Checker Plate - Defender

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:40
ThreadID: 29076 Views:3863 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
Seasoned greetings to all. Looking to get some alumminium cladding on the 110. Can anyone recommend a company around the Brisbane area worth a call (not bloody Landrover). Usual applications - wings, sills (mid & rear) etc. Tinkered with the idea of doing it myself but have seen a couple of other Xtremes recently with full checker plate fit-outs and the job was 100% pro. Realised I can't match the work (mainly bevelling). There are a few contacts on the net but some personal feedback would be a better start.

Cheers & Beers

Miker.

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:07

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:07
Miker

Best place I can suggest is Graeme Cooper in Sidiney.
Heaps cheaper than OEM and as far as I know a quality item.

I foolishly paid for the (must be) gold plated jobbies from LR before I discovered Coopers.

You can order on the net and delivery is super fast. I've bought a few other goodies from them before ... diff guard etc.

Rosco
AnswerID: 145011

Follow Up By: miker - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:23

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:23
I hear ya on the OEM. Coopers certainly have the profile. Good thought. Ta for the feedback.

Miker.
FollowupID: 398542

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:25

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:25
Try Capral Aluminium. Used to have an outlet in either Robinson Road or Zillmere Road at Virginia. Been a couple of years now, but I found them very helpful and willing to custom-cut any sizes/shapes of aluminium and they had various patterns and thicknesses of chequer plate. Not sure if they can curve plate though.
Christmas Greetings
AnswerID: 145018

Reply By: hoyks - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:25

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:25
There are curves on a Defender??
If you know what you want, Capral is the way to go and thay will cut to size, it will most probably be a few $ per cut though.
AnswerID: 145035

Follow Up By: miker - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:32

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:32
Will give Capral a shot. Pretty easy to knock up any templates/specs that may be required. Rosco, the pricing from Graeme Cooper is pretty keen also. Fisrt squizz I've had at the site - really good (a tacho at last for the Defender!!).

Miker.
FollowupID: 398555

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:10

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:10
Hoyks

You are a hurtful, hurtful person and I hope Santa knows that too .... ;-)

Miker

I have OEM jobs which you are welcome to take a squiz at for a template if necessary .

Rosco
FollowupID: 398570

Follow Up By: hoyks - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:21

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:21
Don't get me wrong, I like the Defender (did I say that out loud 8-*) and would get one if I could convince the Mrs. She spent too long in the back of an FFR, so is a tad jaded towards them.
Any vehicle that I could repair bodywork with slabs of ally straight off the gillo is the car for me.
FollowupID: 398573

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:24

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:24
"There are curves on a Defender??" - the ones that came to mind (both of them!!) are where the front mudguards curve down to the headlight panels...
FollowupID: 398574

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:26

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:26
What about the bloody tyres .... they're so curved they're ROUND !!!!

Cheers blokes

Rosco
FollowupID: 398577

Reply By: signman - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 15:18

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 15:18
Any sheet metal workshop. They have Guillotines and bending presses. Just give them full size (paper) templates or drawings....
AnswerID: 145091

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 16:08

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 16:08
If you're prepared to look around Sydney, your man is Ken Wright at Brookvale Aluminium Engineering. Checkerplate central. They did a feature on him and his Defender, which is a work of art, in April's edition of Aus 4wd Monthly. You sometimes see his Landy at the 4x4 and Camping shows. Awesome work.
AnswerID: 145100

Reply By: scottcamp - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 21:26

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 21:26
What about buying them from the UK, i can give you tons of places which sell checker plate for almost every panel on the Defender. As for post if you take surface mail it should not be too expensive. I bought a R&R beadbreaker from Oz and it took 6 weeks to arrive but was not too expensive postage. If you want when i finish work today i can look up the costs of the ready made plates.

Scott
AnswerID: 145161

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 21:44

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 21:44
hi Miker
why do you want a lot of aluminum cladding on a buet Defender we have kept it the same as it arrived out of the show room it is a terrific colour and shape
Defender / Snailbait
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 145165

Follow Up By: scottcamp - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 21:50

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 21:50
I agree, too much checker plate does not look good. But i have checker plate on my wing tops so you can stand on top of the wings. My mate has a checker plate panels on the bonnet but this is too much.

Scott
FollowupID: 398677

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 08:17

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 08:17
Landrovers have wings????? ;-))

Sorry couldn't resist
FollowupID: 398731

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 08:35

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 08:35
Rosco ! Remember my mssg re Jack Absolom..Send me your Snail Mail address and you will get a package..Nah! Does'nt tick..Private mssg or whatever!..Have a fun Christmas and don't be selfish..Buy something for the Def also..Be good..Santa is very busy,but,he is still watching you..Regards..RockyOne
AnswerID: 145220

Reply By: Peter - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 00:36

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 00:36
MR Automotive in Redcliffe has all the aluminium panels for Defenders. From memory the wing panels were about $125 a pair. They also have the bottom sills plus diff protectors etc.
Give Warren or Dwayne a ring for a quote
AnswerID: 145573

Follow Up By: miker - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:47

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:47
Thanks guys!! Logged off for Chrissy after my last post so first chance to come back. Some good leads & appreciated. Agree, it is easy to end up with too much cladding. Only want the wings at this point for practical reasons. Cheers & beers - Mike.
FollowupID: 400673