15 amp plug in caravan

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:27
ThreadID: 38360 Views:26675 Replies:14 FollowUps:55
Hoping one of you electronic wizzards can help me out here.
We have just picked up our 2yr old Windsor caravan and upon bringing it home I went to plug in the power cord and found it to be a 15 amp cord with cooresponding plug, this end won't fit into any power points in our house as they are all 10amp points.
Can anybody explain to me why caravans have this bigger cord, a quick explanation, if 'quick' is possible, of the difference between 10 and 15 amp might help me to understand aswell.
Also how can I get around this problem without getting an electrician around to fit a 15 amp plug in the powerbox specifically for the van.
Solving this problem may also help me solve my other problem. being the generator, I just checked our Honda Eu2 and noticed that the 2 outlet power points on it are also only 10 amp, how do people use this genset with a caravan ? Can I buy a cord with a 10 amp fitting at the male end ? I couldn't see this being possible nor legal would it ?

Pezza

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:32

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:32
Pezza these are well documented always have been 15amp.you can pick them up at c/van accessories places.
How you goin anyway.
Cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 198336

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:43

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:43
Perry further to my answer the have always been 15amp since i was a boy mmmmmmm.Anyway the newly developing c/parks are supoed to be 10amp not sure if this is happening yet though.On the building sites we have to have 15amp leads but with 10amp plugs.I cannot explain all the reason of bull bleep that goes with but this is how it is.
Cheer's Mate.Bob.:)
FollowupID: 456978

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:20

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:20
Hi Bob,
Mate, I feel about as good as you look, lol. Thanks for asking though.
Sorry mate I didn't explain properly, I have a lead for the van but it has 15 amp plugs on the ends, that won't plug into any house hold power points.
I was just going to modify one of my own 15 amp leads with a 10 amp male on one end but wasn't sure if this was safe, to tell the truth, I wasn't so worried about the 'legal' bit, just the safety side of it, but you knowing me would probably have already figured that :-))
Gotta catch up again soon, just between you, me and the puter, I think Trev has something on the drawing board :-)))

Pezza
FollowupID: 456986

Reply By: Peter - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:47

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:47
Pezza,
Been through the same exercise when I purchased the van. The upshot of all the discussions was that it is illegal to use 10amp sockets in the van park, therefore the 15amp lead is required. I have made a very short extension cord (about 6 inches long) with a 10amp socket on 1 end and a 15amp on the other. I use this when I need to run the van at home but otherwise use the 15 amp cord without the extension. As for the gene, I have a Yamaha 2400is which also has 10amp outlets but the advice was that it does not have the power requirements to necessitate using a 15amp socket, therefore I just use the short extension with the 15amp lead for when the gene is used.
Tried to shorten all the answers I received to my queries so hope it helps a bit
AnswerID: 198337

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:29

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:29
Hi Peter,
Thanks for the reply, I was going to do something similar and modify a 15 amp lead with a 10 amp male to suit the house but wasn't sure of the safety implications of such a move, I wasn't sure if I was going to melt the 10 amp plug when I turn on the aircon in the van or something similar.
Going by a yours and a few other answers though, it seems to work just fine, so unless someone tells me I'll risk burning the house down, it seems like a plan.

Pezza
FollowupID: 456989

Follow Up By: slawsy65 - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 07:21

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 07:21
Nothing illegal about plugging 15 amp lead into 10 amp socket, the lead will carry the current supplied by the 10 amp socket. 10 amp outlets generally protected by 16 amp circuit breaker, 15 amp by a 20 amp breaker. Fit 10 amp male plug to lead or file earth pin (better to fit 10 amp plug) Van can only draw current available from outlet ie. 16 amps from 10 amp outlet and 20 from 15 amp outlet, no need to worry about over loading the lead. Would be different using 10 amp lead in 15 amp outlet. Qualified sparky for 20+ years

hope this helps

Shane
FollowupID: 457009

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 16:10

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 16:10
Hi slawsy65

"Qualified sparky for 20+ years" ?? If you recomend "Fit 10 amp male plug to lead or file earth pin...." then you need to go back to school ! Not only is this ilegal but it is very dangerous and I doubt that you understand the reasoning behind the regulations.
FollowupID: 457083

Follow Up By: cipher - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:38

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:38
Im with you Kiwi Kia, im a 4th year sparky, and have recently done all this sorta crap in trade school.. You have a 15A load, which is your caravan... You CANNOT fit off a 10A 3 Pin Plug onto the end, alot of people do it, and alot of people say its fine, but it is NOT 'OK'...

YES the extention lead may be able to handle it BUT there is a REASON why there was only a 10A GPO installed in your house. Because the cabling cannot support any bigger... What is worse is that your breaking current of a Fuse is about 1.7x its rating and a C/B is about 1.3X its rating, which could damage cabling.. C/B and fuses are not installed as a protection device in the main part of things, they are installed to protect the installation, ie, the cables... If you caravan was to try to draw 15A (WHICH IT COULD HENCE THE 15A GPI) it could be a hazard..

Justin

FollowupID: 457106

Follow Up By: slawsy65 - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 18:52

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 18:52
Load not withstanding, the lead is not the issue using a 15 amp lead in a 10 amp socket, max current from 10 amp socket WILL NOT effect the lead, if the van is running at full load then socket protection will protect the outlet and cable. Most van park sockets I have seen are only 10 amp, the adaptor leads mentioned would not be legal either but alot of people use them. The point I was making was that you can plug a 15 amp lead into a 10 amp socket (with 10 amp plug on it) and it will NOT be damaged by the current available from the socket. The original post/question related to using the van at home, one would think it would not be running at maximum load, thus people use a 10 amp socket.
Cipher: the same size cable is used for the 15 amp circuit as the 10 amp one, unless the 15 amp socket is a long run. In SA we use 2.5mm, I know some other states use only 1.5mm, The main difference is that the 10 amp circuit will generally have more sockets on it where the 15 amp will be on its own. Nowhere did I mention "fuses" I mentioned circuit breakers which are very accurate compared to fuses. I hope this clarifies it better for some of you.
FollowupID: 457119

Follow Up By: Richard & Leonie - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 21:05

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 21:05
I am with Slawsy65 except on filing earth pin. A 15 amp lead (note I do not say plug as 15 amp plug will not fit into 10 amp socket. A 10 amp plug will fit into a 15 amp socket) could be connected up to a 10 amp socket and should be safe as circuit breaker will protect from overloads. If you try to run to much current to the van the circuit breaker will activate. A 10 amp lead into a 15 amp circuit could be a problem for the lead if you try to draw too much current. To run the van at home just use a 150mm length of 15 amp lead with a 15amp socket on one end and a 10amp plug on the other and plug your 15 amp long lead from the van into the short lead. If your house is still running with the old style wire fuses get them changed to the modern trip (earth leakage?) ones. When you are at home no one is going to stop you doing this but in a caravan park they could stop you plugging a 10 amp lead into a 15 amp socket. A point of interest. Many years ago when they introduced self certification for electricians a guy did a survey in the Gosford area into electrical "incidents" (accidents) with electricians. In the first year of self certification accidents went up 80%!!
FollowupID: 457159

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:47

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:47
Hey Pezza, hows that Hyland hitch?

To get around the 10 amp / 15 amp thing I bought a looong 15 amp extention cord, cut it in half and fitted 10 amp fittings in the middle. Now I am able to plug in to anything with no dramas.
AnswerID: 198338

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:39

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:39
Hi Murray,
Would you believe I haven't fitted that Hyland yet, I have only found an enclosed off road trailer that needed some repairs at the right price that I am in the process of fixing up and modifying, that will include the Hyland when it's finished.
As I mentioned to Peter above, I was going to do the same thing as you but wasn't sure if I wasn't going to burn the house down when I turn on the micrwave whilst running the aircon in the van and drawing too much power throught the 10 amp plug and melting it, don't think the cook would have been real impressed !

Pezza
FollowupID: 456990

Reply By: Arkay - Adelaide - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:55

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:55
Sorry to disagree, but my impression was that caravans have 15 amp connections/plugs/sockets because of the load that they do, or are likely to, carry. That to use 10 amp p&s with them is in fact illegal. For that reason caravan parts suppliers do not supply an adaptor or adaptor lead with 15 amp socket for the van & 10 amp for the plug. This makes it a bit hard to charge the van battery when at home, or visit friends sleeping in the van & using their electricity. Part of the answer is to have a professionaly installed 15 amp socket in the house supply, like for e.g a large domestic airconditioner uses. Some people do make up their own (illegal?) 15 to 10 amp adaptor lead. If they do that they would need to consider the carrying capacity of the adaptor cable i.e. use 15 amp not 10 amp cable.
I could be wrong.
AnswerID: 198340

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:11

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:11
I can understand a caravan with a big airconditioner and a couple of fridges needing a 15 amp plug/cord but my little Jayco outbach finch wouldn't get anywhere near it, yet I am still bound by the same rules.
FollowupID: 456984

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:37

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:37
Akray,
"caravan parts suppliers do not supply an adaptor or adaptor lead with 15 amp socket for the van & 10 amp for the plug"

Bought one for under $20 at a caravan parts supplier about 3-4 years ago... Is about 1.5m long with a 10A male and 15A female moulded plugs. Was packaged in a nice colourful plastic bag but can't remember the manufacturer. Can't remember the name of the parts supplier but I was looking for a new hitch pin (some bugger took mine) while in Queensland and saw these on the shelf so grabbed one.

Are the regs different from state to state...???

The lead now lives in my father in-laws van so he can run lights and the fridge before they head off on their annual hols...
FollowupID: 457105

Reply By: Ianw - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:05

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:05
The difference between 10 and 15 amp plugs is only the size of the earth pin. A few strokes with a good file soon fixes that!
AnswerID: 198342

Follow Up By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:24

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:24
Ianw,

You are correct in what you say except the the rating of the cable is only up to 10amps and not 15amps.

And that is what were talking about here. The ability of the cable to carry the current load without getting to hot and starting to melt.

So you may just start yourself a fire with some nice melted cable.

Garth
FollowupID: 456987

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:49

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:49
Hi Ian,
I actually did that years ago to a plug on an older welder I was using when I was renting a place, too young to give a stuff at the time, I kept feeling the plug to make sure it wasn't overheating on me whislt welding, worked fine :-)

Hi Garth,
Going by what you're saying it should be safe ( leaving out the 'legal' bit ) to fit a 10 amp male plug to a 15 amp lead and use that whilst at home ?

Pezza
FollowupID: 456992

Follow Up By: Ianw - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 23:00

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 23:00
Garth,
A 15 amp caravan cable is not going to melt just because you file a bit of metal off of the plug earth lead so it fits in a 10 amp socket.
FollowupID: 456993

Follow Up By: Batboy - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 16:29

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 16:29
Ianw, true, but they 10amp socket will (if you draw 10amps +)
FollowupID: 457088

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:26

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:26
Hi mate,

I have just put a 10 amp male plug on the end of my 15 amp lead and have used this always for the past 10 yrs and you can imagine how many times it has been pluged in and out of the genny and parks over that time. We have run the small portable a/c with this setup as well as m/wave TV ect ect when in parks with no hassle yet, not saying it won't happen just that it hasn't happened.
Definately illegal to use anything other than the 15 amp plug (but so are your 33's on 15' rims hehehe).

I like the idea of a small ext lead with 10amp plug that someone suggested above.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 198345

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 23:07

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 23:07
Hi Trev,
Figured you'd done something like that, lol, was gonna ask you what you had done but thought that mine would be in a different boat with that bludy great aircon sitting on the roof drawing more power etc.
As I wasn't sure of the exact difference between the 10 and 15 amp lead other than the obvious carrying capacity, I figured it safer to ask some of the more knowledgable ones on this site first, before I went ahead and 'modified' a 15 amp lead.
No-one seems to have blown their genny up or turned their house to ash so it looks like the way to do it.

Catch up soon,
Pezza

P.S. 33's ??? The salesman told me they were 29's but ocifer !!!
FollowupID: 456994

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:36

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:36
Pezza
I had the same problem when I went to my Daughters place for 3 nights 2 years ago. they had no 15 amp sockets so I used an angle grinder to modify the earth pin on the cord, then got a new cord when I moved into the van park

AnswerID: 198347

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 23:14

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 23:14
Hi Doug,
Yep, seems like the thing to do, but instead of doing it to my main 15 amp lead I think I'll make up a short extension using 15 amp lead with a 10 amp plug or just modifying the 15 amp plug on the extension.
Thanks for the advise.

Pezza
FollowupID: 456995

Reply By: wazzaaaa - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 06:27

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 06:27
My honda EU2 has two 15amp outlet plugs on it, I wonder why they changed that, it is 12 months old.
Wazza
AnswerID: 198365

Follow Up By: dingbat - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 09:49

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 09:49
So has mine --two 15amp earths that is.
FollowupID: 457018

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 10:23

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 10:23
I'm guessing that since the EU20i are rated at 1600W/6.6A (2000w max), which i suspect are similar units we are talking about, people may tend to overload them with 15A devices (even though they would have protection).

Even hooked up in parallel, they are struggling to supply a 15A load.....

FollowupID: 457023

Follow Up By: dingbat - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 10:33

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 10:33

Yes, but it makes a legal and easy connection to the van to run the fridge and even the microwave and I do believe that some even run the a/c off it. Mine/ours gets used for all sorts of appropriate(with amp limits) items--hedge clippers, vacuum cleaners, coffee machine, hair dryer, drills, saws, grinders, air compressors, but always one at a time and the security of the 15amp lead makes it feel a bit safer.

Dingbat
FollowupID: 457024

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 11:36

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 11:36
hi dingbat,

I agree that there is absolutely nothing wrong with doing that, just that i believe either Honda or some Australian Standard may have had problems with doing this. I could see a situation where someone (no knowing much about electricity) plugs their welders or 15A loads into the genset and it keeps tripping off all the time. I take it Honda has high standards set for their equipment and may not like the return/complaint factor involved with this situation. Far better to bring them back to a "standard" plug size.

Though items like air compressors tend to work much better (or actually work in the first place) with a nice 15A lead connected to it. In my previous profession in the electricity industry, i would tend to see about 1 voltage complaint a week due rather to people using 10A and/or 30m leads with their large air compressors. Still see people trying to plug Urns/large kettles into 2kva or less (cheap 650w (?) GMC ones etc).......some have even said that it will work, albeit taking twice as long to boil!

I tend to use 15A leads more-so for their lower volt-drop characteristics than their current carrying capacity.

FollowupID: 457033

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:39

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:39
Might be a little bit of misconception here, I don't think that Honda changed the outlets from 15 to 10 amps recently, I didn't mention that our genset is 3.5 years old, we purchased it in 2002, not long after they were released.
My guess is that they went the other way around, from 2 X 10 amp to 2 X 15 amp outlets, I'm assuming the caravan industry is one of their biggest buyers and they were losing too many sales because people couldn't plug their 15 amp lead into the honda to run their van without modification.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 457045

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:51

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:51
So there you go........From what i just read on another forum, your answer Pezza seems more closer to the mark ;-)

FollowupID: 457048

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:57

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:57
Hi Pezza,
Sorry if I was unclear at my first reply, my friends have the EU20i so when I updated my EU10i to the EU20i last year,I noticed it had 2x 15amp outlets as opposed to their older machines 2x 10amp outlets. Haven't seen anything on honda's web site about the change.
Wazza
FollowupID: 457050

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:18

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:18
Thanks for your reply anyway Andrew, I learned a few things from it, which I appreciate.

Wazza, I didn't even know they had upgraded the outlets untill you mentioned it, unfortunately, even if I fix my house hold problem with a 15 amp socket it doesn't solve my 2 X 10 amp outlets in the genny problem.
It really Pi$$es me off because when I bought the Honda I told the guy we were happy to buy the bigger EU2, even though we didn't need one that big at the time, we knew we were going to get a van with aircon at a later date and wanted it to run that, got the usual sales rant, and how it was a good choice for vanners, yadda yadda etc, with not one mention that the 15 amp van lead won't even plug into the outlets, mongrels like that really irritate me !
Anyways, will jump on the telling bone and find out if the internal wiring to the sockets is the same as the later model 15 amp ones to see if we can just replace the socket.

Pezza
FollowupID: 457056

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:31

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:31
Pezza, better hope the same sales guy doesn't answer the phone otherwise he might have you buying a new gennie.
Wazza
FollowupID: 457057

Reply By: equinox - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 09:40

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 09:40
Gee - youse blokes are all a bunch of dodgy brothers. Filing earth pins for god sakes.

The quickest way I can think of to lose my sparkies license would be to file an earth pin or make up one of those adapters mmmm. - pretty god dam illegal.

AnswerID: 198379

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 10:38

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 10:38
One of the biggest problems with filing the pins would be the reduction of the earth pin current carrying capacity at the plug/socket. Remember also that Dodgy Bros Caravan Park may not have seen any preventative electrical maintanance for years and was probably wired up several minutes after Edison invented the light globe, so you may be seconds away from being the "Next Big Earth".
FollowupID: 457026

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 11:44

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 11:44
The earth cable (and earth pin) does not normally carry current in the general sense, only when an earth fault exists (A-E). Filing pins would not affect the earth fault capacity at all.

The true current carrying capacity of a 10A earth pin would be probably more like 100A (guess) for a short period of time based on conductor (pin) size.

FollowupID: 457034

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:05

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:05
GaryInOz,

Dodgy brothers caravan park should be testing their RCD's (residual current devices or safety switches) every six months as required by regulation 3.60 of the OH&S act (in WA) and as stipulated in Table 4 of AS3760:In service safety inspection and testing of electrical equipment. The standard is for all states but is only "best practice". Not sure of the regulations (legalities) in other states. Fine in WA is $25000 for first offence individual, $50000 for first offence body corporate.

Report your suspect Dodgy Brothers Caravan Park to your nearest Worksafe Inspector now!!!

FollowupID: 457067

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 16:14

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 16:14
Hey Andrew, if there is a link from the earth to nuetral bar then the earth does carry current - often about 40% of the load. The earth path is running in parralel to the nuetral.
FollowupID: 457084

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:30

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:30
Only a connection in a non-RCD situation if my poor memory serves me correctly......

Earths wouldn't carry 40% of the current, otherwise an earthed appliance would electrocute the user by some current going through the frame back the switchboard etc.

In a RCD protected circuit all current must be balanced on the A-N wires otherwise it would continuously be tripping the circuit.

Are you sure about your facts?

FollowupID: 457103

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:31

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:31
I meant .....back to the switchboard via the operator touching it and earthing themselves......
FollowupID: 457104

Reply By: Swanning it - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:35

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:35
The only reason for the larger earth pin is simply to stop you plugging it into a 10A socket outlet! The reason is - a 15A socket outlet is wired on it's own circuit (generally) so you have the full rated current available to you whereas a 10A socket outlet is usually on a circuit with many other outlets, appliance and lights. Hence you may get overload on a 10A circuit. The fuse or breaker will prevent any real problems - unless of course some "handy idiot" has replaced the fuse with a 2" nail and this is the crux of the situation - and the replies to this thread proves it I'm afraid - that there are far too many "handy idiots" prepared to do electrical modifications whilst knowing little or nothing about what they are doing. Most of us probably reckon any fool can wire a plug top - or do we? I've seen many dangerous extension leads that are a death waiting to happen, which are a direct result of the "handy idiot" and his/her inexperience. Many of these are wired reverse polarity however I've also seen plug tops just taped up with electrical tape (instead of investing the $3 or $4 to buy a new one) and believe it or not I've even seen a lead with 2 male ends on it (because the guy powered up his boat electrics by just plugging this death lead into a power point and backfeeding the installation.

A story told to me by the Qld Electrical Safety Office about an incident a few years back says it all. All switchboards have an innocent looking piece of wire in them that usually does nothing. It's called an MEN link. In this case a "handy idiot" decided that it shouldn't be there and removed it. The installation all worked well for a while until his washing machine developed an active to earth fault. Because the MEN link was not in place, the earth fault current had to travel a tortuous path which took it down the water pipes, throught a bath, through the ground and back to a power pole (which did have it's MEN in place). Due to the high resistance of this fault path, the protective circuit breaker did not trip (the high resistance kept the current below the 16A breaker rating). That guy learnt his lesson the hard way, as you see, he killed his five year old daughter who happened to be having a bath at the time!

Don't risk it. You've just spent tens of thousands of dollars on a new van, pay the few hundred bucks and have a 15A outlet installed in your garage.

AnswerID: 198396

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:59

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:59
Very well explained reply Ian, thank you.
At least those who still wish to 'modify' and 'shortcut' even in a level headed and sensible manner, now know the limitations and subsequent consequences of their actions if they exceed those limitations.
We are moving house soon, so in the meantime I will just charge the battery with my normal charger and run any lights etc. when needed in the van on battery only.
Pretty sure where we are going has a 15 amp socket in the power box.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 457051

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:06

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:06
I assisted with an investigation several years back of a guy with illegally wired extension leads......the bloke had an extension lead with 2 male plugs on it. When asked why he had this arrangement, his answer was that he needed it to join into another lead which had 2 female ends

Before we all go out and label some people here "handy idiots", i have seen the odd electrician wire an extension lead incorrectly. Whilst it would occur far less often by qualified individuals, it still happens :-)

Whether people are wiring leads illegally or not, they should be ideally tested and tagged after constructed to at least guarantee some protection.

FollowupID: 457053

Follow Up By: Swanning it - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:32

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:32
I'll add one more thing, then climb down off my soap box.

The girl in the story above would most likely be alive today (in spite of the missing MEN link) if that family had also spent a few hundred dollars having a safety switch (ELCB, RCD, GFCI whatever you choose to call it) installed at their house. Be aware all, a safety switch is probably the most important thing you can buy so if you are unsure if you have one, go to your switchboard and look for a device that appears to be a circuit breaker with a test button on it.

If you don't have one, call an electrician and get one. They are life savers.

Sermon over :-)

PS - If you do have a safety switch, remember to push the test button once a month to ensure it's working.
FollowupID: 457058

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:46

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:46
Ian,
Am I right in asuming the rcd on my house switch board will trigerif there is an earth leakage in my caravan while plugged in? I know I always earth my gennie and the van when we are camping so the rcd I plug into the gennie will work.
Wazza
FollowupID: 457062

Follow Up By: Swanning it - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:06

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:06
G'Day Wazza,

Provided the 15A socket outlet you're plugged into is protected by the RCD, then yes. If you're unsure, plug in the van and check that power is on. Trip the RCD by pushing the test button and check that power goes off in the van. Generally, caravans will have their own RCD and having two RCDs in line will not adversely effect their correct functioning.

You have also brought up an excellent point with regards to your generator. Many generators do not have the MEN link (and is debated whether they should or not), and as such an RCD will not work. Simply earthing the case will not help this. My personal belief is that whenever a generator is used as a power supply for a caravan, camper, motorhome, house, boat etc (in fact anything with multiple socket outlets) the gen. should have an MEN. If the generator is primarily used as a stand alone, single outlet unit, then an isolated earth (floating neutral) is my preferred option.

FollowupID: 457068

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 16:16

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 16:16
Hi Swanning it, In some cases the men link should be removed. It depends on if the switch board is a sub board or the main board and also needs to be removed if rcd's are being used.
FollowupID: 457086

Follow Up By: Swanning it - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:42

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:42
Hi Kiwi, You are right. A sub-board should never have the MEN link however bear in mind there may be more than 1 main board on a single site. In that case they will have the MEN. The main board should always have it. As we're speaking of caravans here it may be prudent to expand on Wazzas question. The reason an RCD will work on a caravan is because the caravan switchboard (if it has one) is really a sub-board, not a main board. It's classed as a sub-board because it is primarily (or at least capable - most times) of being plugged into a final sub-circuit at either a caravan park or house. This is part the reason I've raised the point about the MEN link on the gen. being absent in many cases (especially the smaller 2-stroke chinese ones). In actual fact, using them in conjunction with a caravan (ie: plugged into the shore power) would most likely breach the regulations (AS/NZS3000:2000) as all caravan installations I've seen are wired for MEN not direct earthing, which have additional requirements such as insulated neutral links and double pole circuit breakers - really depends on the van!

I guess the one thing this discussion has enforced is something common and supossedly simple has a few facets worth considering......not everything is as straight forward as first thought.

FollowupID: 457108

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 18:48

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 18:48
Hi Ian,
Well now you have me wondering if in fact I am doing the right thing using an RCD between my honda gennie (that I ground using the grounding point on the front) and my caravan (that I also ground). My caravan does not have a main board, sub board, or any board that I am aware of, just my kids body boards.
Am I wrong?
Wazza
FollowupID: 457117

Follow Up By: Swanning it - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:13

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:13
Wazza,

I'd hazard a guess that your grounding is not doing anything at all. If your gen has an MEN fitted, then it will get a ground from the earth wire in your shore lead. If there is no MEN, then the earth is quite simply a bonded system which is also usually completed by the earth wire in the lead (I say usually because the gen should have the earth bonded to the case as they're not usually double insulated). I've never actually looked to see if Honda has an MEN link but I'd suggest for your usage that an MEN would be advisable. If you live anywhere around the Gold Coast, I'd be happy to check it for you. Your RCD would also probably be doing nothing unless the neutral and earth were bonded on the line side of the RCD.

FollowupID: 457128

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:27

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:27
Ian,
Looks like I will stick to my trade as you lost me a bit, when you say shore lead, is that electrical jargan or is it when you connect the lead to shore power as in a boat mooring (pardon my ignorance). Also why would they put an earthing point on the genny in the first place?
As we camp mainly at the beach I always earth it deep in wet sand.
Wazza ( from Brisbane)
FollowupID: 457133

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 05:56

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 05:56
Hi again Swanning It, You can only have one main board - all others are distribution boards. Also, on a totally different track, it is very debateable as to whether or not we should even use an earth (as a system), most countries do not. Have you ever thought that your earth can be to good? If a subscribers nuetral should fail down the street then your earth may be providing enough of a pathway to back feed to the main nuetral through your switchboard !
FollowupID: 457181

Follow Up By: Swanning it - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 08:05

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 08:05
Wazza,
Sorry for the bad news. I don't think you are doing anything unsafe but you are in breach of AS/NZS3001/2001 (caravan electrical standard). Here's the excerpt from the standard that prohibits grounding the van (as well as prohibiting an MEN link):

(i) Isolation of protective earthing conductor
No direct connection shall be made at the relocatable premises between the protective earthing conductor of the relocatable premises electrical installation and the general mass of earth, e.g. by means of a driven electrode. No connection shall be made at the relocatable premises between any live (active or neutral) conductor and the protective earthing conductor of the relocatable premises electrical installation.

Portable generators can be used in many installations and the earth bonding point may be used in some cases (I can think of some, typically a two wire, earth return system). Your caravan does not use this system. The term "Shore Lead" is my terminology - sorry force of habit as I work mainly in the marine industry.

Kiwi,

There are many cases of multiple MSBs on a site. Typically not domestic but farms spring to mind where an outbuilding is fed directly from the supply authority rather than from the main residence. This is usually because of a large distance between house and outbuilding. I did also say earthing is still debated, however for many decades now, Australia has employed the MEN earthing system and so do most developed countries. The MEN system is not entirely infallible however, and the situation you describe is a genuine concern. In fact it is why electrical apprentices are taught to treat all wiring as live until tested (never assume) and if for any reason a main earth has to be cut or disconnected, a jumper earth must be used first. It is also why testing the continuity of the main neutral is one of our four most important tests a sparky must, by law, do!

FollowupID: 457188

Reply By: porl - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:45

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:45
For a really simple solution you probably have a 15amp socket at home if you have an electric oven. My electric oven plugs into it's own 15 amp socket behind the baked bean tins. Worth a look anyhow.
AnswerID: 198401

Reply By: Batboy - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 16:43

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 16:43
Been reading this thread and getting really freaked out by what some are prepared to do, until I read swanning its reply.
Get the 15 amp power point installed its the only legal safe way.
You should get the job done for about $85.00 if you shop around a bit. This will get you a 15 amp socket in your switchboard run off an existing power circuit which is perfectly legal. It may be more convinient to change one of your existing points to a 15 socket which is also perfectly legal or even change an outside point. Your 10amp appliances will still fit If you intend to run high load appliances then have it wired on its own circuit which could set you back around $175 with a seperate RCD for the 15 amp socket

Cheers Jim
AnswerID: 198409

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:18

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:18
In reality the level of risk generated by filing down the earth pin is small, the 10 amp socket is backed up by (no surprise here) a 10 amp fuse/breaker which will not allow you to draw 15A for long and even if you did pull 15A through it the wiring might warm up a bit but we’re not talking fire risk here. I suspect the risk of driving the van to your holiday destination is higher.

If an air conditioner is not used in the van all should be perfectly OK - I cannot imagine any van draws more than 2.4kW without an AC in use?

Having said that: it's the kind of thing I would do but I would recommend others to have the correct socket, wiring and ELCB installed as recommended by Ian and others above. _Every_ home should have an ELCB/RCD.

FollowupID: 457099

Follow Up By: Swanning it - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 18:04

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 18:04
G'day Mike,

I also agree with you. The risk is minimal. In fact filing an earth pin is probably a better outcome than someone putting a 10A plug top on themselves when not entirely sure they're confident. Be warned though, many earth pins are now just folded sheet metal (some cheap plated crap) and as you file you lose large chunks of the pin. The join is in the middle of the pin, not at an edge and as such by the time you file enough, you've just lost half the pin and the strength of the pin is in the folds........hence you weaken the pin and may find after a few connections and disconnections you end up with no earth pin. This would be an extremely dangerous outcome!

Also if there were fire, electrocution etc, your insurance would be straight out the window and apart from any criminal prosecutions you may face, you'd also be liable for civil actions against you and everything you used to own.

I feel like the grim reaper but that is not the intention. I'm only tring to impress on everyone that there is risk (regardless how small) and even a simple task like filing down an earth pin can easily have quite disasterous consequences.

FollowupID: 457110

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 18:14

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 18:14
You are quite correct Ian, certainly the mechanical implications should be looked at very carefully especially with cheap plugs.

In regard to the legal issue - well I wouldn't like to fight it :) but it would need to be shown that your action actually _caused_ the problem rather than that it was simply a breach of regulations - doing this would not _automatically_ make one libel, but your point is well made. And if your action had caused an issue you could even find a criminal charge heading your way!

It's one of those things: if you really know what you're doing as opposed to thinking you do the risk is small but I agree with you, the formal advice is "Do it the correct way" :)

FollowupID: 457111

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:25

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:25
Thank you Mike, your input was as valuable as Ian's and what I was really after, not so much the 'legality' of it, a lot of us tend to bend the legal rules with mods to our 4by's on a regular basis, it's something some of us are prepared to take a chance on because we know a little more about what we're doing and where the 'safe' line ends and the 'dangerous' one starts. I suppose I was more after the level of risks involved in slight mods to the plugs and what the difference between the two is, which you answered well.

Pezza
FollowupID: 457132

Follow Up By: Batboy - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:35

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:35
Turn the jug and toaster on in the morning for brekky straight away over 10 amps- Connect up the fry pan for the bacon eggs....etc Only for very short times (and unlikely to cause damage) and not what the thread started about exactly I know but still easy to get over 2.4kw
Ten amp sockets are usually backed by 16-20 amp breakers depending on the cable installation and type. What is being discussed here is really no worse than loading up a 4 way powerboard in your kitchen ( apart from filing the earth pin! )but most of the time people get away with it for a while before damage is done.

Jim

FollowupID: 457135

Follow Up By: Mazdan - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 09:21

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 09:21
Sorry Mike but batboy is spot on correct. Most jugs will draw between 9 and 10 amps on there own and thats before you use the toaster so to suggest that a van will not draw more than 2,4kw is simply not true.

It should also be noted that a 10A outlet is not generally protected by a 10A fuse or C/B but a 16A.

Swanning is spot on with his discussion and the bottom line is.........get it done right and spend the few dollars on a 15A outlet.

There is a reason why things are done the way they are.
FollowupID: 457195

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 10:10

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 10:10
If the outlet is protected by a 16A breaker then the cable supplying the outlet will be able to carry 16A (plus) so plugging a 15A load into it will be OK. Now if you are concerned about the diversity factor in relation to other loads on the circuit then that would apply in the case of any installation which has multiple outlets on a single spur. This is exactly the situation the UK Ring Main system was developed to overcome and is one of the reasons, in my opinion, why it is the best and most safe domestic electrical system in the world. Note: we run light flex to many appliances in Oz (video players, TVs, table lamps, electric blankets etc) which is only rated for (say) 5A yet it's backed up by a 16A breaker or (even worse) a rewireable fuse! Is that crazy or what?

Certainly a kettle will draw 10A but only for a short time, a toaster is probably another 5A but again only for a short time. If you look at the tripping characteristics of an MCB (Miniature Circuit Breaker) you'll note that they will withstand a low level overload for a fairly long time - I can't recall offhand but probably long enough to make your coffee and do your toast. If it won't withstand it for that period then the breaker will trip and you'll learn to wait until the kettle is boiled before you do your toast. This is no different to the situation you would face in a van park if your wife used her 1800W hairdryer while you’re boiling the kettle (forget the toast!), it would be too much for the 15A supply and may trip the breaker – problem?

The point is that the _risk_ of this practice creating a fire or causing electrocution is miniscule, at worse it will trigger the protection devices into doing what they are designed for.

Nevertheless, you are correct to in highlighting these issues and I’ll repeat that my formal advice is for people to have the installation done correctly but it should be understood that basic electricity is not a Mystical Black Art which only “The Chosen Few” of the electricians union understand. In most countries it’s perfectly legal for people to do their own electrical work and the world is not full of burned houses filled with electrocuted bodies. Mind you I have seen some pretty bad work :) then again I’ve seen some electricians who didn’t know their SWA from their mineral insulated.

>There is a reason why things are done the way they are.

Emmmm… I know, I’ve been involved with the Standards bodies in this area on more than one occasion.

PS. Interesting point Kiwi about whether we should have an earth system at all!? Certainly I consider earthing my generator in the bush would make things more dangerous.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 457201

Follow Up By: Batboy - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:43

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:43
The cable is not the problem. Even 1mm cable is rated to 16amp in the right conditions. The problem is in the connection points ie: The plug tops and the socket outlets. These WILL melt down if current is passed through them over there rated amperage for sustained periods. The connection point is the point of most resistance (therefore heat) and will fail before the cable in a overcurrent situation. Therefore the use of a ten amp male plug connected to a lead with a 15amp female socket will create a situation where a 15 amp appliance can easily be connected, exceeding the rating of the plug top =meltdown . Still no more dangerous than having the four way powerboard in the kitchen waiting for the four toasters to be plugged in but thats not illegal.
FollowupID: 457327

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 18:05

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 18:05
One other point worth mentioning while we're talking about extensions leads is to ensure they are not coiled up when in use and, particularly, not wound on to a cable drum. If they are used in that fashion the heat generated by the lead cannot dissipate properly and you may (it's not that uncommon - especially on a 35 deg C day) find a melted and fused lead, even a fire.

If you have spare lead, uncoil it and "scatter" it on the ground - under the van?

This will only likely be an issue if you are drawing more than 2A or 3A and more than 10% of your lead is coiled.

AnswerID: 198416

Follow Up By: Swanning it - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:02

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:02
Another good issue Mike, to make people aware of. As there are many doubting Thomas' on this issue, I'll back you up.

When a lead is uncoiled on the ground, the only opposition to the current flow is the resistance of the wire (and perhaps a small amount of capacitive reactance). When the lead is left coiled on a drum, another impedance component (total opposition to current flow) is brought into play. This is inductive reactance. With the increase in impedance, comes a marked increase in temperature, coupled with the fact the increased temperature cannot escape from a coil of wire hence the lead can melt down into a heaped mess.

FollowupID: 457121

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:38

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 19:38
Thank you every one for your input, I know I, and I'm sure others, are now much clearer on the subject of 10 and 15 amp leads, plugs and sockets.
I've learnt more from this thread in two days than I ever have from asking different leccy's over the years, and 'knowledge' is always a good thing:-)

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 198429

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 22:56

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 22:56
I didn't read all replies and I apologise if I repeat something here but there is also the option to fit a 10a power-inlet to the caravan . Meaning replacing the 15A with a 10A power inlet. No more lead dramas and plenty of power.

Reiner
FollowupID: 457174

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:52

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:52
Pezza, you will of course make up your own mind but note that there is a lot of old wives tales spread through the thread. The legal side has been pointed out by some and 'quick fix' solutions by dogy bros. inc. has also been sugested. I hope that some of the armchair 'experts' will digest some of the many well reasoned and technical replies above and rethink their ideas. Just because someone has been doing something dogy for years and not heard of a problem does not mean that it has not happened or can't happen. I hope you choose a legal solution to your problem.
FollowupID: 457241