Submitted: Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 19:48
Member - TonyG (Qld)
As this topic was touched on earlier, and people seem to know what they are talking about, I would like to ask for some advise.
I am in the market for a ride on mower, and I am thinking of buying new (as I am scared of buying someone elses disaster)
What are the 3k Clubman ride on mowers like, I was thinking of about a 15HP
All advice greatly appreciated
Merry Xmas
Tony
Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 21:59
Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 21:59
Take one Deutscher 10.5hp ride-on mower into Dik's shed.........
add a set of forks, highway pegs, a set of fat tyres and an old Tuckerbox freezer.....
Result.....the ultimate motorised esky seen here with Davey at the helm!
Happy Christmas everyone.
Follow Up By: Member JD- Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 22:14
Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 22:14
Deutsher???german?? at least you could out run the drunks..LOL..luv monkey cunning...and he drove the fastest beer esky in the west!
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 23:03
Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 23:03
Some info on the 'donor' vehicle.
link text
"Errrrrnieeeeeeee......" :-)
Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 11:35
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 11:35
but does it still cut grass???????
Follow Up By: Member JD- Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 12:01
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 12:01
After a six pack...who cares!....LOL
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 12:34
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 12:34
Smokes it instead;-)
Reply By: Member JD- Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 22:08
Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 22:08
Hi Tony,
It depends on what sort of service you intend to use it for?the 3k clubman
well l really don't know,my uncle has recently brought 3 ride ons the one he piad the most for brand new about six months ago he's now selling because its simply a
football field type mower cant handle the rought stuff,cant remember the name of the mower thought,albeit a good mower,The other two he has are of the Cox brand which he, they all my unc's swear by as they are robust enought to handle anything he frows at it,only you know what type of service you intend to use it for?maybe the one he's selling will do the job you want,he lives in northern NSW if you are interested mem message me and l will pass on he's details...who no's...Merry Xmas.The way he talks about his Cox mower l reckon you could take it 4wdriving!
JD
Reply By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 00:29
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 00:29
Hi Tony
We use a Rover Rancher here at work to keep the greenery in
check and believe me it has been to hell and back a few times and it still works ok.
Have you checked out the ride-on
shop at the victoria point shopping centre around the back near the hardware store.
p.s. have to catch up in the new year and do the neighbourly thing seem we live so close
merry xmas to you and your family and have a safe new year
ross
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 08:15
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 08:15
Ross, I've used the Rover
Ranger for 18 years. I have a tough sloping property which isn't easy. I don't have grass, I have jungle :)
The old girl is getting tired (likes a drink of oil as
well as petrol) and I was casting around for a replacement. You have no idea how pleased I was to find that Rover still make the
Ranger and the price hasn't changed much in 20 years. The hydrostatic drive is essential here. I wouldn't use anything else on the property.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 08:47
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 08:47
We have to do round several houses and sheds, and opted for a Zero turn type. Fun to learn and potential to wipe out plants but NOT regretted at all. Wiped out a plastic downpipe on the garage though which cost me time.
A Toro with a 18 hp Vee twin Kwaka. Runs like a ripper.
Reply By: herkman - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 09:22
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 09:22
Like to share some thoughts, as we have had some experience on the matter.
The weakness of any ride on is the cutter deck, and the need to extract the grass, without it turning into a grass ball
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 10:21
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 10:21
????????? have had a few about here and isn't a problem. Cox, Greenfield, two Toros and another before those with a Techumseh motor on it. The Toro mowers have both had recycler kits on that don't evacuate the grass except back into the lawn. Are you mowing regularly?
Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:44
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:44
Thanks for the
feedback.
I should have clarified that i need to cut about 1.5 acres, and want one that can handle rough terrain.
My lawn is not so perfect
Reply By: Patroleum - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 22:53
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 22:53
TonyG,
we have 1.75acres in
gold coast hinterland and use the Greenfield Evolution 2000 Mk 2a 17hp Briggs and stratton. It seems to be a never ending saga of repairs. It's like owning a Jaguar in my opinion! My oldies had a smaller Greenfield years ago and had approx 2.5 acres to mow, it was treated like sh*t and just kept going - was tough as nails, but ours is treated really
well, serviced even more than the schedule and there is always something to repair. Just our particular opinion.
Reply By: Rojac - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 23:11
Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 23:11
Buy a goat or sheep.
Reply By: DesC - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 12:57
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2005 at 12:57
goto your local
John Deere Dealer and get an L110 if there are any left.