SUPREME "GETAWAY" OFF ROAD CARAVAV
Submitted: Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 20:43
greggu
hi - real sorry but i stuffed up my last post 42602 - what i meant was to ask about the Supreme Getaway off road van - too much red wine before posting i think -
i am looking and weighing up at a few off road caravan options (Bushtracker- 16 or 18 ft ,
Kimberley Karavan - say 16 ft , Supreme "Getaway" Off Road -16.6 ft ) and wonder if anyone would care to share their experiences (both good or bad) re the Supreme "Getaway"
Off Road Caravans - could someone who has owned one comment if it really is
Cape York capable and
Gibb River Road capable without falling apart (the miranti framing really worries me ) - because that really is the ultimate
test in my opinion having been across those delighful but slightly corrugated tracks - although i do think that the batllecamp road is still the worst one ever- its not often you choose to drive in the table drains to avoid the road.
my thanks and see you greg
Reply By: rolande- Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 20:56
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 20:56
G'Day Greg,
I will be talking with one of the guys from the factory tomorrow morning.
I can give him the third degree if you like. Do you have a single model / size in mind, they have a few on display and I can look through if you like.
Rolande
Follow Up By: greggu - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 10:08
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 10:08
thanks for the offer rolands but i guess what i am after is someone who has belted the supremes up a bit and they have stayed intact
my best greg
Follow Up By: rolande- Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 17:38
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 17:38
G'Day Greg,
didn't see your follow up so I asked the question anyway, F.W.I.W
Me: Will that range handle to
Gibb River Road and be warrantied?
Him: Yes, anywhere in Australia, full warranty, even the
Gibb River Road.
I can give you the guy's name off list if you like
UHUFORREST at YAHOO dot COM dot AU
Rolande
Reply By: Member - Kim R (QLD) - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 21:06
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 21:06
Hi Greg,
We have just done the same comparisons, Supreme, ushtracker, Trackmaster,Kedron XC. Looking at all the pros and cons have settelled on a Kedron XC 18' x 7'6".
Kim
Follow Up By: greggu - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 10:10
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 10:10
kim thanks but not a big fan of the kedron i know the
shop that welds up their chassis in
brisbane and dont have a lot of time for that particular trailer maker and alledgedly one or two or more of the kedrons have broken on the cape trip in the past
good luck and see you greg
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 16:22
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 16:22
OK Kim, I am also going through this same exercise (and by the looks of this post I am one of many). What made you settle on the Kedron? And I notice you didn't have Pheonix on your list?
G'day Greg, intersting info! So can you give us a hint on the trailer maker?
Kedron are/were on my list so I would be interested to either firm them up or cross them off. They seemed the goods.
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 23:08
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 23:08
Hi Greg
I have the 'Getaway' and am now quite happy with it. It did require a lot of work when I received it and in general Supreme came to the party.
If doing it again I would go for the alloy tub and roof top a/c as the one under the bed is quite noisy.
I can send you more info if you send me your email address.
Derek.
Follow Up By: greggu - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 10:16
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 10:16
thanks derek
appreciate the feed back - can i ask where have you taken the supreme in the past and it looks like the bigger 16.6 ft one is that so and what does it weigh - i will send you my email on your business address email site
certainly appreciate the advice re the aluminium base and the ac on the roof any other hints would be appreciated
yes warranty repairs can be an issue for a lot of van and ct makers but i guess if eventually they do the right things then thats sort of ok - its the old story of the squeaky wheel
my best regards greg
Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 10:50
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 10:50
Hi Greg
It is 14.8 x 6.0 1700KG (You can save around 300kg with the alloy tub).
Derek.
Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 23:46
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 23:46
I've got a small 11' 6" Supreme Getaway Offroader and as a prospector, I don't spare the van. It gets hammered on all sorts of rough tracks 'n creeks et.
I haven't broken it yet and size for size, it's a lot cheaper than a Bushtracker etc.
I did all the research before buying, Two things put me off the Bushtracker upmarket types - cost and weight.
Even with a 6.5 Chev Diesel in a Nissan Patrol, they were too heavy for what I wanted to do - rough bush work.
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 01:29
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 01:29
I throught you had the bigger unit Bilbo?
Follow Up By: greggu - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 10:24
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 10:24
thanks bilbo did not know they built an 11.5 ft one mate
the miranti frame has not been a problem then with the internal furniture falling to bits on rough roads and doors coming off etc etc and the cladding coming away as happens to some of the others on real rough tracks
the 11.5 ft van is not a bit small for 2 mate ?
maybe they use the 2 pack epoxy boat building glue to glue up the van and if they do then that will last for decades - i built a hartley 18 trailer sailer with 2 pack epoxy glue and its 20 years old and still going strong
yes mate agree that weight is a hell of a problem off road and partivular on the sand - thats my main worry with the bushtrackers apart from the $ price and why we continue to look at the kimberly karavan and other options
see you and my thanks greg
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 16:37
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 16:37
Richard 'n Greg,
No mate, I've got the smallest one with the door at the back. We got the smallest one because of the weight and manouverability, but more importantly, when we're out bippin', we spend most of our time out walking, 99% of cooking is on a campfire and we sit outside unless it's raining or to windy. So we don't need "accommodation" or a place to set up a TV!
So all we really needed was something that could get down tracks and around obstacles such as trees and overhangs without smashing the sides in, a place to get out of the wind and rain until it passes and a place to sleep at night - and it cannot be canvas, I've had enough of sleeping under canvas, thank you..
"Not big enough for 2?" -I'm 5 foot 4 inches and my missus is 5 foot!! We're just a couple of hobbits. We don't need much room. There are advantages in being small ;) I just wish they'd consider that when I'm buying air tickets and luggage allowances!!
Bilbo - The "original" Hobbit!
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 16:47
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 16:47
Thanks Bilbo
So that would be the same as the one on the back of the Troopy in the rig pix,
That was on the old Eyre Hwy (first Trip) I'm 6' and the wife is shorter and a bit wider but we both fit in OK,
I just thought you mentioned a problem with the shower and George Day
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:39
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:39
A SHOWER!! A SHOWER!!
I'm a prospector Richard!! Prospectors don't shower. We may stand in the rain occasionally perhaps, but we never shower,,,
I did have a "few" issues with Supreme Caravans ( who hasn't had issues with van makers??), but George Day were very good about puttiing things right - except for the fridge which was a stuff up of biblical proportions. All OK now though.
and yes - the van behind your troopy in the pics is the same as
mine.
Bilbo
Reply By: Member - Kevin (NSW/ACT) - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 14:24
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 14:24
Hi Greg,
In 2002 I purchased a 2000 model 15' Supreme Getaway and still am very happy with its performance and comfort.
Unit is 7' wide and pretty easy to handle - but it is heavy.
Mine is 1,700 kg empty (1,780 with both gass bottles and the
water tank full) and ball weight is 220 kg. Loade up
mine is pretty close to 2,000 kg. All weights were taken on a public weighbridge.
Haven't been to the Cape or GRR with it, but having previously travelled the GRR with a camper trailer (Trak Shak, 1,200 kg loaded) in tow I would have no hesitation in taking the Supreme there. I have no experience with the Cape but have taken the Supreme to
Innamincka via the Old Strezlecki track and through Southern Queensland on the way back with no problems. Also have done a bit of corrugated outback NSW tracks - again no problems. Only thing that has ever fallen off was the plastic light shade on one of the bedside lights and its just a push on fitting.
Very happy with the Supreme.
Kevin
Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 23:46
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 23:46
GregGU,
I just realised you also asked about the meranti frame vs the alloy frame and about _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx etc falling apart on rough roads.
I reckon the jury's still out the alloy vs meranti thing. But I also reckon that a van's
suspension and general balance is the biggest contributor to things falling apart inside. It''s not necessarily how the drawer is made but how much vibration and shock load is passed to the internal structure as result of poor tyre usage and poor
suspension set up.
I also reckon people make too big a thing of ads like "Tasmanian Oak _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx and Cupboards". So what? Tassie Oak is not to be sneezed at but there's a heap of other timbers that are just as good for that purpose. In fact compared to some timbers, Tassie Oak seems quite soft.
Bilbo