talon chainsaw

Submitted: Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 19:46
ThreadID: 29182 Views:8160 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
hi guys and gals merry christmas to all as santa didnt have time to get me a present missus clause has ask if i would like a chainsaw i was thinking of getting a talon brand from bunnings as i would only be using it to cut fire wood out camping in a couple of days and any other time we go bits swinging a axe in this nth qld heat was wondering if any body has one and whats it like thanks for any respones garry and karen

Reply By: Peter - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 20:27

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 20:27
Yep bought one about 12 months ago and it works brilliantly.
Even used it to drop 7 full size palm trees in the back yard and it never missed a beat.
Take it camping when I need it and is excellent for cutting up firewood etc.
Would buy another tomorrow even if the one I have at the moment dies
AnswerID: 145636

Reply By: arofs1 - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 20:31

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 20:31
Hi Gforse,

I have a Talon chainsaw, the 14" model with the spikes at the base where the chain enters the motor body. I think I paid about $260 or so and from memory it was the second smallest model. It is important to get the one with the spikes, otherwise it is difficult to use if the timber has a bit of size to it.

I have had it for about 18 months and cut plenty of (hard) dried iron bark mostly for the camp fire. It has worked fine with no problems and certainly beats the axe, although I don't get the exercise anymore. I have also cut down several large trees for safety that have died near the camp site.

The other important things are:

1. Learn how to keep the chain cutting tips sharp and at the correct angle. I use a tool similar to a dremel with the right sized circular grinding stone and that makes sharpening much easier; and

2. Make sure the chain is the correct tension.

Read the manual closely to get the correct settings and develop a system of how to keep the settings accurate.

Brian DJ
AnswerID: 145637

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 16:30

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 16:30
1. Forget the hand electric chain sharpener. They grind off way to much & burn the cutting edge. This then requires you to resharpen more often. Get a hand file & guide then learn how to use it.
2.Forget the manual. Go out & book yourself into a "Cross Cut Chainsaw Course" You don't drive a car without proper instruction first so why would one opperate the most dangerous hand tool made by just reading a 5 page manual? It's not a skill one should learn by trial & error;-)
3. Buy the $170 chainsaw chaps, the ear muffs, goggles or face sheild, gloves, helmet & steel cap boots. Ironically all together costing way more than your cheapy saw but items most people forget that are trying to save a dollar.
"the spikes at the base where the chain enters the motor body" are called Bumper spikes & yes they are important for controlling the cut.

"I have also cut down several large trees for safety that have died near the camp site."
Totally illegal of coarse Brian to fall standing timber even if it was dead & probably far safer to leave it up than have an inexperienced opperator drop a tree. (It's a 4 day course to get the fallers certificate) Cutting standing timber in & around camp sites is a key reason camp fires are likely to be banned along the Muray River.
Be safe cheers Craig................
FollowupID: 399223

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 21:16

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 21:16
Hi Gforse,

The other option is you continue saving and buy a Stihl. Even if it's a good second hand one you'll be streets in front. Or a Husqvarna or other brand name. My preference is Stihl.

Have a look at the teeth spacing on the Talon/MTD/other cheap brand saw and you'll probably find the teeth are 40% (at least) further apart than on a brand name saw.

They do that so they can run lower powered motors. This means you can't fit a decent chain to them cos you'll overload the motor.

The first time it develops a problem you will probably find it's cheaper to dispose of your saw where it's more likely a brand name saw can be repaired economically.

Personally I would rather buy a decent brand and do it once rather than a chinese copy with cylinder liners in a muck metal block and throw it away when it stops - which may just happen to be when I really need it to clear a track like Zeka in the Wonnangatta or go back around a very very long detour.

I have medium size Stihl & I'm exceptionally happy with it. If the others were any good the pros would use them too.

AnswerID: 145642

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 16:45

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 16:45
Agree totally Dave. In addition some of these cheap saws don't have all the safety features you get on a Stihl. Quality anti vibration, angled handlebar, sighting marks & inertia chain brake. (not just hand gaurd opperated) All add up to a saw that's less likely to hurt you.
Cheers Craig........
FollowupID: 399224

Reply By: rod2101 - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 22:09

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 22:09
Got a talon chainsaw and i cant fault it , starts easy and cuts firewood of all sizes when camping with out a problem . Even came with a hard plastic case that makes it easy to pack in the landcruiser.
AnswerID: 145649

Reply By: ev700 - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 23:00

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 23:00
A chainsaw would make my life a bit easier at times however I regard them as one of the most dangerous tools available.

Of course the axe and bowsaw are not entirely without risk.

Are the more modern, smaller units easier and safer to use? That is, if 'safer' applier to a chainsaw;-)
AnswerID: 145657

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 23:38

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 23:38
G'day gforse,
Have a look at ebay Item# 7732599782 .. (McCulloch)..
ending 27th Dec. 7:54 AEDST.. Current high bid is $163.05....
If ya can snag this one for a half-decent price, it'll be far better value than any Talon, IMO......

I bought a 38cc Talon a few months ago when Big-W & Bunnings had 'em on special ($164.00 & $163 respectively)... I thought that at the price, it might be a "handy" knock-about/back-up saw... Assembled it, fuel & oil, went to start it, & before it even fired up, stripped the spline in the flywheel/start pulley... Pot-metal CR@P!!!
Took it back next day for a refund, & I'll never look at another of these again after seeing the overall cr@p build quality.....
In this instance, it is very much a case of "Ya gets what ya pays for"...
I've been using chainsaws (on-&-off) for close to 40yrs, & have used/owned most brands... I currently have two Stihl saws, so I know what a DECENT chainsaw looks like!!!

There is a very good reason why the likes of Stihl & Husqvarna are so much more expensive... It's all about Build Quality, & dealer service/back-up....

Wise man once said>>
"Good thing no cheap, Cheap thing no good"...

That said, it's your money, & your choice....

Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 145662

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 11:05

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 11:05
Think you will find a Talon is a Mc Cullock.
I have a small Talon electric one for small jobs and its fine, but for long hard work I have a Stihl, and they take some beating for reliablity.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 399198

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 07:54

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 07:54
Ignore the doomsayers.

These are little ripper saw for the money. It will do everything YOU want of it.

Oh, and the 2 year warranty did it for me.
AnswerID: 145669

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 11:31

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 11:31
gforce - my wife works for Talon and we get all their stuff. We have two chainsaws - the smallest and the largest (at 55cc). The chain is exactly the same as the more expensive brands on the larger model. The engine is just as powerful at this size as the rest in the same class.

Even though she works for them, I have to say that none have ever let us down. We chop up heaps of hardwood around Omaroo and both saws have been exemplary over the last two years.

They are a weekender saw - there's no doubt. They are not meant to be used in professional tasks - but for every few camping trips they are brilliant for the money. Keep that chain SHARP and it'll be good to you.
AnswerID: 145696