LPG Gas Bottle Refills in Melbourne - Where?
Submitted: Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:54
Rob
With all the "ease" of swap-and-go LPG 9.0kgs Gas Bottle refills at just about every petrol station in
Melbourne, is there any advice as to my choices for getting my camping GAS cylinder refilled (I don't want the swap-and-go solution, I now own are brand new bottles with my camper trailer, and they look better in silver!).
I'm having a real hard time finding anyone who can refill? What organisation and cost for refill do you recommend?
Personally, I live in the Greensborough area...
Thanks!
Reply By: junior - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:09
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:09
Hi Rob, Bunnings refill gas bottles as do most larger hardware stores like Mitre10. Also BBQ's Galore etc. Many independant servos with more than one staff member during the day often still have refill
services on site.
Reply By: martz8 - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:11
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:11
I think that you can refill at Bunnings & also at Supagas.
Let me know how you go as I will soon need to refill also.
Marty
Follow Up By: Old Nick - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:16
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:16
Only swap your own bottles just before the due date-if you don't mind waiting a refill is generally about $8 dollars cheaper at a refill point. Regards Nick.
Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:43
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:43
Gooday,
My experience is that Bunnings are trying to wean everybody onto swap & go, which I hate, they are now charging more to have it refilled.Reckon the suppl;iers of gas are behind it & they will eventually force us all that way. Hate it.
Boroma604
Follow Up By: junior - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:09
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:09
Problem is most don't swap 2kg bottles!
Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:13
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:13
Everyone's going swap'n'go and it gives me the total craps, now and years ago. You buy a new bottle and they want to swap it out for a 2nd hand with unknown history. We had heaps near us a few years ago but now the closest I found is 15min drive.
As others said, try Bunnings, Rays, etc. Very limited servos, but keep looking and you'll find one.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:24
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:24
'You buy a new bottle and they want to swap it out for a 2nd hand with unknown history'
Really, why does it matter? If you are not happy with the swap and go bottle you end up with you can take it back and swap again when the bottle is empty!
Leroy....who is about to swap for the first time. Oh and you don't have to wait for it to be filled. Heaps quicker.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:20
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:20
My poor mans way of avoiding that one bottle that might be on the verge of having a problem. Just once would be enough. When my new bottles are on the verge of going out of date then I'll start swapping an go'ing to find a newer bottle.
Reply By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:33
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:33
The problem with some of the swap and go bottles is that a few of them are slightly different in size and won't fit into the bottle holders on the caravan. That's the reason I only refill
mine at least I know the bottle that came off the van will go back on the van.
Regards Andrew.
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 07:33
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 07:33
Gday all
I have found that the swap and fill bottles don't seam to be full??? I can rotiserise more chickens with a filled bottle than i can with a swap and run bottle...could be just me but i don't think so...
anyone have the same feeling??
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:52
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:52
Have never used Swap&Go.
The bottles I use for both at
home and camping, all have built-in float gauges which I like to
check at a quick glance how much gas is in the bottle.
Always use BBQ Galore for refills and every 9kg refill at my local is free.
Good business practise I think.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:56
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:56
'Always use BBQ Galore for refills and every 9kg refill at my local is free.'
I'm filling my 9kg bottles where you do then....hehe
Leroy
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:13
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:13
Gee, your quick Leroy:-)
Perhaps I should re-quote:- "every 3rd 9kg refil is free".
Follow Up By: junior - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:37
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:37
Sandman, don't suppose you know of any servos doing a similar deal on diesel???!!!
Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:57
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:57
I knew it was too good to be true lol. But every 3rd is pretty good though.
Leroy
Reply By: fozzy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:50
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:50
rob
try rays on bell st prob about $25
fozzy