Calling GQ Tuff

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 08:53
ThreadID: 42404 Views:2026 Replies:2 FollowUps:4
Just finished reading your post about the 2.8 Nissan. You have explained my symptoms perfectly, but is yours hard to start, petrol soaked rag over the snorkel is the only way I can start mine without nearly killing battery and starter motor, hot or cold.
Cheers RosscoH

Reply By: GQ_TUFF - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 16:41

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 16:41
Sorry mate missed your post, NO I have no dramas starting mine hot or cold, it will always start within 1 or 2 seconds, 2 seconds when cold and almost instant when hot, do a serch on 2.8 starting probs I have heard a few people here talk about them but it is only when hot. So you are having the whole coolant thing too hey??? well thats 3 on here alone.......(maybe a bulk discount for a 6.5 chev if we all book in at the same time!!!!)

tell me more about whats happening with yours

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 222311

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 17:06

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 17:06
Gday RosscoH

I have a bit of a problem starting hot..there are 2 cures,

1 is a spacer in the fuel pump - I know little of this but do a search here and you should find it - I think Pesty had it done to the one he had, could be wrong.

2 is fit an electric lift pmp into the fuel line - should get away with it for about $100 and a few hours. It hasn't totally eliminated mine, but reduced it a lot. The other thing that has helped me is the dual batteries I have....simple solenoid so heaps of cranking amps available

I have never had to resort to the petrol soaked rag - and don't really like the idea of it.......do your glow plugs work well? I had a problem with the relay on an old MQ, it didn't affect me very often, but when it did I had a bit of wire in the car and bridged the +ve terminal to the glow plugs for 20 seconds, then jumped in the car and it started strait away...

Unfortunately, I would guess if you have bubbles in your coolant, a lot of difficulty starting, etc etc you may have serious compression(or lack there of)....I hope not

The bulk deals on the 6.5's looks the go for us

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 222315

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 17:13

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 17:13
did you see the other post about the 6.5 on ebay?
FollowupID: 483153

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 17:16

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 17:16
bloody stupid dyno guy refused to put my car on the dyno because in his expert opinion it is a head gasket and thats that! where the car has not being doing it today 35 Degs and air con on??? So I am gunna give it the old chem weld I reckon and hope for the best, I am not gunna pull the head on the OFF chance it might be that.

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 483154

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 18:37

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 18:37
Had a look at the car post.....looks like a good car......but if its going to be a conversion I feel compelld do do it warts and all! Funny that the guy didn't want to put it on the dyno....what, do they want people to diagnose vehicles doing 110kph up a hill bonnet open standing on the bullbar to see whats going on!

Is that the same bloke that reakons you can't test for co2 on a diesel? I'm kindof glad my usual mechanic basically said he wants little to do with it, as he can see lots of dollars spent for little return.....a bit defeatest, but better than being fed bull bleep .

we will have to see what develops - nest trip to the mine I might get up it a bit and see if I can make it use coolant.

Will keep you posted.....Do you want my email.........but then again I would like to keep this public for others input and also there informaton...

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 483173

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 19:20

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 19:20
nah different mechanic. My e-mail is Stefan_p@aapt.net.au, but I agree keep it open for all to see, good sorce of info for all.........

Well I just got home from towing 1 and a bit tonne of turf up the M4 at a steady 110kp/h with the aircon on and still 30 deg outside. moved about an inch of coolant across to overflow which seems normal to me, will now wait and see if it pulls it back.

cheers stefan
FollowupID: 483176