Autron Cruise In GU III Patrol - What's Normal?
Submitted: Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:30
P.G. (Tas)
I had an Autron Cruise Control fitted to my GU III/manual/3.0 Patrol and I am not happy with its operation.
Having had cruise in two of my BA Falcons (drive by wire) the Autron unit is SLOW to react to changing conditions, ie when going up a steep
hill, it drops 10-15 kph before it kicks in and picks up the speed, then after you crest the top it will accelerate down the other side by about 10-15 kph before backing off the throttle.
In normal running the speed fluctuatates +/- 5kph at 80-90 kph.
The other thing I don't like is the operation of the steering wheel mounted control. I have a section of road I travel where I press the accelerate button on the steering wheel control and it takes better than 12 seconds to accelerate from 60 to 80 kph, and this is downhill! Using the accelerator it takes about 7 seconds.
I have returned the vehicle to the only authorised dealer in Southern Tasmania and the first time they changed the internal settings to the fastest possible, took it for a
test drive on the highway at 100 kph and it performed flawlessly, but on secondary roads between 60 and 90 kph it's terrible.
I have had the vehicle back a total of 3 times and they assure me it is getting full throttle when needed and intimated I am being podantic and saying there were no more settings to adjust.
What have been your experiences and what's my best course of action from here?
Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:35
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:35
hmm, interesting
I too have found the Autron to be slow to react in my GU 3- 5 spd (esp compared to the Cruise in our Cherokee or the AP50 I installed in the troopy) I was told that there aren't any settings that can be changed.
(the 15 k over the limit it does going down
hill is the most concerning part)
Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:42
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:42
Hi Dave,
I was fortunate enough to be able to be present when the tech connected his you beaut whizz bang meter into the cruise control box.
It definately has some adjustments available, but it appears there may not be enough.
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:43
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:43
Hi Peter,
I have the Autron cruise control on my manual 3.0TD and agree its slow to react. But I haven't been bothered by it enough to have any of the settings adjusted from standard. I find the speed doesn't fluctuate by more than +/- 2 km/hr unless its really hilly. But agree it takes off after cresting a steep
hill.
I have a Dtronic so this probably makes the engine more response and being in WA there is FAR more
long flat stretches where the cruise is simply holding a constant speed very
well. But I guess in Tassie you have far more hills than flat stretches and I suppose this could get annoying.
I suppose it all depends on how fussed you get. I don't mind touching the throttle going up a
hill, but the bit I don't like is the overshoot once crseting the
hill.
But having said that, I am very happy with it, would put it on again, and find it HEAPS better than the cruise (aftermarket) I had on my 80 series.
Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:50
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:50
G'day Captain,
I got used to driving by the steering wheel controls in the BA Falcons (6 & V8), and they were superb, very responsive. In comparison, the Autron feels like a dead, wet, sponge.
The engine doesn't lack power, the Autron just doesn't use it unless you are travelling everywhere at 100kph+.
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:56
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:56
Hi Peter,
Its rare I engage my cruise under a 100 km/hr hence probbaly why I find it very good ;)
Compared to my wifes cruise control on the Trajet, which is very good, your descrition of a wet sponge is very adapt in comparison!!!
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:32
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:32
I have had 2 BA's and the Autron on the Patrol 3.0 GU and the Falc cruise control is THE best I have ever driven with, I would
hazard a guess and say not to measure the Autron by the BA cruise. That said the Autron in the Patrol is very good, it reacts reasonably
well, better than the AP50 I had in the XW Falcon I used to adore, and it gets excited at the end of a big climb too and over compensates but its quite acceptable to me.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:56
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:56
Agree with what's been said by Captain and Bozo....err Bonz! (ducking) as I also have the same vehicle with the cruise. It's heaps better than the cable pull POS that Nissan originally supplied but I certainly don't compare it with my factory fitted Crapolladore cruise.
I think you also have to remember that a falcon is a lighter car, more powerful motor etc and the patrol has to wind up a bit to move it's weight and as a result there is a bit of latency in the cruise's response when you crest hills etc. I have a dtronic and the characteristics of the cruise didn't change after fitting.
Just my 5c.....Leroy
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:58
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:58
I know where you live Leroy, dont ever forget that hehehehehe
Made me laugh out loud, thanx for that, the kids think I am more deranged than I was yesterday hahhaha
Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:06
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:06
that's why I now have to move and go deep....deep....deep....under cover.....
Leory
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:10
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:10
It wont help I have a GPS tracker/transmitter just to
check on you, no-one else, oh
well Lucy too, in case he is in the vicinity threatening to drop by.
Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 14:45
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 14:45
I guess what is sticking is my neck is the $800 I paid for this wonderful labour saving device that doesn't really save that much labour!!! NOT HAPPY !!!
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 15:00
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 15:00
Just to make you feel better, I paid $500 installed - sorry :(
Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 15:04
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 15:04
I now feel cheated at $600 Lol. Peter if its any consilation it works a treat on open roads like the Hume hwy so when you're over this way and travellling on it you will be prepared lol
Leroy
Reply By: Member - John - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:02
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:02
P.G, try ringing Autron in
Melbourne, I had a problem with a unit on a GQ Patrol and the Tech from Autron was very very helpful and fixed the problem. Maybe worth a phone call? Hope this helps.
Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:20
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:20
John,
I rang Autron in the early stages of the problem (installed now for 8-9 months) and they were helpful and reffered me back to the local service agent here.
Reply By: Gimp35 - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:00
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:00
Hi Pete,
Had this system fitted to my Gu 3.0 ltr 5 months ago, the only real issue I've had is the surge after changing gears, and that was explained by the technician prior to instillation.
The rest of the issues you have in relation to slow response times, sound like they could be related to the 3.0ltr 4 cylinder, which is not exactly a power house, and depends a lot on which gear your in. It does accelerate over a crest, which again could be caused by over acceleration due to the (lack of engine power, selection of gear, steepness of
hill)
Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:10
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:10
surge after changing gears? Do you change gears with the cruise on?
Leroy
Follow Up By: Gimp35 - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:23
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:23
Yes Leroy, that was one of the options available.
When going up a steep
hill I can change from 5th to 4th without the cruise disabling, and continues at the set speed with an increase in revs obviously.
Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 07:30
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 07:30
G'day Paul,
Power is not the problem here, it is lazy response from the Autron unit. It is SLOW to respond to speed changes in 3rd, 4th, & 5th. When coming onto a steep incline I can feel the power coming on after it has lost 10-15kph. Then when it crests the top it keeps the power on until you are 10-15kph over the original setting.
The surge on the gear change can be avoided by simply touching the clutch pedal 1/2 a second before you disengage it before the shift.
I guess I got sucked into the Autron unit by all the glowing testimonials in their advertising. If I could find another brand of cruise control for the Patrols' drive by wire system I would use the Autron unit for batting practice!
Follow Up By: Gimp35 - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 19:34
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 19:34
Hi Peter,
All I can tell you is that my unit is completely different to what you have said, I took more notice this morning, and going up a steep
hill it reacts within a 2-3kph drop in speed, and the same when it crests.
I poke a few blokes prior to buying my unit, and they all were happy, and I can say the same. I suggest going further up the food chain for some answers, obviously the people you are dealing with can't help.
Best of Luck
Reply By: SmithyWA - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 09:21
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 09:21
Different vehicle here I know, but the autron in my Prado TD is faultless. The response time is almost instantaneous and it will hold the speed within a couple of kph even in hilly country. What you describe doesn't sound right to me. It sounds like the Autron is too slow to interact with the ECU in your Patrol. I would keep complaining to Autron.
Reply By: keepingitreal - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 12:44
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 12:44
Different vehicle also. '98 manual 100 series, 1hz with aftermarket turbo/ 5speed manual. Autron works magically. no dramas even on steep climbs,both acc and dec. Reacts quickly when engaged. Surely there must be some way of rectifying your problem. Good luck, don't give up on them until your satisfied. Hope it works out for you!! Regards Kirsten (NSW)
Reply By: gompy - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 13:01
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 13:01
I had an Autron cruise installed a few months ago in my GUIII/3.0 auto and I am NOT happy with it!
When I engage cruise control at say 100kmh, the car surges to 115-120kmh and ten slowly backs of to 100kmh, it also does this when I want to increase the speed a few clicks.
Now this is of course very annoying and of course illegal! Therefore I rarely use it, waste of money.
Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 13:12
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 13:12
G'day Gompy,
This is how
mine was initially before the tech fiddled around with it, my advise is go back to the installer, it can be made a little better.
I am so pleased that I am not the only person in Australia that is not happy with this unit, I was starting to get a complex lol