Caravan Wheel Bearings

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 15:42
ThreadID: 38352 Views:6598 Replies:8 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
We have a dual axle van and an old truckie friend suggested I look at installing bearing buddiies to make greasing the wheel bearings easier. I have never heard of anyone using these on anything exccept light trailers however i'm always willing to learn. Has anyone had experience with these?

Dave
Back Expand Un-Read 0

Reply By: Nav 8 - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 16:03

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 16:03
Bearing buddies are used on boat trailers to jack grease into the wheel bearings and keep water out. Personaly I would not bother with them on a caravan as it is too easy to over grease them and have grease being flung out all over the rims.
Regards Nav.
AnswerID: 198294

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 16:20

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 16:20
Hi Turist.
I have been using bearing buddies on my off road camper for over 12 months. I have only experienced a very slight grease problem on the rims & that was from using too much grease in the first place.
AnswerID: 198295

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 17:42

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 17:42
I had bearing buddies on the boat trailer I used to own, it was custom built as an "Off Road" boat trailer. I could not keep bearing buddies on it for any length of time, rocks thrown up by my 4wd would sooner or later (usually sooner), knock the bearing buddies out and then everything was coated with a thick layer of dirt and grit. I got sick of having to continually pull the outer bearing and clean then re-grease.

I see no advantage in using them on anything other than a boat trailer where their function is to basically "overfill" the bearing hub assembly so as to prevent the ingress of water. I felt at the time that I used them, and still do , that any benefits gained were marginal at most.