The price of a barrel of oil is now $50.40

Submitted: Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 06:44
ThreadID: 41377 Views:3130 Replies:20 FollowUps:25
down about 25 odd dollars but as we all know at the pump its not dropped the same rate.
Like interest rates they go up fast but have a hundred reason why they go down slowly.

The oil company's say they base the rate of fuel on Singapore why don't they base it on an Arab country.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:41

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:41
look at that bowser price drop like a brides nighty...

and watch out for th deadly ACCC to come to our rescue.

>wakes up<
AnswerID: 216309

Follow Up By: troopyman - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:23

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:23
Release the paper tiger !!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 476665

Reply By: Member - John R (NSW) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:58

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:58
The fuel companies are a bunch of thieves.

Petrol has dropped 10c (not enough), but what about diesel? The dogs still have it at the same price it was a month ago ($1.26).

Bloody THIEVES.
AnswerID: 216310

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:08

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:08
thats not very nice.
FollowupID: 476658

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:36

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:36
I emailed Caltex on Monday- for a casual inquiry as to why diesel was more expensive at the pump than petrol.
Guess what- I've had no response!!!
FollowupID: 476688

Reply By: Robin - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:29

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:29
I would like everyone to re-evaluate there previous posts about the "sky falling in"
due to lack of oil etc etc

AnswerID: 216316

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:37

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:37
Put me down for a barrel thanks. :-)

AnswerID: 216318

Reply By: Ozdyssey (QLD) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:37

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:37
come on you must know the ACCC is just the rsl club for retired oil execs.

AnswerID: 216319

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:54

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:54
cooor what a bunch of cynics you all are.

Everyone know that Oil companies are concerned, well meaning, generous, kind, big hearted, open handed, public spirited, nice, and all round warm and fuzzy corporate citizens.

It's simply un-Australian to bag our foreign owned friends like that, we should all be more grateful and practise a bit of servility.
AnswerID: 216325

Follow Up By: Zig-n-Zag - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:12

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:12
That weather in FNQ must be affecting you, or are employed by the oil companies and get a staff discount? :)))

With that gooey statement you could be Prime Minister like little Johnny:))) LOL
FollowupID: 476676

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:18

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:18
Hi Gone Troppo, One pig, two pigs geez there's a lot of pigs flying around here.

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 476781

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:49

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:49
Na.. gone troppo must be the new MUFTI to make such inflamatory remarks...
FollowupID: 476838

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:21

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:21
I resent that, and where is your proof.
I don't even have a scruffy beard that looks like it has a variety of BOTH flying AND crawling insects living in it.
FollowupID: 476850

Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:31

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:31
Dont we all enjoy bashing the oil magnates & with good reason, but until we have
a consumer organisation with real political clout we are powerless.
The recent drought has shown many of us that water consumption can be reduced
significantly through what is no more than commom sense. I feel the same applies
to fuel. You can influence the amount it costs you by attention to the things that
increase consumption that you control. Heard it all before ? Sure you have. Is that why you drive down the shop in the morning for your paper & back again in the afternoon for the milk ?. Do you consider that carting around 100 ltr plus in your
4by is saving you fuel. Is going another 5k to save the equivalent of one or two
litres when filling up really an economic strategy?
As you all know, the biggest saving you can make is with your right foot. 100kph
can save you 20% as compared to 110kph or higher. You also know that that 150
kg of steel & winch & flat faced spotties doesnt push itself about either, neither
do those shiny 8" rims & fat rubber, roof racks & any uneccessary weight also
dont help.Poor tuning, tyre pressure etc,etc. Anyway, my point is that you might be
able help yourself in this regard now, I reckon you can save around 25% by
actions in regard to the above, dont hold your breath for oil compnies to drop
prices by that order. If they do, you can then save another 25%, cant you?
...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 216334

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:28

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:28
Dropped $25-..... Not for long!

AnswerID: 216359

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:36

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:36
Diesel is the fuel in great demand throughout the world particularly India and China. Don't hold your breath waiting for the prices to drop - they won't. Why don't the oil companies produce more diesel to bring the price down ...ha ha ha.
AnswerID: 216361

Reply By: Barnesy - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:41

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:41
Have read reports that in Europe those in charge actually want the price of fuel to increase. This will encourage more to use public transport and spur on more research into alternative energy sources.

True that in Oz, those in country areas are disadvantaged by high fuel costs, which is a different situation to Europe. But tell me why people in cities shouldn't be encouraged to use public transport every day despite the cost of fuel? Still remember trying to reduce co2 emissions?

I agree totally about oil companies getting as much money as they can out of us, but when one of the patrons is George Bush, what can you expect. There are other factors involved that go beyond simply saving $15 when you fill up.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 216365

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:47

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:47
Well for one Australians public transport system is Chit

And the way the cities and suburbs are built they aren’t rely public transport friendly.

There is a young apprentice at my work; it takes him 2 hours to get home using public transport if he has a good run.

I can drop him home in my car in 35-40 minutes.

FollowupID: 476857

Reply By: Platz - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:50

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:50
Isn't it funny that after the ACCC said that they would start fining the oil companies if they did not bring the prices down, low and behold, on a Thurusday no less, prices plummeted. Not so unfortunately for us dieselusers. I had a thought that we need to make them want our business. Over the past couple of years there has, at various times, been an e-mail circulating around that says that we should all not buy fuel on a certain day of the week. To me, this is pointless as we buy it the next and so on. My thought is that all of us that drive diesels boycott a company altogether until they bring diesel down. Where I live on the Central Caost I would nominate Shell as the worst and be prepared to boycott them completely until they drop the price.

If what the oil companies say is true, and that is competition drives prices down lets see how competitive they are when we don't buy fuel from them at all

Just a thought but I'm getting fed up with being screwed
AnswerID: 216373

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 12:04

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 12:04
Fining them?????

I heard Samuel say he would "Shame Them"????

As they are not breaking any laws.

FollowupID: 476734

Follow Up By: Platz - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:08

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:08
Hi John,

Yeah, your probably correct... That wasn't the point though, it was about getting them to do something about diesel prices.

I stand corrected :))
FollowupID: 476777

Reply By: Zapper - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 11:01

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 11:01
Apparantly this is a 19 month low, does anyone know what the bowser price was 19 months ago?? Would be interesting to see
AnswerID: 216375

Follow Up By: Peter - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 12:33

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 12:33
Haven't got the price of a barrel of oil for these dates but for 12/1/05 (Brisbane) cost was 94.7 c/l and 13/1/06 was 118.9 c/l. Seeing as how this is the lowest price for nearly 2 years you would have to wonder why diesel is still retailing at 115.9 c/l
Hope the ACCC doesn't scare too many oil companies by naming them. In the meantime they continue to rake in millions of extra dollars every day
FollowupID: 476745

Follow Up By: Platz - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:12

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:12
Hi Peter,

Just come back from doing some shopping and where I live, Central Coast Nth of Sydney diesel is 129.9 c/l

When I came back from 3 months travelling in September diesel ws cheaper in the middle of the Nullabor than my local stations.
FollowupID: 476778

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 12:42

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 12:42
So is anyone suggesting that the oil companies are making obscene profits out of the poor consumer ? Geez I hope not !
AnswerID: 216398

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 12:42

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 12:42
it's not so much the greedy oil companies but the greedy oil company share holders. Afterall they are the owners and the ones that will get this extra money.

And how many poeple on this site own shares in oil and would be prepared to sell them cheap becuase they don't like what their company is doing? Or ask the CEO's to be responsible to the australian population?

Owning companies is a good way to do unethical things and still feel good about yourself.

Oil prices will stay only low enough to prevent alternative energy sources from evolving.

R.
AnswerID: 216399

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:12

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:12
So Mr robak do you have a Superannuation fund by any chance?????

I'm pretty sure you do if you hold a job in this country!!!, so you should also include yourself and every other working Australian in the list of greedy oil company shareholders. (I guess that just about covers everyone on this site)

I'm also sure your not complaining to loudly about how well your super fund is performing these days are you???

FollowupID: 476757

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:35

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:35
Ahhh now it all makes sense.
Turns out I'm actually ripping myself off. LOL

FollowupID: 476768

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:48

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:48
It's called socially responsible investing (SRI), and now, unlike the old days, you have choice of where your money is invested.

The core problem is that your financial returns may be lower, and the increased social/environemtal benefits are shared amongst everyone. Including those that do not participate.

It's a personal decision.

Some bed time reading:
(will need to cut and paste)
www.eia.org.au/files/MNJLXB5Z5K/2004%20SRI%20benchmarking.pdf
Site Link
Site Link

R.
FollowupID: 476773

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:59

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:59
Hi John
Many investors don't have a clue what they've invested in if they have managed funds. The mix and match will vary over time anyway.
Like life, most of us have very little control.
Try telling your super fund where you want your money invested...you know what they'll say.
Of course if you have an awful lot of money invested with them it could be a different response.

Where one does have some degree of control, it takes time and knowledge to pick good returns consistent with ethics. I haven't seen many prospectus's which trumpet their ethical investment successes. They may be out there but I haven't seen them.

But the fact that ethics and investment can be put in the same sentence indicates to me that things could be changing. Some companies appear to have become more responsive to public opinion.

At a slight tangent, my son once asked me why we didn't live in a mansion that we were passing in the car. The owner was well known to the police etc......, he was rumoured to have all sorts of shady things happening, people in his pocket etc...

I told my son that it was because I liked to be able to sleep at night.

What I didn't say, of course, is that if you're a smart, legal thief, you probably sleep a lot more comfortably :))))))

FollowupID: 476775

Follow Up By: Platz - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:15

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:15
true Fooloose, but if everybody stopped buying from 1 particular company their profits would drop, dividends not be as good for investors and a sell off might occur. Perhaps then they might like to do something about getting customers to use their company again ie drop prices. Competitiion does not have to be a one sided street.
FollowupID: 476780

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:33

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:33
I'm very well aware of SRI and its implications, but as Footy points out most people would not have a clue as to where their money is invested when handled by a fund manager.

Unless you have a self managed fund which is not the case for most "workers" then your super will be invested by the fund managers as they see fit and SRI type investing / managed funds are not high on the list of most.

Just for interest have you ever had a real good look at the spread of companies that "Your" super is invested in by "Your" super fund managers???
Bet ya that there are a few oil companies and well as as few miners who god forbid may actually extract stuff like uranium amonst other minerals.

I laugh when people say "Profit" like its a dirty word and point the finger at the loggers, oil companies, banks and miners etc when almost every adult Australian gains personally from that dirty profit.

Oh yeah also forgot to add, those same dirty rotten companies also happen to employ a $hit load of Australians who also contribute to the economy in their own right.

FollowupID: 476872

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:12

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:12
Yes, it would be true to say that the vast majority of funds invest in oil and the majority of the people whinging about oil prices are actually benefiting from it.

Frankly, I don't have a problem with the oil companies, afterall they're just a bussiness like any other, making money for it's owners, but there is a fine line that as a civilised society we must observe. (Lord of the flies anyone?)

Simply because a company employs a lot of people doesn't nessarily mean it's ethical. The question is how much would the profits deminish by staying within the ethical boundaries.

Recently the AWB CEO's got a huge golden handshake while the shareholders lost a lot of money. This company has a history of putting profits before ethics so why are we surprised. I blame the parents. (Just kiddin') :)

R.
FollowupID: 476881

Reply By: 4wdNewbie - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:50

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:50
The oil companies only do it because they can... As they have the supply, and we have the demand.. they can almost do watever they damn please. Good on the ACCC for jumping in and telling the oil companies to drop their prices lest they be investigated. I saw in the news this morn that ulp in Syd was down to $1.05 with predictions it will go further. Of course LPG took a 13-14c price hike per litre which I dont think has come down yet... But what do i care... these days i walk... :P
AnswerID: 216419

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:17

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:17
......make hay while the sun shines..I can't see oil prices staying at these levels for long. They might go a bit lower, but it is all short-term factors driving the price at the moment (warmer US winter etc), but the long term issue of supply/demand and the lack of new supply coming on stream means prices will simply go higher in the medium to longer term.

Buying oil company shares dring this period of weakness will prove to be a great hedge against rising fuel prices in the future.......(all care no repsonsibility on that statement!)
AnswerID: 216423

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:20

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:20
From ABC.net

Far north fuel prices remain high while south-east prices fall
Friday, 19 January 2007. 12:11 (AEDT)
Petrol price watchdog Fueltrac says petrol prices in the far north remain high, despite significant drops in the south-east.

Earlier this week, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission warned it would investigate the oil companies if the cost of petrol did not drop in line with falls in crude oil prices.

Fuel prices in Cairns remain at a $1.13 per litre, while Brisbane motorists are paying under $1 per litre.

Fueltrac general manager Geoff Trotter says the warning and media scrutiny appears to have benefited motorists in the south-east, but regional Queenslanders have been left out.

"[There are] very substantial differentials in Queensland, now say between Brisbane, which is down as low today as 98.9 cents, whereas Cairns yesterday was $1.13 a litre," he said.

"Out in the west it was even higher, $1.16, $1.17, even $1.23 a litre."

Seems to me that "under $1 is getting closer to what is being quoted earlier in this thread as being 18 months ago. My only beef is I'm in the wrong end ofthe state.

AnswerID: 216425

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:51

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:51
Sorry but weren’t we meant to be paying $2 litres buy now according to the “Experts”

And the resign Oil is going to go back up is cause OPEC will cut production agene as the price is below what they want it to be, Pricks
AnswerID: 216465

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:04

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:04
NEW YORK: If crude oil prices extend their sharp slide below the $US50 a barrel mark it could trigger an even deeper wave of investor selling, energy analysts said on Wednesday.

Oil prices have slumped about 16 per cent since the start of the year to below $US51 a barrel before picking up to around $US52.50 in after-hours trading and the market has a concentration of "put", or sell, options around the $US50 and $US45 a barrel level, making them key pivot points.

The spot price in Dubai sank to $US49.39 on Wednesday but in early trading last night was back over $US50 - by just one cent.

"If the speculative funds were able to push crude below $US50 a barrel it could trigger a further wave of put short hedging which would give additional negative momentum," said Olivier Jakob at Petromatrix.

The drop in oil prices has been caused in part by an abnormally warm winter that has cut into demand for heating fuels and has rung alarm bells for OPEC members struggling to buoy prices with production cuts.

But analysts have also been pointing to hedging by oil producers who wish to lock in revenue because they think oil's five-year rally may have run out of steam.

"A $US50 WTI [West Texas Intermediate] price represents a level that could concern higher-cost producers and at that level we would expect to see further producer hedging that may not be easily absorbed by the hedge fund community," JP Morgan said in a research note.

"Banks that have sold puts to producers at key levels, like $US55 and $US50, will have to manage that exposure as prices move lower," JP Morgan said.

As of Tuesday, open interest for put options at $US50 a barrel for NYMEX near-month crude oil was 17,877, compared with 6384 at $51 a barrel.

On Wednesday, US oil futures were down US56c to $US50.65 a barrel, down from $US61.05 at the end of 2006 and down from last July's peak of $US78.40 a barrel.

London Brent crude oil was down US43c to $US51.19.

Tapis, the Kuala Lumpur benchmark used to price Australian oil, was down $US2.46 to $US55.02.

Technical analysts said that oil prices risked a steep slide if they break below $US50 a barrel.

"Brent is poised on the edge of a cliff here and the next step down will not be a small move," Walter Zimmermann at United Energy said.

Mr Zimmermann said the market should peg $US50.65-$US49.30 a barrel as the cliff edge for US crude, with any further steps to the downside likely to target the $US47.55 and $US44.40 levels.

"In the bigger picture, any further downside from here will greatly buttress the case for an eventual longer-term decline to the $US36.35 area for the next major time-cycle low," he added.

¡ Explorers drilled more holes in the US last year - 932 - than in any other year since 1985. A record 29,356 natural gas wells were also sunk.

Reuters, Bloomberg

FollowupID: 476864

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:08

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:08
shhh, now youve gone and reminded the oil companies!!!

All future greivences, pointed directly at you LOL!!
FollowupID: 476866

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:57

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:57
Mike, the oil companies and I don't belong in the same sentence.
I've been crucified on here before, for mentioning them:)
FollowupID: 476958

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:53

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:53
I wont tell anyone ;)
FollowupID: 476971

Reply By: CLC50 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:54

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:54

One Question
I have always wondered How much does 1 Barrel = is it 115.6271 Liters is this correct.
AnswerID: 216479

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:27

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:27
They don't crack one barrel of oil to one particular product, the cracked yield varies pending on the quality of the crude used and the product required so other than the equation of barrel = litres then its not so easy to say each barrel produces 160 litres of diesel or unleaded etc.

Sorry for rambling I think its closer to 160 litres per barrel in answer to your question. :-)

FollowupID: 476884

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:05

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:05
G'day John,

When I was out at the Eromanga Refinery in '91, the Thargominda crude was distilling out at 70% diesel. Once the water was drained off it, the refinery ran their generators (110 volt) on the crude oil in summer with no adverse effects.

The work Landcruiser ute ran better on Eromanga diesel than on the stuff that was for sale in Bris. First cut diesel looks like slightly oily water. There were no additives of any kind added at the refinery.
FollowupID: 476915

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:18

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:18
Spuds go up in price , chips go up , spuds come down ......chips stay up

AnswerID: 216551