The <span class="highlight">corrugations</span> take their toll.................

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:56
ThreadID: 37519 Views:3119 Replies:4 FollowUps:18
Having done around 10,000km of gravel, sand and rocky tracks over the past 6 months the corrugations have taken their toll on the GQ. I have now had to replace the radiator which developed a crack in one of the tanks. The core vanes were also 'getting soft' as the radiator man advised. and so I fitted a new radiator this arvo.

Luckily with the GQ Nissan the radiator floats on two rubber grommets and only has two bolts at the top. The fan shroud however takes more of an effort to put back on again.

The radiator had done 325,000km. I have owned the truck for the last 60,000km and it has done some hard tracks. Now it should be good for a long while again.

Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 21:35

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 21:35
Hi Willem,

Being at Mt Dare these last couple of seasons has given us a great opportunity to to get into it locally, 10 desert trips this year with a 3-4 week trip yet to come in October. The wear on the troopy has been hard. A solo Madigan then return across the South Simpson resulted in newly fitted airbags having the mounting brackets broken or bent. A spring hanger was lost and spent the last few hundred K with a wood block as the hanger. Broke a spring leaf earlier in the season. Rubbers from sway bars etc wear very quickly. Thats with a tough truck!!

Wouldn't miss it for quids.

Followed your journies with interest and envy, want to get out in that direction again.

Ian @ Mt Dare
AnswerID: 193368

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:24

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:24
Hi Ian

My latest trek into thew Western Deserts this year will be uploaded to the website tomorrow. Will advise via the Forum when it is there.

Good luck withyour Ute purchase. We are always striving to change things...lol

FollowupID: 451278

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:46

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:46
Looking forward to it.
Oh, not the bit where I have to get the map out to find places I don't know...yet :)))))
FollowupID: 451292

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 09:22

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 09:22
funny you say that happened with the brackets for the airbags - was taking photos of them for a client a few days ago, and was surprised at the quite light construction ... famous brand too!
FollowupID: 451340

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:10

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:10
Hi Willem, not a bad run out of a radiator!

Last October we did the Anne Beadell, Connie Sue, Heather and Gunbarrell "highways". All were very corrugated.

Had three 79series in our group. One broke a greasable shackle, onother had the tray supports crack, two had Calcium-type batteries go between the cells, one threw away his Cooper STs after a bunch of punctures - looked pretty hairy with all those plugs sticking out, one guy's GPS rattled its circuit board to pieces and stopped working. Not to mention a few cans of beer lost, and red wine casks leaking!!!!

Interesting thing was that the only problems happened to aftermarket bits.
AnswerID: 193379

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:22

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:22
Hi Phil

Actually the Datto has done quite well. I am a tad hard on vehicles. Radiator, door handle, back door rattles, stuffed stabiliser bar, broken roof rack and 12 punctures in the 6 months. Tyres look like spaghetti....lol Also inverter and battery charger( yeah all aftermarket stuff) dead. Have had inverter repaired again

The trailer has now done 20,000km in 12 months and not a problem. It just follows along wherever I go...lol

FollowupID: 451277

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:50

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:50
Willem just curious. You do have a sine wave inverter don't you ? Its not a modified sine wave one ? I had my modified one go bang and changed it to a *pure* sine wave one. No more problems.
FollowupID: 451293

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:56

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:56
Footy

It is a Pure Sine Wave inverter. I was given the wrong advice by the fella at Jaycar and only bought a 150watt. With the laptop surging and being hungry for power I have burnt out two capacitors.Then I have to run laptop on Kerio DC charger. Will use inverter now only to charge phones, small batteries etc.
FollowupID: 451295

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 23:02

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 23:02
Willem, good move. I bought a bigger sine wave one in Alice. Another 4wd mob were buying a new inverter at the same time...funny thing , that.
I use mine to charge phones and electric shaver and toothbrush etc . I don't have many comforts with me but I enjoy those. And no, I dont take an electric can opener to open the baked beans can ! LOL
FollowupID: 451299

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 14:07

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 14:07
Hi Phil

You mentioned the tyres above.
What tyres did the others have on and what did the guy replace his Coopers with.?

I’m needing new tyres soon on the Troopy. I see you have the silent armour.
FollowupID: 451589

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:34

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:34
Hi John,
The guy with the Coopers was going to go with MTRs but went with the Silent Armours instead. He has done Hay River and Madigan Line this year, without a puncture, and no chipping, and is happy so far. I had a look at his, and got myself a set.

If you want something aggressive, then I'd still go MTRs - if you want something less aggressive, then Silent Armour.

The four I've had since January and have done 10,000km, including two Simpson Desert trips. I managed to stake a sidewall on a brand new one, and the tyre was replaced under the Beaurepaires $16 puncture warranty. But apart from that they have been good on sand, haven't chipped and wear is almost zero so far. They are quieter than the MTRs, if thats an issue for you. And they balanced up with very little weights.

FollowupID: 451679

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:22

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:22
Willem, replaced the radiator before I left for the Alice. It had only done 200K km but it was 9 years old. Having had radiator problems in the bush a long time ago I was determined to make that trip as hassle free as possible. ...unlike some demolition experts :)) Sounds like you were lucky as usual. How's the rest of the cooling system and the clutch ?
AnswerID: 193384

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:31

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:31
Footy

Yes lucky but I check things regularly. I also break a lot of things...lol

What is the rest of cooling system? Fan..OK, Belts good. Ahhh you mean fan clutch OK yes good

FollowupID: 451280

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:41

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:41
Willem, I'm no expert but experience tells me
thermostat
Clutch fan
water pump
belts
Of these, I've found that if the water pump goes then its a big job ...at least on mine. And big jobs are a no no once away from a garage :)) I replaced mine at the same time as the radiator, and expect it will last the same amount of time. If it goes then it goes big time.
I have also fitted a low water alarm . Most cooling systems tend to lose it overnight and then we get in and drive em and bang.
FollowupID: 451287

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:51

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:51
I replaced the waterpump and thermostat lats year at Margaret River. Twas a 1 hour job. But thats a Nissan for you...lol

Yeah also have Low Water Alarm. But bloody thing beeps forever until the water heats up and expands so I have fitted a mute switch.

Come to think of it I have replaced quite a fe things on the GQ. Still, it has cost me only $20,000(including purchase price) for 60,000km and that includes tyres and repairs. It is a good comfortable truck and I am keeping it for a while.
FollowupID: 451294

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:57

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 22:57
Willem, glad that you're still enjoying the truck. It sounds like you've had a good , relatively cheap run out out of it so far.
My alarm doesnt beep at me...but it's in a Toyota LOL
Have you changed the actual clutch ?
FollowupID: 451297

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 07:57

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 07:57
60,000km ?...it wasnt that long ago you bought it......
your a tourist...never home
AnswerID: 193419

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 08:20

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 08:20
Yes ...two years exactly.

Have more plans but will be spacing travel over a range of time now. Higher fuel prices and dwindling pension all have a cause and effect.

I have filled most of my Australia map in tho'. Still Northeast Arnhemland, Tip of the Cape and Tassie to see and some parts of the High Country and the Great Dividing Range. Other than that...the map is full!!!

Then I might go and play bowls....LOLOL(No way!!!)
FollowupID: 451324

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 10:27

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 10:27
Willem, you could always slip down to the bowling green one night and dig a few holes in the greens and scatter a few rocks around and finish it off with a few little hills and then you could play bowls 4WD style. LOL
FollowupID: 451348

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 11:07

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 11:07
he's too old for bowls Des
FollowupID: 451357

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:00

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:00
I think your right Nudie and too grumpy although he must have been taking his medication lately.
FollowupID: 451452

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:12

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:12
yep, i think your right too Des ..grumpy ole buggas not welcome at bowls.....now we know why he doesnt play
FollowupID: 451458