Submitted: Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 19:35
equinox-Kings Canyon
I thought I would share to all my proposed route back to
Perth next Saturday. I am on leave for a few weeks and it is time to visit my family and friends back in
Perth.
First up I'll drive to
Yulara via the Luritja Road and Lasseter Highway to pick up one of my brothers who will fly in "for the lift back".
Then we'll head back along the Lasseter and head south past Mt.Connor to the Mulga Park Road turnoff. We'll travel along the Mulga Park road until the Stuart Highway. The Mulga Park Road is the first stage of the original
Gunbarrel Highway and it is the only original stage I haven't done except the Abandoned Section.
Next we will head straight down the Stuart until
Coober Pedy. We'll then use the
Anne Beadell Highway to get more westing. We both want to see the Atomic Totem
Test Sites so we will hang out in that area for a while. Seeing all the normal sights on the track we will turn to the south at
Neale Junction and then travel down the Connie Sue Highway until Leech Lakes.
From there we will head west north west through Plumridge Lakes
Nature Reserve before going south west along the Cable Haul Road.
Queen Victoria Spring is then on the agenda which we will approach from the north via Argus Corner and PNC Baseline Road.
Then it will be down to Coonana Siding on the railway line and along to Boulder. From Boulder it will be probably along Great Eastern Highway into
Perth.
I know that it is normally hot at this time of year but it looks as though a cool change may be coming through at early predictions maybe even some rain. I'll be taking 100 litres of water and an extra 3 x 20 litre jerry cans of diesel. I would like to think that I can make this trip in four days and that is what I will be aiming for. The vehicle is a 2005 Landcruiser RV ute with almost 15000 kms on it.
I will let you all know how I go when I get to
Perth.
I haven't decided on the route back but I would like to see if my "Carnegie" sign is still near Geralton
Bore on the Gunbarrel from 2003 and also have a closer look at the Rawlinson Ranges thus completing the entire Gunbarrel over about 8 years.
Cheers to all,
Equinox
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 19:58
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 19:58
I can confiem the Cable haul road is in excellent condition with no corragations. It is a bit narrow with speeds around 40 -60. You can continue south from QVS to the transline or back track and get to Kalgoorlie via Pinjin. I accessed Plumridge lakes from the west via a track the came from Lake Minigwal. All the tracks i have seen in this area have been in good nick with little corragations although apparantly the Anne Beadell and connie sue are a different story
The transline road is a very good dirt road whith 100kph plus being comfortable (if you want to)
Follow Up By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 20:17
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 20:17
Good info Davoe, thanks.
I tried to approach QVS from the south via Widgie and
Marvel Loch some years ago on my quad cycle but just ran out of time so I had to turn back. Good to hear the tracks around there are in good condition.
Eq.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 20:32
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 20:32
I recall that I posted for info and I assumed at first from your reply you were on a Bycicle.
QVS probably is worth a look if you are going by but there really isnt much there. Calm has shut the track to Streich mound so you have to walk about 2 k coz a law abiding citezan like yourself wouldnt drive around the sighn??. It is all burnt around streich mound but it is still worth a look seeing as you have come all that way
Reply By: tony/julie - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 09:30
Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 09:30
Gidday mate, From your current destination and proposed journey, It sounds as if you must be a sparky working at Kings Canyon Resort. Sounds like a great trip your planin, we have headed
home since leaving KCR via S.A Vic. Started back at work 3 weeks ago, travelled 15512k's over 5 months awsome time.
Have fun from Tony the midget garbo.
Follow Up By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 11:23
Wednesday, Dec 28, 2005 at 11:23
Good to hear from you Tony.
Glad you had a good trip - hope your studies are going
well!!
Your rubbish truck is on its last legs, its like a smoke factory - I give it another 500kms.
Eq (your ex boss - I'm chasing a sparkie - know anyone??)