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:25

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:25
A quote from the USA Food and Drug administration website regarding microwave oven testers:
-------------------
A word of caution about the microwave testing devices being sold to consumers: FDA has tested a number of these devices and found them generally inaccurate and unreliable. If used, they should be relied on only for a very approximate reading. The sophisticated testing devices used by public health authorities to measure oven leakage are far more accurate and are periodically tested and calibrated.
-------------------

So if your oven becomes faulty and starts leaking, I don't know how you could tell?

AnswerID: 223841

Reply By: hoyks - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:29

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:29
CD's go well too. Lots of sparkles and then they don't work real well. The kids taught me that one.

It makes you wonder whet goes through a 3 yearolds head sometimes.
AnswerID: 223843