Submitted: Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 18:51
hawkhornet
I'm about to take my wife and 2 children on our first family camping trip, and I'm in the process of buying the initial setup gear. I am looking for help in my decision to buy either a 3 way fridge, or a big chill box/esky. I don't have a big esky, and if I bought one (I'd look at a 80-100 litre model), it would be usefull for parties etc, but due to the size of the 3 way fridge (generally much smaller than big eskies), it would not be as useful for non-camping occasions. We'd only be camping for 2 days at a time, and would almost always be camping at established grounds with at lease
toilet blocks. Any advice?
HH
Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 20:04
Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 20:04
We always travel with a medium sized 2 way engel (cig lighter in car then mains power/generator when stopped). Wouldn't touch a fridge on gas. Adequate for camping on short trips (up to 5 weeks).
Now we have a caravan, we still keep it in the car for our lunches, putting shopping away without having to unlock the caravan, etc. Useful for drinks if you run out of fridge space at
home too. Even used it to keep our lunches & milk cool in the
shearing shed.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 23:31
Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 23:31
and i forgot to include -
We also used ours to bring a load of fish
home from up North - cranked it up to use as a freezer, and just used a couple of ice bricks kept in the end of it to keep a small esky cool for the butter and milk.
Follow Up By: bazza007 - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 16:31
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 16:31
Forget the rest, spend the money one time only,buy an Engel.
we have had ours for 15 years.Dont mess around with good refridgeration.And get a big expensive deep cycle battery and soloniod to charge it.Then forget about it,and let it do what was designed for.
Follow Up By: bazza007 - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 16:36
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 16:36
A follow up , yes buy an Esky , go right ahead.they are cheap.cheap cheap.But rember that when the ice has run out the butter and meat have been soaking together in the melted ice and the bacon has gone white .yes eskys are CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 20:16
Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 20:16
A good esky is a good investment ,not cheap at $3/400 but lasts a lifetime , but then again so does a good 3 way , best yet is to hire and try what suits you , a 12v/240v fridge /freezer aka engle/waeco not cheap initially but will pay for itself in no ice to buy and no gas /leveling problems of a 3way. and a 12/240 job can always double as an extra fridge at
home.
Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 21:28
Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 21:28
HH. For a casual user on short term trips the good quality eskies are the go. Frozen ice cream container blocks will last 3+ days & as you mentioned have a large capacity for parties at
home where most of the
portable fridges are not particually good. (they take 3+ hours to properly cool drinks as opposed to 30 minutes on ice)
The 3 way fridges are ideal for extended base camping away from towns. Set them on gas & you have no battery issues at all.
12 volt compressor fridges by comparison are fairly expensive, require dual battery systems, solar back up or generators for extended stays. Ideal for regular remote area touring.
If & when you get out more then the addition of a compressor fridge would be a good investment.
Cheers Craig.........
Reply By: ev700 - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 22:43
Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 22:43
I've got a big Tropical esky 105 L. Used for festivities today so it is always handy to have a biggie available. Tough and effective, but
check to see if it fits your vehicle.
More than enough space for a family and cheap to use because the ice lasts.
Have a 12/240V as
well but I'd still buy the Tropical first for the camping you describe.
Electrics are no good for parties because you need to take good care of them and a 3way would be hopeless for that use.
Reply By: hawkhornet - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 08:28
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 08:28
Thanks everyone for the advice. I think I'll go for the big esky option, and upgrade to a 2 or 3 way in the future if required. Another couple of questions:
1. What are the best methods to keep the esky cold, and
2. What is the best materiel to use as flooring for the front room of a canvas tent (the back sleeping area has a floor, but the front room does not)?
Thanks in advance for the advice.
Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:54
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:54
I used to make freezer panel eskies many years ago and learned real quick that two small or medium eskies are much better than one real big one. You will have trouble lifting a esky in your car with more then 60 liter capacity. I use now a 47l and a 60 l EvaKool. The best Esky I have ever owned. If we go away just for one day we take the 47l one. More then 1 day we take the bigger one or both.
Reiner
Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 23:28
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 23:28
You're right about the weight of the bigger esky. A forklift would be needed for our 105L when full.
Our EvaKool fridge freezer is not a lightweight when full either but that can be overcome by having internal baskets - lift out for a few mins to move it.
Reply By: Original Banjo (SA) - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 08:58
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 08:58
Yep - if only going fo 2 or 3 days, and you get some BLOCK ice, you'll be fine with a quality esky - no bother at all - because temps are not ultra low, you can just use food that is ok to be cold, but not frigid. We used to make our own block ice in the size required- lasts quite
well.
Reply By: Supersapper42 - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 11:44
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 11:44
Mate I was in your position a few years back.
My advice is to go away and spend some time camping and having a look at the more experienced campers and the sets up they have.
We have an Engel fridge and we also take an esky. The fridge is set on freeze and we transfer frozen bottled water into the esky. The fridge is used alot at BBQs and partiess.
Gear is a personal thing depending on family and needs. I have four men and three women in my family therefore we have porta potties, showers, 20x30 tarps over the tents etc. We don't lock the house when we go away as the wife takes every blooody thing with us.
The down side is we need a ute, trailer,4x4 with roof rack and boat to carry all the gear. But we are very comfy
Good luck and have fun
Daryl
Reply By: Reva Best - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 13:08
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 13:08
Engel or esky, we always freeze mealsize packs of meat & wrap in newspaper before packing nearest to ice/cold end.
Home freeze square 4lt. icecream containers for as long as possible before packing in esky. Freeze bread, cooked chook or whatever else is freezable that goes in esky. All helps keep cold longer.
If possible, en-route, place esky in centre of vehicle away from window/sun & cover with blankets. Place in coolest shady spot at
campsite (watch out for ants!).
Remember each morning to place nights meal near top to thaw.
As for flooring in living area; annex; entry etc. cheap 90% shadecloth, hemmed (with eylets to peg down) is hard to beat.
Happy hols. RB
Reply By: hawkhornet - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 12:06
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 12:06
Thanks for all of the info guys. After mulling it over, I think it would be best to go with the esky option rather than the fridge due to the short duration of our proposed trips, and also the versatility of an esky for non-camping applications. If I go for a couple of eskies rather than one big one, what size eskies would you guys recommend, and also, could I get away with a high quality cool box type for the 'open once a day' esky, and a
supermarket quality type for the 'grazing' esky?
We will only be camping for 2-3 days max.
Thanks again for the great replies.
HH
Reply By: Lunar - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 06:00
Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 06:00
Hi ya,
check this site,
http://www.techniice.com/english/iceboxes.htm
I picked up the 100 ltr and the 60, and the techni ice sounds good, you'll prolly only need the 60, I got the 100 cause I wanna go on extended trips 2 weeks + so the 100 will hold only frozen stuff and be left unopened until the beginning of the second week to restock the 60, the 60 will be used for frozen stuff opened daily for the days food, and I got a 60 ltr Waeco from the Waeco seconds joint for a couple of hundred to be the regular for openeing and closing.
I think your best bet will be an eski, the fridge is good (can get good deals here,
http://www.fridgeshop.com.au/products.asp?catId=6) but ya gotta keep power up to the bloody thing, and that's when the fun starts :).... Deep cycle battery gennie/in car dual battery /solar, for a couple of days, Eskies WORK!
have fun.