Submitted: Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:43
lobie
I'm seriously considering getting a Jimny but the one I'm looking at doesn't have a bull bar. So I'm wondering if Jimny owners could give me their opinions.
It will be 90% a daily driver so fuel consumption is important. I'm wondering if steel bars like the ARB version affect fuel consumption at all due to their weight. Also, is there any extra noticable wear to the front tyres due to the extra weight?
The ARB bars look a lot better than any of the alloy versions that I've come across, but I'm wondering if alloy is a more practical option. Apparently SmartBar doesn't make a model for the Jimny at this stage, otherwise that'd be right up there in the running.
Secondly, since the fuel tank is so small a jerry can holder would be useful. Just wondering if anyone has a jerry can holder on the back of their Jimny and if so would mind posting a
pic or 2 showing how and where, exactly, it is attached to the back door. Or should I forget that and just stick the jerry can(s) on the roof?
I came across a rear door ladder on a Japanese website ( www.rakuten.co.jp/apio/449476/503095/ ). I reckon one of those would be good for attaching a jerry can holder or 2. Anyone happen to know if these ladders are available anywhere in Australia?
Are there any other essential accessories, apart from a decent roof rack, that I should look into?
thanks heaps
matt
Ps - The model I'm looking at is a 2004 JLX, if it matters.
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 01:01
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 01:01
Do you intend using the jerry can holder for additional fuel? If so then you are breaking the law if the holder is mounted outside the boundaries of the existing bumpers or outside the vehicle. Basically you are driving around with a "Backpack Bomb" attached to the back of your vehicle. One half decent rear ender and you end up with petrol sprayed all over a crash scene. One spark and you are toast, literally....Illegal for a very good reason.
If you need to carry extra fuel, get a long range tank.
There are several manufacturers of bullbars/nudgebars. Google is you friend (way too many to name, don't know your location)
Follow Up By: lobie - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 11:11
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 11:11
The jerry can would not protrude out any further than the spare tyre, does that still make it illegal?
I have found quite a few manufacturers who make bull bars, I was after some opinions on the ARB ones.
As far as I'm aware, no one makes a long range tank for the Jimny at this stage so it'd have to be a custom job and for such a cheap car it's not worth the dollars.
matt
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 11:33
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 11:33
You can carry jerry cans OF WATER, but not fuel. If you read any of the rear bar manufacturers literature this is precisely what they state the purpose is for, explicitly discouraging the use for fuel. It is also covered somewhere in the ADR's/roadworthy req's of all states that you are not to carry fuel outside the boundaries of the bumpers. Roof would not be a practical option on such a small light vehicle due to Center of Gravity issues. Only real options are to carry the jerry cans in the vehicle (very
well ventilated and strapped down), or to tow a light trailer. Quite simply the vehicle was not designed for traveling long distances.
Follow Up By: lobie - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 13:27
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 13:27
Fair enough. Thanks for the info.
matt
Reply By: zook - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:00
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:00
I've got a jimny and am getting an arb bar soonish. I also went through the searching, but after having a look around - the arb bar is not to heavy (even though its steel). Go and have a look at jimny's with std.
suspension and you wil see there is very little sag. I have aftermarket progressive
suspension 2' lift (read heavier) so i dont think it will worry me as much, (and I REALLY recommend it) but my 2 cents worth.
Tyre wear -
well any weight will probably increase tyre wear, but not very much, if you drive like a maniac would be worse tyre wear.
I though about the jerry can stuff as
well, you can get racks custom made off a new metal bumper (from steel works type
places) but you'll find that you can fit 4 full 20L jerries behind the back seats (and they fit snugly cos of the lip.) driving sensibly, 4 full jerries should give you a driving range of over 1250km with a fully loaded car.
good car, good offroad. I'd recommend checking that the
suspension isn't clapping out, and also that the gear box is smooth (for a jimny so a little clicky)
zook
Follow Up By: lobie - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 13:24
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 13:24
Thanks for the info, very useful. I'm not real keen on having fuel inside the car with fumes and leakage factor etc. Maybe I could look for a closable case that the jerry can(s) could go in.
Are you getting a winch bar or standard bull bar? I'm tempted to put a winch bar on since there isn't much difference in cost even though I'm not intenting on fitting a winch right now, but I'll have the option down the track.
Suspension upgrade is tempting but for the little offroading I'll be doing I don't think I can justify the cost. I'll
check out the
suspension and gear box like you mentioned but the one I'm looking at has only done 26000 kms so I don't expect there to be any issues there.
Thanks again for the info, very useful
matt
Follow Up By: zook - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:10
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:10
matt,
that picture that you posted the link to it of a sierra (I think they stopped calling them that in 98 - 99 and went back to jimny.)
I've done a couple of trips with fuel in the car, but most've been beach type runs with windows down, i am thinking of making a box to put the jerries in for when I have to drive long distances between fuel stops, but i reckon if you get jerries with good seals, then there is very little smell. but each to their own.
I am probably going to get the standard bar (I havent decided yet, I know what your saying about down the track...) but I just can't see myself getting a winch - or justifying the cost of a $1000+ winch. but like i said I havent decided, and it is just an extra $50 or so.. I guess you're just going to have a think bout it, but If you won't be doing much 4x4 work why get a winch bar? I'd be getting a lift before a winch.
zook
Follow Up By: lobie - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 23:28
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 23:28
yeah the top
pic is a sierra. If you scroll down there's a Jimny with a similar alloy ladder towards the bottom of the page.
You're probably right about the bull bar. There's more useful things to spend the $50 on.
thanks mate
matt
Reply By: madfisher - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 11:36
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 11:36
Hi Lobie,
Something I have just discovered, If you take a decent impact with a strong steel bar you can end up with a twisted chassie,Happened to my mates 91 Jack. Just something to thing about
Follow Up By: lobie - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 13:26
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 13:26
Yeah that's true, that's the main reason I was interested in smart bars. Thanks for the info.
matt
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 23:15
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 23:15
Once upon a time long ago I had a Sierra 1.3lt Highroof
Fitted an aluminium winch bar and 5000lb Warn winch.
Fitted as a one off, a rack with 6 jerrycans behind front
seat, and did a north south crossing of the
Simpson Desert (See my website below and read The Spinifex Trail)
After that I manufactured, with the help of others, an alloy box for the rear(removed the back seats)and fitted 4 jerries lying down on the bottom shelf. As long as long as the cap seal is in good condition a jerry can should not leak.
Twas a great little car and we sold it after 100,000 hard kms