Well I know there are probably plenty of good ones out there but unfortunately I happened to buy
mine from a dodgey one.
I was on the look out for a Standard 100 series cruiser to replace my 75 series. Living in the middle of SA meant I was restricted to either buying through the 4x4 mags/internet etc or picking a weekend to drive to
Adelaide and try and buy one.
So I watched the mags and interent heavily for 3 months (while I was trying to sell my ute). I saw this ad in the 4x4 Trader for a 100 series for a good price at QLD Wholesale 4x4. I rang them up and enquired about the vehicle. I was told that it had 240K on it and that it had been an ex wide load pilot vehcile which explained the high k's (The story was much more detailed than that but I won't go into it). The ad and the sales rep both stated that it had been fully maintained.
I waited another month and it was advertised again. So I rang up again (pretending that I hadn't rung before) and was told the same story. I thought that was a good sign.
Anyway my car finally sold another month latter and I saw the 100s advertised again for a reduced price and rang up again. Again I was given the same story about its history etc etc. So not having enough time to fly to Qld I decided to get it checked out by a mechanic and on the basis of the mechanics report purchased it.
Well the report was a bit general but I spoke to the bloke and he said it runs and drives
well and there was nothing major he could see wrong with it.
So I
fork out the hard earned cash and get it sent over. When I pick it up from the depot it didn't look like an ex pilot vehicle. When I got
home and investigated the service sticker on the window I find out that it is an ex Century Zinc
mine vehicle that is way over due for a service (I tapped out probably 50 grams of dirt from the air filter) and the interior and general condition is nothing like what was described to me in the ad or over the phone.
I ring the yard and explain and all he could say was that they have heaps of different vehicles in the yard and that they must have got it mixed up with another one.
Well if they did they should have sent me that one!!! They basically couldn't give a sh#t and said tough luck.
All I wanted, which I don't think is unreasonable, is a 2 year warrenty (which costs $465) and a full service (which it was supose to have had). But they are flately refusing and told me just to accept what I got. Anyway looks like I will have to go down the legal route because nothing p#sses me off more than being ripped off.
Am I asking too much?? Yes I know I should have flown over and looked at it but its not that simple from here. Anyway please stay away from this mob. They are shonky!! Sorry for any honest car dealers out there but I will NEVER trust another one again.