No warranty after accessories fitted...???
Submitted: Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 19:28
Member - Blue (VIC)
This sounds a little odd to me so I thought I'd give you fine people a chance to view it on it's merrits and see what you think...
Problem: Mated new(4 months old) TD Rodeo developes an intermittent electrical problem(light on the dash is activating even when the item it indicates is not in use). Takes vehicle back to Holden to have it checked out under warranty.
Response: (not a dealership quote but pretty much how my mate conveyed it) You have fitted an after market bull bar and canopy since purchase. Since the electrical wiring(indicators and high mount stop light) was not performed by Holden, you have voided any avenue of warranty claim against electical faults on this vehicle...
This sounds odd to me as I've fitted my own dual batt system and fitted an aftermarket fuse box for any accessories I have and all Mitsu said was "neat job". And they still fixed a couple of minor elec probs I had under warranty.
By the very broad sound of this, it would appear that anyone could void their warranty just by fitting their own UHF or hands free kit.
Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 19:38
Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 19:38
And don’t go plugging a fridge into the power outlet, unless of course you take it to Holden first so they can run the power cable from the fridge and plug it into the outlet.
Sound’s like a bit of a Joke to me.
Reply By: Patroleum - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 19:40
Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 19:40
Blue,
I work in the motor trade and what was conveyed to your mate is rubbish.
If a fault is found where an accessory fit elec item causes a fault such as a component causing a backfeed and causing the light to come on etc, that will not be covered by warranty and the customer would be asked to (And rightly so) to pay the labour to rectify the fault. The remainder of the elec system will still be warranted unless a non gen fitment directly causes a fault.
Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 21:39
Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 21:39
Spot on mate,,Some of these dealers realy get up my nose with this sort of thing.
Regards Nav (Rtd Mechanic)
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:07
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:07
kinda thought it was rubbish, will convey your thoughts to my mate and he can handle it from here...
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 20:45
Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 20:45
Manure.
Ask them how the mods he did can affect the issue at hand.
For example, I could understand warranty being void if he fitted lockers and blew a diff center, but fitting a BBar and canopy would make the dash lights stop ... how?
Xmas time, they wanted to go
home not rip out a dash
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:09
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:09
Yep, can understand about lockers etc... but tapping into the indicator and brake light looms shouldn't really cause too many probs, cept for maybe a dead short which would affect more than just one dash light.
Reply By: Original Banjo (SA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 21:04
Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 21:04
Classic bulldust - it can only mean that on that particular type of work, the manufacturer gives them a poor reimbursement for the work - nothing in it for them, hence the snow job. Seems that manufacturers are very "tight" re the payment to dealers for warranty work-my guess is that dealers only seem warm to the idea of warranty work when they can pull the wool over the manufacturer's eyes, just like they do ours !
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:10
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:10
seriously, dealers pulling the wool over customers eyes... Surely not...LOLOL
Reply By: angler - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 21:54
Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 21:54
My mates Jack just melted an injector (No 3) and sort of destroyed a few things. Quote is for $11,000 to repair the engine.
I suggested he replace the engine from a wreck. He is thinking about it.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:10
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:10
$11k, could nearly buy another Jack for that sort of $$$...
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 23:01
Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 23:01
Blue,
Sound like a bad earth problem to me.
Check and make sure that the battery leads from the Neg side of the battery are connected to the body. I had a similar problem.
If that does not work tune the car radio to a frequency that is not on a station in the am band. Start to wriggle wires under the dash and listen for static. This just might find the crook wire.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:11
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:11
from a man who shares my name, I think I'll recommend your advioce.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 10:50
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 10:50
Wouldn't happen in the first instance to, or be fobbed off by the relevant service centre if it was a JEEP
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:13
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:13
*cough*bullchit*cough* Work with a bloke who almost got to court with Jeep... Very poor customer service in his instance... they settled at the 11th hour.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:56
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:56
hahah ALL the lights would be ON in a JEEP, oops that a TROOPY hahahaha
Reply By: joc45 - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 10:50
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 10:50
Sounds like a load of cr@p to me.
Tell him to take it up with Consumer Affairs.
Gerry
Reply By: slow mower - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 12:31
Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 12:31
G'day Blue, sounds a bit like a typicall 'cop out' however have YOU checked your Warranty (terms and conditions) if it's NOT clearly spelled out there, get the dealer to convince you otherwise. Problem could be though, you win this one and they'll get square with you 'next time'. p.s. did you pay a 'dealer delivery fee'? If so you have 'pre-payed' your warranty repairs. Think about it!!
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 17:26
Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 17:26
yep - total bollocks, an accessory only voids warranty for the associated parts if it is proven to have caused any damage.
RE the RA rodeo, they have a big history of bad electrical ground connections under the dash, with lots of repairs needed and a module box and loom getting replaced as
well. They also have the immobiliser system ground back through the accessory plug, how crap is that !!!!
Every holden dealer is
well aware of rodeo electrical faults, and as said earlier, they probably dont get paid
well to do the work.