Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 16:58
Member - Roachie (SA)
Another post is currently running about
HF radio installations and it's prompted me to aske this question with regards to the installation of my Barret unit onto/into the new Patrol/Chev.
I want to mount the auto-tune antenna on the front right corner of the tray. The large Barret box of tricks is mounted on the plywood board I have mounted behind the rear seats, below the back window.
The problem I have is how to get the cable for the antenna with it's screw-on joiner, through the rear cab. I need a large rubber grommet like the ones Nissan (and other manufacturers) use on the firewall of vehicles.
Does anybody know where I can source one of those from? I guess I could ask a local dealer, but am interested to know what the
FORUM CLAN think.......
Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:03
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:03
G'day Roachie,
Have ya checked out Clark Rubber?
Catch ya later... Ed. C
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:08
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:08
Thanks Ed, I'm guessing I'll have to take a trip to the Big Smoke.....no Clark Rubber within cooey of here.
Another thought I just had (after I hit the SUBMIT button), was to
check out the local wreckers....might be able to scavenge one from a write-off.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:15
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:15
And don't forget to waterproof both the AutoTune control cable & the coax anteena cable where they connect to the autotune!! There's boat stuff called self-amalging?? tape. Also, run (at least) the power cables and control cable thru split flexible conduit.
Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:40
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:40
Depends on cable size, but have you looked at electric and electronic suppliers? Worth a look at
www.jaycar.com.au
and search on "Grommet". Here you'll find waterproof glands up to 18mm.
HTH
John | J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Steve63 - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:48
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:48
Hi Roachie,
The 79 series has got a grommet behind the drivers
seat on the trays. I was lead to believe that the Patrol does as
well. The one on the 79 series is
well hidden though.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:35
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:35
Yeah, thanks Steve........this thing of
mine is a cut & shut wagon into dual cab set-up, so there are no standard grommets in the rear of the cab for me to use.
Thanks anyway.....
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:15
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:15
Are you for real !!!!!
Just stick it through one of the hundreds of rust holes already there !!!
Did you end up with a complete nissan on monday out of the 5 you have had for parts?
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:28
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:28
ROFLMFAO Pesty your a Classic. :-)))))))))))))))
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:44
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:44
Heh Des , the truth hurts so much, that he hasnt even commented this time!
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:00
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:00
Fair dinkum!!! Yooz 2 blokes should get married (to each other)!! Yooz have SOOOO much in common!!!
It looks like I'll end up on my death bed someday and my biggest sence of failure will be that I couldn't do such a simple thing in life: train a couple of monkeys to work out a decent machine from a 2nd rate one. I'm a failure!!!! ;-))
Reply By: SA_Patrol - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:44
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:44
Will a rubber grommet from the floor of any car,
check in the boot of any cars under the spare wheels. I use it wash out all the crap from the boot this way
Reply By: Member - Rotord - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:54
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:54
Bias Boating Warehouse has Waterproof Cable Outlet , chromed brass , to lead cables through deck , # 2415 for 6-8 mm cable $5.50 , #2473 for 8-12 mm cable $6.90 .
Sydney mail order phone 1300 727 695 or sales@biasboating.com.au .
Also Plastic Cable Cover , protective grommet to lead cables through panels $3.50 , #2474
Reply By: Dave198 - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:12
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:12
Roachie, take a trip to the local wreckers and I am sure they would let you have a bagful of various sizes if you ask.
I have a mate who has a wrecking yard, and I have got a bagful from there.
Some are just plugs, some for feeding wire through, all shapes and sizes.
They come in handy for all sorts of jobs.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:38
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:38
Thanks Dave....I think you're on the money and I thought of this myself about 10 nano-seconds after hitting the submit button. DOH!!!!
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:26
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:26
Maybe the guy who cuts the back off Toyota's can arrange one from the useless parts of Toyota's he has left at
home? (Note for Des Lexic, The useless part of a Toyota is everything aft of the Bullbar)
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:33
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:33
I agree Bonz except you missed the tow rope attached to the towbar with the Puss Bucket nissan on the back end of the tow rope. Now thats the useless part of a Toyota
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 17:42
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 17:42
now Des as everyone knows any vehicle useless measure starts and finishes with the metal of the vehicle otherwise one could count the road and subsequent vehicles behind such as the Mighty Nissan Patrol in the "useless" measure which just isnt morally correct.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 22:41
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 22:41
Hi Roachie,
I pulled some out of my daughter's Subaru. The old Subarus have heaps of them - about 40-50mm diameter - and they haven't gone hard.
phil
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:11
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:11
Oi! dude.
I am all adviced out when it comes to you.
However I will suggest that in future refrain from buying these heaps of chit and then wasting everyones very valuable 'kimprado' time on the
forum, trying to figure out how to solve your problems.
You have already answered your question - the wreckers my son and take a vernier with you to get the exact size of the hole to cut.
Catch U 2 morrow on the 'telling bone'
PS
You wouldn't need to resort to such tactics if you had a JEEP
Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 07:34
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 07:34
if none of the above work...let me know the details..hole size and thickness of metal..it might save you a trip to the big smoke....
port wakefield wreckers lol
Reply By: Darian (SA) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:33
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:33
As mentioned, a wrecker would not be a bad start. You may not have one close enough though so ..............There is a mob here in the metro (Hindmarsh) called Fitch the Rubber Man - old established company - they have have heaps of gear covering a wide range of needs - 2 George St Hindmarsh - 8346 5193. Re th cable - 1 made a hole with a hole saw in my panel on the Jack - bogged it up with lots of silicone both sides and has been very good - river crossings included - mind you, the hole is located underside and out of site - can't have messy old silicone boggings viewable on your new chariot.
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 17:16
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 17:16
Go to your local sparkie and ask for a waterproof "gland" fitting to suit whatever cable size you need to use. Buy a couple and run the head unit wiring and power separate to the antenna cable to reduce interference. You may need to remove the connectors off the ends of the cables to allow the cable through the gland.