What's your state charge for Rego?

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:08
ThreadID: 41320 Views:2664 Replies:19 FollowUps:14
I have as a knock about 4x4 Mitshi Triton 2.5 turbo diesel. When I bought the Land cruiser,I never traded the Triton (had it 10 yrs- been over Simpson Desert and half way around Aus. no probs.) probably kept more for sentimental reasons, but still in good nick and handy traytop for towing the boat etc., you know where I'm coming from. Mother bear just picked up the mail at PO, included is the Triton registration renewal. HOLY SNAPPERS cop this- Is registered as a truck as all traytops in SA.

Registration charge $330.00
Admin fee $6.00
Emergency services levy $32.00
Stamp duty on Insurance Policy $60.00
Compulsory Third Party Ins. Premium ex GST $258.90
Gst on CTP Insurance Premium $23.10

A total of $710.00 for the smallest truck you can get to drive on the road for 12 months!! What a rip off. If you only pay by 3 month doses it costs an extra $50.00 a year.
Just out of curiosity what Govt. fleecing you blokes for rogo in other states? Read in the local rag about 6 months ago Mr. Plod said there had been a marked escalation in people driving unregistered vehicles lately - wonder bloody why!!
Regards Nick.

Reply By: frosty01 - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:43

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:43
Hi Ol Nick, Just out of intrest ,I live in Adelaide and i drive a triton duel cab,my rego for 3 months is $228.00.

That makes it a total of $912.00 a year if i only do it at 3 month intervals. Can't remember what 12 months was worth now.

I know you were asking about other states but I just found it interesting of the diference.It could be country to city thing or the weight of the car or pensioner rate.Not trying to be rude,Don't mean to offend if your not that old.
AnswerID: 215967

Follow Up By: Old Nick - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:32

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:32
No,haven't any concessions Frosty, but forgot it is cheaper in SA outside of metro. area. Better keep me trap shut !!
Thanks Nick
FollowupID: 476367

Reply By: live4theweekends - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 19:02

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 19:02
In Tassie, our petrol Patrol is $280 for 6 months. Think its about $520 if paying for the year. Our actual rego fee is only $40 for six months, its all the other charges that make up the rest! :-)
AnswerID: 215974

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 19:15

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 19:15
in vic our jack and our small car are both about $450 each for the year includes everything
AnswerID: 215976

Reply By: GQ_TUFF - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 19:41

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 19:41
Just on $720 all up for a GU wagon here in NSW for 12 months, no shorter options unless you are a car dealer.

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 215982

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:05

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:05
dual cab hilux in ACT is $918 if not used for business purposes. ie classified as commercial vehicle but uses for private use only use only,I think its about 2K if full business use. unless its business you cannot even park in loading zones

80 series l/c now $760. got renewal today only went up $ 20 this year.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 215989

Follow Up By: Tony - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:36

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:36
G'day Howard, the DXGU in the ACT is just over $2000.00, but because its for private use we claim back $1100.00 from NRMA. And have to do it every year, a real PITA.
FollowupID: 476298

Reply By: Angler - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:36

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:36
Great answers, wonder where they live??

GU patrol 3 litre 4 cylinder $538.10, North Queensland

All four cylinders are the same.

Six go up around 200 and V8's another 200 or so.

Pooley
AnswerID: 216002

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:48

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:48
The problem in SA (and I believe in most other states) is that a traytop is always classed as a commercial vehicle, and attracts higher rego and TPI. Mine is about $300 more than the Prado was.

I tried to get mine registered for private use, and gave up. To register it as a camper, there were too many conditons, and the premium would have depended on its weight, fully loaded. I have bad memories of Regency Park :-))
AnswerID: 216005

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 00:33

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 00:33
The problem with SA (in so far as rego costs - talking about the other problems would keep us here for ages :-) ) is that the rego used to be very cheap but the government got greedy and now it is quite pricey. On any highway in Oz every other truck/trailer wore a SA plate because of this, but not anymore.
FollowupID: 476358

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 08:14

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 08:14
Your Gov probably heard what other states were getting away with on rego charges, and thought phuk this, lets join in on this scam.
FollowupID: 476389

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:58

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:58
My GQ wagon comes in at $450 but as I am a poor pensioner I get it for $385. So pleased they are looking after us old folks....... Then I only have 3rd party property insurance at $66 and drive very carefully.....LOL
AnswerID: 216009

Follow Up By: Old Nick - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:43

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:43
Thanks Willem, I only 3rd party property insure myself.
Regards Nick
FollowupID: 476369

Follow Up By: rooscoota - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 10:57

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 10:57
hey hey g'day

good thing they're looking after ya willem...... just a lowly pensioner here in n.s.w. and my rego papers come with an amount due of $0.00 for my gu patrol wagon, but i do have to fork out about $330 for the c.t.p.

lifes a garden....... dig it

FollowupID: 477028

Reply By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 21:58

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 21:58
12 month rego in Vic for a 6 year old 3.2L V6 Holden Frontera - costs $443. Not bad compared to other states.
AnswerID: 216021

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:19

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:19
Landcruiser Troopcarrier

Private Rate $485.40 -1 year
Standard Rate $554.55 - 1 year

AnswerID: 216032

Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:52

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:52
Hi Doug, I just re-registered my troopy 2 weeks ago for 12 mths private use & it cost me $533.95. I'd like to know where you got your private rate from. The standard rate for 12mths according to my papers is $604.25. Cheers
FollowupID: 476518

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:36

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:36
Topcat
have the renewal right here on my web for you to see, personals have been erased

Site Link

Doug

FollowupID: 476528

Follow Up By: brummie pete - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:08

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:08
doug ,your personals are still there in the bottom left hand corner if you would like to remove them ,or maybe admin can for you .
FollowupID: 476564

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:31

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:31
brummie pete
No problems mate , it has nil to do with Admin , it is or was on my web site and now it has gone ,Thanks anyhow .

Doug

FollowupID: 476573

Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 22:32

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 22:32
Doug I would have to assume you are getting a "Seniors" discount. Correct me if I'm wrong because I will be going back to query mine!!!!!!
FollowupID: 476601

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:31

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:31
Topcat
Now you ....L i s t e n heaar Boyy , are yea insinuatin that airm an o l d has been ......well yeh ok your probably gettin close , And for your Question ...No senior discount that I know of unless they have it for over 60s , they didn't say and I didn't ask.

PS My little Dusty Dawg is itchin to make your cats fur fly

Doug

FollowupID: 476628

Reply By: Ianw - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:41

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:41
In Vic a ute is a "goods carrying vehicle" and attracts a discount of nearly $100 off the normal car rego. If you live in the bush the CTP ins is a lot less as well. Total for a Navara Dual cab $357 all up last year.
AnswerID: 216038

Reply By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:46

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:46
My 2004 GUIII Patrol 3.0 TD (4 Cylinder) cost $504.70 for 12 months in the NT. The break down is

$70 Rego
$426.30 CTP
$8.40 Admin

The if your vehcile is over a certan age (around 5 years) you have to visit the pits and get a $38.50 5 minute inspection.

Not to bad compaired to some of our southern brothers.

AnswerID: 216039

Follow Up By: Old Nick - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:40

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:40
Thank goodness Dave & Shelley we do not yet vehicle inspections over a certain age, tho old Triton would pass OK,but don't have to put me hand in me pocket for more loot for the Govt.
Regards Nick
FollowupID: 476368

Reply By: Busy Bee - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:29

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:29
Queensland: Paid $582 for 3.0 litre diesel Rodeo twin cab ute in November.
Yesterday my son paid $341 for 6 months on his 6 cyl 1986 Tojo swb, so a full year would be around $640 or $650.

If you live in Cape York communities you can get a concessional registration as you don't get the same usage of "good" roads, but the concession applies only to the registration component not Third Party Insurance etc so it's not much but every bit helps. You are not supposed to drive out of the concession area and the sticker has a white cross over it to deter you from cheating.
AnswerID: 216048

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:51

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:51
Nick,

In QLD my 2004 6 cylinder petrol Hilux dual cab costs $353.25 for six months or $675.90 for a year.

Making up the amount is the rego fee, CTP Insurance, Traffic Improvement Fee (lol) and a surcharge.

In QLD the Fire levy is paid with your rates for land owners and the Ambulance levy is collected with your electricity bill.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 216056

Reply By: Old Nick - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:49

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:49
Thanks all for your replies, looks as though if I want to live here, just gotta keep on paying to keep on driving- no option even though I reckon it is excessive
Regards All Nick
AnswerID: 216073

Reply By: P.G. (Tas) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:35

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:35
Tasmania - GU III Patrol 3.0tdi - !2 months

Registration Fee - 69.65
Motor Tax - 133.00
MAIB (insurance) - 332.00
GST - 30.18
Duty - 6.00

Total $540.65

AnswerID: 216106

Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 10:46

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 10:46
Get it right!! Sorry, this was for the better halfs Falcon.

Tasmania - GU III Patrol 3.0tdi - !2 months

Registration Fee - 69.65
Motor Tax - 106.00
MAIB (insurance) - 332.00
GST - 30.18
Duty - 6.00

Total $513.65

FollowupID: 476424

Reply By: Gmouse - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:59

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:59
Glad I read this thread………

Thought my rego was due next month….. Wrong!!! End of the month lol

2004 Nissan Patrol 4.2 TD - REG-$168.60 TAC $356.00 Insurance Duty $35.60
Total $560.20 Inc GST

That’s in Vic Metro

AnswerID: 216112

Reply By: luch - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:58

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:58
VICTORIA .......................TOO MUCH

WHAT DO THEY DO WITH THE MONEY ??????????????????????
AnswerID: 216350

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 11:57

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 11:57
SA. GQ Patrol 6cyl (City)

Reg charge $178.00
Admin Fee $6.00
Emerg serv levy $24
S/Duty on Ins Premium $60.00
Comp Third Party $340.61
Gst on CTP Insurance premium $30.39

Total $639.00.
AnswerID: 216617