What the ...... ?? 'puter gremlins
Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 22:11
Gramps (NSW)
Has anyone, running FF 2.0.0.1 as their browser, noticed a change in the last 15 - 30 mins?
I've been running this version of FF for a week or so with no problems. About 15 mins ago I looked up for the site toolbar ..... and it was gonnnnnnnne !!!! When I did a refresh I got this poxy message stating that my browser did not support the site toolbar and to click on a link for an alternative navigation solution.
After clicking, instead of the toolbar in two lines it is now one line and I have to use the slidebar to view the last couple of items on the toolbar ?????? It's been working fine all day and then shazaaaamm
Reply By: Rohan K - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 22:13
Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 22:13
Yep, been suffering this since updating to FF 2.0.0.1 prior to Xmas.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 22:22
Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 22:22
Thanks for that Rohan.
Mine only just started to exhibit this behaviour.
BUT there seems to be a silver lining to this cloud. Previously, original posts would disappear "under" the advertising blurbs to the right. Now the original posts in each thread seem correctly separated from the noise on the right :))))))
Good triumphs over evil after all. Methinks the little pointy heads have been at it again to improve the site. Thanks guys .... oooops blokes/blokesses :)))))))))
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 22:52
Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 22:52
G'day Mr K and Gramps. You guys may have to do a cross grade to Opera as a browser. Seldome seem to have thos sports of messages. I did have some messages dissapearing with the right side advertising on something the ther day. I do keep other browsers for 'rainy days' but you know they have been long time between drinks.
Guess it's the same Rohan The Great of the Great Ocean Road...... If it is pleased you got
home safe. Speaking of a long time between drinks, I measured 10 mm in the rain gauge the other day but worked out someone dumped some wine in it on NY night. LOL .......RECALCULATE............
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 23:05
Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 23:05
You might be right there JR. Don't want to end up like Mad Dog though. He changes browsers as frequently as some change underwear LOL
All seems to be working OK now after the initial shock :)))
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 23:38
Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 23:38
What's this about Gramps, I'm using Maxthon on this laptop and have been for ages, best browser around and coming from china it's cheap, free in fact, yeah I know the others are free but this is chinese free which is cheaper than USA free.
The PC in the study runs firefox for some reason but I rarely use it so I don't pee around with it, the family seem happy with it but they don't know anything else do they.
The shed PC runs Maxthon
Maxthon appears to be catching on, I may have to find some other obscure brilliant browser :)
Site Link
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 23:54
Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 23:54
LOL I could'nt remember which el cheapo browser you were on Ray. Maxthon eh, think I'll have to give it a go as
well as JRs suggestion of Opera.
First problem I've experienced with FF in 3 years or so.
Can't see me going back to bloody IE though,,,,,,, Yuk !!!!
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 07:30
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 07:30
OMG Mad Dog has had 4 browsers in three years? I am astonished
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 08:27
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 08:27
I like the Opera browser with it's lower overhead until you have about 15 tabs open and it then has a few. LOL I can quickly close them though. If i hover the mouse cursor over one of the opened tabs I get a thumbnail of the page and information about it. I think IE has copied that now.
Think I prefer to go the European broswer Ray, to the Chinese one at this stage........ Have used Mozilla and FF too but have standardised here. Opera is just so flexible.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 23:51
Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 23:51
Be buggered !!! Walked away from the PC for a few minutes with the site toolbar displaying OK, come back and the poxy message is back again ??????????????
ps I have'nt had a drink since NYE, honest :))))
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 08:30
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 08:30
Gramps
Have been living all of my life with IE browser. It works for me(but then again, I am a tad slow...lol)
Have tried Maxthon and FF as was unimpressed. Maybe I was pressing the wrong buttons...hahahaha
I haven't had a drink since last night :-D
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 10:43
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 10:43
Bro, not everyone likes to provide a virus ladder into their puter. You providing a way in and a vast percentage that follow mean thet fewer viruses are written for the climbing through Opera. Only a small percentage of users you see.
Hope
Warraweena is hot outside mate. Just admire the Greek godesses mate from a distance!
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:50
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:50
Willem,
Different strokes for different folks :))) I'm using Maxthon at the moment but my toolbar is still AWOL
JR, that (the virus thingy) was part of my thinking when I made the move to FF years ago.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:02
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:02
Hey Bro
Don't you insult my choice of browser. Or are you trying to start a Browser debate?
No goddesses here..only a fourlegged bitch and some feral goats..lol
Al,
Not sure what yer stroking, mate.......:-D
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:34
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:34
Hahahaha Willem. You be careful talking about those goats and their imminent fate. With the increasing number of 'outed' goat lovers on this site you could start off a jihad, I mean goathad :)))))
Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 08:28
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 08:28
Sometime on 9th or 10th January we've lost the top bar navigation buttons too, and we are running Microsoft's very own Internet Explorer V6 !!! That's about as standard as you can get!!
John | J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: DIO - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 10:54
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 10:54
Go across the HELP ABOUT INTERNET EXPLORER, click on it and
check the version of IE that you have installed. If it is V 7.0 something or other then you have an upgraded version that has a different layout (default) than the previous one.
Go across to the right of your screen (at the top) you will see the word Tools - click on it and you have a variety of choices that will change the way information (toolbars, menus etc) are displayed across the top. Make some selctions,
check them out if you don't like them go back and cancel your selection(s).
Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 12:45
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 12:45
Thanks DIO, but I'm running IE6.... No changes to IE at my end, but yesterday the ExplorOz
home page included a full set of buttons for navigating inside Exploroz, today no buttons for "Store", "Forum", etc. etc. I think that's what people here are discussing??? No???
John | J and V
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:47
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:47
John,
Correct. Yesterday my toolbar buttons disappeared after being OK all day. No, I have'nt changed a single thing on the PC other than upgrade to vers 2 of FF over a week ago. FF2 had worked perfectly until last night.
I decided to
check out Maxthon last night as per Mad Dog's advice. Guess what? Same weirdness happening.
I used to be paranoid, now I KNOW this PC is out to get me LOL
Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:33
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:33
Hi Al,
Nice to know I'm not alone - yes I even share your paranoia - sometime yesterday a change occurred and it's comforting to know it is a shared experience! I reckon this is among the best-run sites I know, so I expect the guru/s will find some little inconsistency in some newly introduced code. When my machine refreshes an EO page, complete except for the navigation buttons, it announces "done , but with errors" so must be pretty right.
John | J and V
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:40
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:40
John,
I've notified the "powers that be" about the problem. They usually sort it out with a minimum of fuss.