Submitted: Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 21:38
pafc
Heading to
Perth on boxing day for a week then spending 3 weeks driving back to SA via the coast. Not sure if I should pack the
camp oven, are there fire bans in national parks in the sw of WA through summer?
Alex
Reply By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:13
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:13
Yes, there are fire bans.
Call CALM or the local fire bregade. Local shires and toursit information centres should also have this information.
hope that helps
Reply By: slow mower - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:14
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:14
Howdy friend, any thought of an open fire in the bush during summer is a recipe for disaster. I'm sure that if you do some searches on the net you will find that WA like most states imposes fire restriction seasons (usually November to April) during which fires in the open are VERY restricted most likely 'banned' particularly in National Parks. Take a gas bottle instead - a lot safer for the bush and wider community. I'm sure that the residents of WA wouldn't appreciate having their Karri forests destroyed 'cause of an out of control
camp fire. Have a great holiday.
Reply By: Mouldy - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:32
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:32
Hi there,
This time of year we
cook with gas in the bush. Except at some sites where there are enclosed bbq areas. Suggest you pack gas bottle and 3 ring burner along with
camp oven. Almost tastes the same an firies dont get cross with you.
goodluck
merry chrissy
Reply By: stevesa - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:56
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:56
Hi Alex
Doing same as you leaving boxing day any plans on where you are camping along the way
cheers steve
Reply By: pafc - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 12:39
Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 12:39
Hi Steve, Merry Xmas all. Will see how we go but first stop may be
Ceduna, hope they have a caravan park then we will just see. Look out for a RA Rodeo dual cab.
Check past threads, great info. Work out now your petrol stops can cost a fortune. When checking past threads spell nullarbor and nullabor.
have a good one, Alex.
Follow Up By: stevesa - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 20:08
Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 20:08
Hi alex
1 more sleep to go. Leaving at 5am from adl south, there is caravan park in
ceduna. I am in 80 series towing a white camper trailer
uhf ch14 may see u on road
cheers Steve
Follow Up By: pafc - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 22:54
Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 22:54
Now thinking about it might
camp at
cactus beach.
Reply By: kingswoodwagon - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 15:02
Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 15:02
Follow Up By: kingswoodwagon - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 15:05
Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 15:05
Howdy
Fires are permitted in some State Parks in the South of the South West.
We have been eating out of our campoven the last few days along the
Blackwood river in CALM campgrounds.
Check with CALM.
Gav